We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hotel placed at the best spor!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Key West
2 reviews
“Hotel placed at the best spor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Expectations are high when it's a Waldorf-hotel.

It's located on the beach which is not that common in Key West.

Standard rooms with small balconies.

If you go to Key West - choose this one or Sothernmost Hotel On The Beach, which is just beside.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s41583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    916
    499
    330
    186
See reviews for
658
1,711
48
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel has indeed nice location and picturesque beach, but I cannot say anything else nice about this property. We spent 60,000 HH points to book a room that had dirty scrunched up carpet. We stayed at Hampton Inns that had nicer, bigger rooms. The room lacked in comfort but at least it made up with beautiful view of the beach. I'm glad the people experienced great service; I wasn't so fortunate and couldn't even get a towel at the pool until I was ready to return to my room. Worst of all I got a fungal infection after staying at the Reach. I never had ringworm before and I am sure I haven't gotten it elsewhere. Wasn't worth the points and the pain/discomfort I had to deal with. Thumbs down from me

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatarzynaOlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am very sorry to not have had a chance to discuss your experiences with you while you were on property. It is unfortunate to read about guest dissatisfaction after the fact rather than when management could have taken action to assist you with a more pleasurable stay.

While I am sorry to hear about your fungal infection, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and property and have had no other claims of infections from any other guests. Sadly, your experiences differ greatly than the majority of our guests.

I would like to know if there is anything that I can do for you and would appreciate hearing from you. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been staying at the reach for 5 years now, and what i have seen is a true decline in service and customer satisfaction. What topped it off was that i was given false information when I booked my room. I was given 10% off my rooms but they failed to tell me that would disclude me from the Stay and Play offer. So they ended up making money .... I see why they were so eager to change my rate.
Ricardo Patrick and John at the pool are still hands down the best of the best !!
The front desk ... Cindy Acevedo who offered to rent me a room by the hour is much to be desired. And the overall Hilton Customer Service was helpful but not even they could get through and help ! The showers have developed mold and I rent 3 rooms per stay all three had mold and the carpet is beyond tired. This is the first negative review I have written of the reach but it looks like after 5 years and 7 stays I cannot return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Travel91184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

For a high end hotel they can do better hence I only gave them a 3. Service was what I would expect from a $200 a night beach hotel, not $600+

The good

Great location, nice restaurant nothing fancy, bell hops were great.

The Bad

The housekeeping was a bit erratic, you better use your do not disturb otherwise they will keep knocking, did not understand arranging a time, one day they did not come at all.

The pool service was an F the first couple days, nobody serving drinks, you had to walk inside to the bar to get a drink, nothing outside anywhere to be found. The last two days they did have staff.

More good

We loved Key West and this was good location for families on the south side of the Island
Great ocean views
The local outfitters work hard, Kayaks, jet Ski's etc
Walk to Hemmingway House

More bad

The staff is marginalized by function
The spa in the sister hotel was not a spa just a converted double room advertised as a spa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We chose to start a week long adventure from Key West to Charleston by staying at The Reach. We are so glad we did! From the moment we arrived until we departed, everything was perfect!

The bellman took our luggage to our room and gave us an introduction / orientation to the property. This hotel has the only natural beach on the island and we loved it! Especially the hammocks sprinkled around the area.

Our room faced the water and we slept with the sliding glass door open to hear the waves and create a lovely ambiance for our sleep.

The coffee maker was Nespresso and was perfect for us. Room service breakfast was correct and at just about the time they said it would be. This hotel was perfect and we will be back for another time in Key West.

Oh, and it is on the opposite end of the island from the bars so it is quiet. We walked it a few times and rented an electric car for a few hours so it is possible to get to the "Scene" without taking a cab. Just depends on if you want wild, quiet or a mix.

Room Tip: Ask and pay for an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Desk Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Reach! We pay close attention to what our guests are saying in order for us to maintain superior service during all aspects of your stay. We hope that you will consider another visit with us in the future. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has everything you need, clean rooms, nice small private beach with hammocks and Pier to watch the sunset.
The service is great, a must is a great breakfast buffet on the Striphouse restaurant terrace! Why I gave 4 stars is only because the pool wasn't heated and the bed was not really comfy. But overall really happy, if we go to Key West would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We decided to run down to Key West for a couple nights and booked here. The front desk staff was fantastic and very helpful. We had a nice view of the ocean from our balcony and the room was very roomy. It looked from the site map the rooms vary a lot in size so maybe we jut got lucky. The only surprise was the bar where we went for our free arrival drinks. I was with my wife & daughters and it has a 40s stripper theme. Tame for Key West but we didn't expect it here. Bartender was very friendly and helpful. Only a short block from Duval but quiet and peaceful. We plan to go back in April.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean front on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestbluedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
1.1 mi away
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#14 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing