We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great beach and fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a great beach and fantastic staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Pros.... Staff is fantastic and beach is very nice. Cons... Rooms are small and average for the price point. Overall, the property is very nice but I think the prices are far too high. We stayed fortunately on points but if we had not I would not have agreed with the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristinaW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    964
    554
    362
    228
See reviews for
740
1,848
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a great resort if you would like a pool and a beach. The rooms are nicely accomodated with very comfortable beds. It's not too crowded. It's a quick walk to Duval St. and all the great restaurants.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was the second time at the Reach which is a great location on Key West. The only hotel with a beach, which is fabulous. The hotel itself, for a Waldorf property, is tired. Common areas are in severe need of fresh paint and updating. Service was spotty at best. One day the maid would leave coffee pods and water, the next day nothing (you'd think they would use a check list for housekeepers to make sure everything is in order). Another day, because several housekeepers called in sick, no room service and no apology. The service around the pool, other than Theresa, who is great, is indifferent and slow. Breakfast buffet is overpriced. However, right next to the hotel is a great little Cuban grocery store (third-world authentic) with a breakfast joint annex. Great value and tasty food. Sunsets on the roof top of the hotel are awesome but they could use some more seating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are loud with roosters crowing in the morning and tour buses coming by and gaw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cb262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your honesty and first-hand impression of our resort. Rest assured, we are in the process of several projects that address the upkeep of the building and the seating. We hope that you will return when our projects are completed! If I can be of assistance with your travel arrangements, please be in touch. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort. paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We wanted a quiet winter vacation in Key West, and found The Reach was the perfect place. The staff are very attentive and personable. Martin at the front desk, was very professional, informative and provided some of the best tips for restaurants on Key West. Another big draw for us was access to beach, and The Reach provided a wonderful private beach front, with great beach staff -- Patrick, John and Ricardo -- were welcoming, provided excellent service to ensure our time on the beach was comfortable - chairs, towels, umbrellas, tables -- finding just the right place on the beach, near or awaw from the water. The location was perfect - near the "southern most" end of Key West, with easy access to Duval Street. Walking distance from plenty of local restaurants and shops, but far enough away from the Dulval "high-life" to ensure quiet. We cannot wait to return for our next vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view, for morning sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jltotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel had great service in every department of hospitality. It was clean, updated, and quiet. At the pool, the pool staff would come around and clean your sunglasses and give you a popsicle. The beach was nice and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

1) staff made of juniors or trainees poorly trained for à 4* hotel. Senior staff were amateurs chasing tips from customers

2) overpriced hotel, hidden costs

3) rooms are extremely noisy at night. If you want to have a good night, forget it. Bad isolation.

4) perfect place for junk food. Chef would be most welcome

Clearly the hotel is relying on its location and being part of Hilton group to get clients and volume rather than on quality

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ancolie-Divona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We provide thorough training for all of our staff. Trainees are never far from supervisors and managers who assist them with their interactions with guests. All of our staff are held to extremely high service standards. Our restaurant is highly-rated and highly-recommended.

I am sorry that your impressions differed so greatly from the majority of our guests. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with luxurious stays. I would be happy to hear from you so that we can discuss the details of what lead you to these conclusions. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect location just at the end of Duvall street. We walked almost everywhere and the concierge was helpful with reservations. Only ate here once for breakfast and it was quite expensive. There are plenty on great restaurants closely, FYI.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#16 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing