We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for making our Anniversary a Wonderful One”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here last week in March. Professional and. Friendly staff: as they stated, "this is resort living". They bring you drinks while you lay on the beach, set up your towels and chairs by the pool, give you honest suggestions about places to go or dine at, and bring you what you need in an efficient timely manner.
They left us a conch shell along with a courtesy note at the end of our stay , which was a nice touch. Bathrooms are clean, rooms are neat and well decorated. TV is flat screen and 25 inch, for your information. Our room had a balcony with ocean view- hard to beat looking out on their lovely grounds with a human sized chess board you can play on on the lawn.

Nice walking distance from Duvall street - close without being in the madness of Spring Break nonsense.

It is a bit pricey-I guess some people might be expecting the all inclusive packages of sandals in Jamaica - but really, it isn't that bad ,UNLESS you were like the person before me that wrote about their terrible experience. That'd be a crusher. Fitness center machines did not work very well either. I'd use the casa marina sister hotel's gym if you are into a solid workout on your vacation. I was not that concerned about finding a good workout on my first real vacay since my wedding though.

We had an excellent time. Our first time away since our honeymoon 7yrs ago. We are very thankful it was spent here. Thank you , Reach.

Room Tip: Try to get ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chia6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are so pleased that your stay with us to celebrate your anniversary was all that you hoped it to be. Thank you for putting faith in us to deliver what we promise - a luxurious and relaxing stay. We look forward to a return visit from you. If I can assist you with arrangements at The Reach, please be in touch. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,138 - 2,144 of 3,771 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

The grounds are nice. Pool is small but the beach is large. The room was clean and spacious (we had a two room suite). The staff was just not up to par.

Day one, dinner at the Strip steakhouse. Two of three steaks came out wrong. Not cooked wrong...the wrong cut of meat! Manager apologizes. One steak stays and the other steak is ordered rush. 25 minutes later the correct steak comes out all sides are now cold and $250 dinner ruined. Manager comps a $7 glass of wine.

Day two, son orders lunch on beach. One hour later still no lunch. Asks staff and uh oh, order was "thrown out" during shift change. 30 min later the sandwich shows up.

Day three, we order pizza from room service. Pizza arrives after 30 min. One has none of the toppings ordered. Take it back down, they add toppings and char it for good measure (see pic).

Bottom line, even though you are paying resort $$$ don't expect resort class service or staff.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank tikibarowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The problems started the second we checked into the hotel. First, they refused to change the nightly rate to account for the AAA discount. Second, our room was not ready and it was 4pm. Third, the bar smelled like vomit and was sticky and the pool table was not functional. The beach was smaller than advertised and they were doing construction in the pool area. Finally, upon checkout I was hit with an extra $70 dollars in taxes per day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank acl2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent 4 nights here with my husband and 13 year old daughter. It was ok.
Room appeared worn, used and kinda just plan dirty. We have a waterview which overlooked the courtyard/pool and out towards water. Beach is a real beach. Nice!! Actually this beach is much cleaner that the sister property Casa Marina. Their beach has lots of sea grass and doesn't appear to be very swim friendly. The pool at the REACH is small but keep in mind you can also go to Casa Marina too if you want to mix it up a bit and vice versa. The lunch at the Strip house was very good ( we ate pool side ) The hotel has a great location if you are looking for a spot in Old Town (quieter end of town) Several things to do right from the hotel. My husband and daughter did the jet ski tour (27 miles 90 min.) It was fun but remember NOTHING is cheap.
I guess as others have commented I expected MORE being that it is a Waldorf. Just didn't live up to that reputation. Remember though location location location this is what you are paying for I believe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Let me start by saying If you can go somewhere else do it now!! Don't waste your money here! The rooms( Ocean view at that) were booked 6 weeks before getting to the resort, we got there about 4:00 p.m. for check in and we were told that it would be about 15 minutes,so we waited...over 60 minutes!! We were lied to from the start about the rooms. When we got to the rooms they were not Ocean View!! But in the back part of the hotel with a view of the street and chickens! Who were our wake up call at 3 a.m. This place is only interested in one thing YOUR MONEY!! So don't stay the rooms are not worth the amount they are going to charge you! Even some of their employees said the place was not worth it! So that doesn't say much for the Reach Resort!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kmontanye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

I am sorry for any confusion that took place regarding your reservations. I was able to review your itinerary with us and see that your travel agency did reserve the rooms that we assigned you. These rooms were not ocean view.

Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience but we did provide you with the rooms that your travel agency reserved for you. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had 36 hours in Key West and from the moment we stepped on the property we knew we made the right decision. Great staff, room was absolutely beautiful with a view of the inner courtyard overlooking pool and the beach. Champagne in the lobby and 2 bottles of champagne and chocolate to take to the room. With just the next morning to relax onsite, we were tremendously welcomed by Patrick, John and Ricardo. They moved umbrellas, got chairs out on the beach, etc. Thanks for a fantastic time. We WILL be back!!

The location is absolutely perfect, too. Just far enough away from the total madness on Duval but only a 10 minute walk. Heck, it is only a mile to walk from one end to the other. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Day 1 of Spring Break and they decided to open ground on a lift chair for the pool. Very noisy and then they asked everyone to avoid that area of the pool making an already small pool that much smaller. Beach was nice, but it was too cold while we were there so we were counting on the pool. Most of staff were nice, towel guy was barking at the kids a bit. Front desk very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckhaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

I am terribly sorry about the disturbances you've experience during your stay at The Reach Resort. In order to comply with the latest country wide ADA laws we are currently installing permanent pool lifts at both of our properties.

While there is no good time to do complete any kind of construction at a resort, we do apologize that it interrupted your vacation and we do appreciate your patience and understanding.

Best Regards,

Paul Bartush
Front Desk Manager
The Reach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $320 - $768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing