We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach front resort in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Boston, Ma.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great beach front resort in Key West”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Afer reading many reviews on tripadvisor about various places to stay, we chose the Reach based on the Front Desk Manager, Paul Bartush's responses to people's reviews; both positve and negative. I know it's not what is expected of a Waldorf Resort, it is Key West, not NYC.
We had a 1 bedroom suite #330, overlooking the Courtyard. Excellent room, very quiet and spacious. I can't say enough about the people who quickly welcomed us. Paul! You are wonderful!! (My next trip will be Casa!). The surprizes left for us made the trip. Chuck the doorman... great guy. Always laughing, smiling.. goes out of his way.
The beach and pool; Patrick and John... totally spoiled us.. between extra towels, umbrellas, placing us in out of the way spot everyday, cleaning sunglasses! I could go on and on. Patrick came to see us on his day off; sorry we missed him! (Ricardo was fickle.. some days very grumpy!)
Overall, a great experience and I would definatly return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the courtyard/ocean view. Upgrade to a suite. rooms are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
It was a pleasure having you on property with us! I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you and your mother. I look forward to having you at The Casa Marina next time you are in Key West! Paul Bartush, Manager, The Reach Resort & The Casa Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    1,014
    594
    391
    248
See reviews for
800
1,966
54
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had such a fabulous visit to The Reach in mid-April! We were greeted as returning guests, our room was extremely clean as well as very comfortable, and Patrick at the pool is one in a million! He spoiled us rotten with towels, umbrellas, and those delicious popsicles about two o'clock each day. We're missing "paradise" so much that we're going to pay this wonderful resort another visit in July!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ON, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

With three weeks to plan, we headed to Key West for the Memorial Day Weekend. We wanted a beach front hotel that was comfortable, romantic and inviting. The Reach Resort met our wants and needs and left us wanting to go back. The beds are beyond comfortable. The room was large and spacious. The washroom was an oasis all on its own. The only meal we ate the The Reach was breakfast and the buffett was very good....as we were eating we often commented on how good everything was. We will eat breakfast there again but be prepared to pay - as they say, you get what you pay for.
We had the beach to ourselves one night. They clean the seaweed from the beach each morning, and it is needed.
The pool was clean.
The grounds are beautiful
Not everything in life is perfect meaning there is usually something to note as being a negative, but in this case I cannot find a negative. A small inconvenience may be the location as it is a little out of the way - but you can still walk everywhere. For us, the location was perfect as it gave us a quieter place away from the noise of the bars
WE WILL BE GOING BACK

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean view or front room. The view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great hotel. Great Location. Outstanding beach concierge service from Ricardo, John & Patrick. Good food for lunch. Would definitely return. Walking distance to Duval St. Overall good experience for our first time in Key West. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The last time my wife and I were in Key West we stayed at the Casa Marina. It is a very nice hotel but we didn't like the layout of the room and the small bathroom. So we decided to try The Reach this time and we weren't disappointed.

We had a room with a few of the ocean and the pool. It also had a nice balcony with 2 chairs for relaxing. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was very roomy with an excellent shower. Internet was very good and you will be able to stream videos but at peak times you may have issues.

You are only a 2 block walk to Duval Street so you can't beat the location. If you call a taxi they arrive pretty quick and the fare to everything around the tourist area is less than $10. I never bother with a car here and just walk or take taxis.

The bar area is very dark and was quite warm when we were there so we didn't hang there too much. There are some table to sit outside of the bar area that overlook the pool area and there is a gazebo out by the ocean with some nice chairs.

A much better bar experience is at the Casa Marina. Your Reach room key will get you in the gate at the Casa. Just leave out the small gate by the pool at the Reach and take a right when you can to go to the Casa. You will see another gate with a key card access. Use this to get through this gate and walk toward the pool area. There is a nice outdoor bar with the best Pina Coladas you will ever get.

The Casa also has some excellent outdoor dining by the pier. The concierge at the Reach can make reservations. Ask them to make a reservation before sunset so you can watch the changing sky as you eat and the sun sets.

For breakfast, I recommend the short walk to Cafe Bananas on Duval Street. Head to Duval and take a right. Just a couple of blocks away is the Cafe. See if you can get outdoor dining and watch the cruise ship people waddle by.

Overall, this is a great hotel in a great location. It is closer to Duval than the Casa and the rooms are laid out a bit better. But the bar and dining at the Casa still pulled us back there.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank W4ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

As an avid Trip Adviser reader I wanted to share my experiences at The Reach. We had several missteps to the start of our family vacation at the Reach. I won't bore you with the details but the Reach had dropped the ball - more than once. We understand that evrything cant be perfect, we are all human and occasionally things can go wrong. That being said there was too much to ignore, so we went to the front desk to see if anything could be done to rectify our problems. We were met by Front desk manager Cindy Acevado. Cindy heard our problems and instead of making excuses went immediately to solving our problems in a most courteous and professional manner.

And I must say everyone I came in contact with at The Reach had a great attitude, which to me means a lot when I travel on vacation. Besides Cindy, those other employees that deserve special mention are bellmen Adam and Sean, Paul B at the Casa Marina now, Stephanie also at the front desk and Patrick and Riccardo at the pool.

And a quick word about the housekeeping staff, who we did not get a chance to meet in person but did an outstanding job of keeping our rooms clean and stocked with fresh towels.

We will definitely be returning to the Reach on our next visit to Key West.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mickeyanddonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place offers the perfect accommodations for Key West! First, you get 2 hotels for the price of one.... The Reach is the smaller, more intimate place compared to it's sister Waldorf, Casa Marina, which is just a stone's throw down the street, but both are nice properties. Between the two hotels, at either of which you may charge all expenses back to your room, you get a long stretch of private beach (unheard of on Key West), 3 pools, several restaurants, a complete array of water fun and bike/moped rental services, indoor spa services and even outdoor message services to choose from. In addition, the staff at both hotels is very friendly and you're basically right at the foot of Duval St. Our room was spacious and clean, my only complaint is we paid for ocean view and much of that view was blocked by the stairwell wall. Did get a partial ocean view and the full ocean sound so we were satisfied. All in all. the best on-water place in Key West!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 465ThomasK465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing