We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
JEEPBAMA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was the most relaxing week of my life. The Concierges, Yanni and Rcardo on the beach, Derrick in The Strip House restaraunt and the trio of sweet ladies who cleaned our rooms and kept us stocked up were absolutely wonderful. The staff really made our trip. The hotel was walking distance to Duval and many restaurants and having Ambrosia (sushi) next door was an added treat. The rooms were great and the views and beach are noce, but it's the staff that makes the stay. We hope to return after Christmas. Food and sun was well in order and the calimari at the Strip House were to die for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEEPBAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    964
    554
    362
    228
See reviews for
740
1,848
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I have been to Key West three times, with two of those times at Casa Marina. However, we were very pleased with our most recent experience at The Reach. The beach was much nicer than Casa (no rocks), and we got a bigger suite than what we would have paid at Casa. Brian at the valet stand and Patrick at beach services were very attentive. Cathie and Evelyn at Concierge and VIP guest services were great. Love the turn down service at night. The only small negatives were I didn't feel the front desk staff were on par with other Waldorf Astoria resorts (still nice, but I expect just a little more) and the pool could do with a remodel. Overall, a very relaxing week!

Room Tip: We had room 441 with a larger balcony and amazing ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have made five trips to Key West in the past twelve years, most times to celebrate our anniversary. We have traveled here with our three kids, and as a couple. Our choice each time has either been the Casa Marina,or The Reach!! We have recommended both to family and friends. We enjoy the ammenities,service,food and atmosphere,and the beautiful beaches. Thank you again to Patrick,Ricardo and Yanni for great days in the sun. The concierges,front desk staff,etc. are all welcoming and accomodating. Thank You again for another memorable anniversary vacation. Marc D

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Assistant Manager, Guest Services at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are honored that The Reach and The Casa Marina are your chosen resorts here in Key West. We strive to provide a luxurious and relaxing stay for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us. Paul Bartush, Assistant Manager, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a terrific spot from which to enjoy Key West. Very helpful, attentive staff, nice rooms, lovely pool and beach. Close enough to walk to most attractions and restaurants on Duvall St. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I took a long time to decide where to stay in Key West and although my choice of The Reach was probably as much good luck as anything else, I'm glad I made it. It has: its Own beach, it's relatively small (not boutique but not monster sized), staff - especially the pool and restaurant staff are great, our room was lovely, had a balcony looking right down the gardens to the pool and the ocean (worth booking an Ocean View room or you could end up with a view of the parking lot), it's nice and quiet but you're only a few minutes walk from the better (south) end of Duvall Street, it has free WiFi and (sadly not free $18 per day + taxes) parking, the rooms Re comfortable with lovely beds and it's clean, modern, well maintained. In short, whenever I come to Key West again I will definitely be staying at The Reach.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abinger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent three days at The Reach Hotel in Key West in May, 2012. What a wonderful spot to spend your relaxing time while vacationing in fun-filled Key West. The accommodations at The Reach were perfect for us....cozy beach, lovely pool, clean rooms and an extremely friendly, customer focused staff. The Concierge recommended terrific restaurants (Hot Tin Roof, Southernmost Cafe, A&B Seafood). We will definitely return to The Reach during our next visit to Key West.

Room Tip: Request a room that overlooks the pool/beach - really nice view. Request not to be over the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I agree with a lot of people on here that this hotel is fantastic- However, NO WAY is it Waldorf Quality.... Its a nice hotel, but given the Waldorf name I had higher expectations. What bothered me the most is that this is one of the ONLY hotels with a beach (with sand and a swimming area) BUT there was about 2 feet of seaweed on the sand before going into the water- every day! I asked the beach attendant why they couldn't clear the seaweed, and his reply was that they do every morning, and it comes back. The next 2 mornings I checked the beach and noticed the seaweed was still there from the previous days.... something so simple to do, and would make a much better impression of the grounds. One more bothersome thing was that they use half the beach to launch and park jet-skis... which again, for a motel is fine... but for a Waldorf???

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazz008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#16 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing