We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“If you want a little beach, and a little class....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If you want a little beach, and a little class....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is one of the few places with a beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms and new amenities as you would expect in a Waldorf. Coffee maker in the room is nice and location is really good. Breakfast places nearby - you will want to walk a few blocks for food because breakfast here was a joke. The buffet looked like that of a hampton inn. But the pool was nice, parking was plentiful and ice machine worked well! Staff was helpful in securing a golf cart for the day, and recommendations for dinner were helpful.... I will come back to this resort again!

Room Tip: Room 443 was awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    917
    502
    331
    187
See reviews for
662
1,714
48
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Key West and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The island offers an unbeatable combination of a tropical island experience and conveniences we are accustomed to in the US. It was a quick 2-hour direct flight from Atlanta, no passport required. The town is clean and feels safe, with tons of great restaurants and activities for any age or interest.
The Reach resort offers comfortable, clean, well maintained facilities right on the private sandy beach. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They set up lounge chairs and umbrellas for guests on the beach. Location couldn't be better, it's within walking distance of Duval street but far enough from it in a quiet, uncrowded area. You don't need a car and it's a short 20 minutes taxi ride from the airport.
There is a nice restaurant at the hotel which offers breakfasts, lunch and dinner. Their breakfast buffet is very good, albeit somewhat pricey. There is a place called Ana's Café one block away which serves reasonably priced breakfasts, lunches and coffee with a distinct Cuban flavor, we became regulars there, fruit salads are awesome.
We are already planning our next trip :-).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are more expensive and for us it wasn't worth it. Our room had a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked and ocean vista room through price line. Once we checked in we felt like we were getting a little ripped off. We didn't get a discount or anything from price line yet out ocean view was only when you walked onto the terrace and looked off the end. From our open window we saw hotel and grass. The room is standard, the same quality as a mariott or so. Shower design was so flawed that no matter how you positioned the curtain the bathroom was flooded. Took half our towels each day to keep water in the bathroom. This is by far the best beach between the Casa Marina or The Reach is you want to go in the water but you get access to both properties. The reach has no poolside/beachside bar, there is a very light staff that will get you a drink from if you can catch them. Worst was not being told that there would be two nights a wedding reception would be held on the terrace right below our balcony. With the DJ/Band set-up just 20 feet from out balcony door. These parties ran till 11-midnight, VERY annoying. The staff is attentive and over all a good facility. We will choose next time to stay at a more affordable location and not get sucked into the "private beach". It just wasn't worth what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for the northside away from events and better veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Thanks to Ricardo, Patrick and John for the great time in the Keys. They made the stay Excellent! The service and attention to detail was a plus. They took great care of us during our stay. The Personal Jet Ski tour was Great and I loved the tour.

Room Tip: Awesome place with a great beach and jet ski tour!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimHolland43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how enjoyable your stay at The Reach Resort was and for highlighting the individuals who assisted you throughout your stay. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is Key West on an Atlantic beach with style. Great service. Friendly staff. If you are looking for the Waldorf in Manhattan, that's not what you will find here. This is Key West. It's got some of the best views on the island and since nothing is far from anything else, you can get anywhere on foot or, if need be, taxi. We would easily stay here again without a problem. We have stayed in 5 star properties in LA, San Francisco, Dallas, NY, and Las Vegas and would put The Reach up against any of them.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grifthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I am so thankful that you enjoyed your time at The Reach Resort! You menion a very important point, each Waldorf Astoria property is unique onto itself. The Reach Resort is positioned in a wonderfully convenient location, offering our guests the ability to walk to the most popular areas of interest. Our private beach and well-maintained tropical garden are some of our best features. Thank you again for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

the floor was soaking wet when we arrived they offered to move us to a smaller room with no view the coach was wet as well I had to explain to them how to resolve the problem. The lights in the room did not work and were quickly fixed by the staff. The next was that someone from the hotel canceled our anniversary dinner reservations and the reservation was not even made through the hotel. when all of this was brought to the attention of the staff I was asked what I would like to do???? I guess I had always heard that the waldorf was the greatest and the best and my experience was nothing like that. to me the waldorf is nothing more than an over priced holiday Inn. I was very disappointed and will probably never return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Debjod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great staff and service, and location is right on the beach. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Nice to stay on the quiet end of Duval. Having bikes available is a perfect way to go if you don't want to rent a car. Most attractions are accessible by bike. Pool and beach service is also very attentive. Overall a great place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Marnee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#9 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#14 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing