We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I visited the Reach Waldorf Astoria Resort in January 2011 for one night,
due to HHonors Gold Status received a upgrade to a really great, very spacious
suite. Maybe I am a lil bit more critical with this resort, cause I had some fever and
felt really bad.

Check in was ok, the friendly receptionist told us the -slightly complicated- way to our room, upgrade due to HHonors status worked out very well, the bellman was also friendly and our luggage was really fast in our room.

The size of the room (partial sea view suite) was stunning, it was very clean, made a very nice impression on first sight. It also had a huge modern bathroom with nice, high quality bath amenities. It had also a nice big balcony, with a charming view on the pool, palms and the ocean.
After having a delicious coffee from the Nespresso coffee maker, we went out to Duval Strees (just 5 min walk) and had a nice dinner and shopping there.
So the location of the resort is REALLY good, in about 3 minutes you walk to the "90 miles to Havanna" Point. GREAT!

After coming back late - the next important point:
Our bed was really good - simply full 5 stars for great sleeping comfort!
Wireless Internet is available, with good connection - due to HHonors it was for free.

Breakfast in the morning was ok, served in a - lets say interesting location - maybe not the best for families with small children, if you do not want to expain to them, why there are pictures of semi-naked ladies on the walls ;-) Breakfast buffet was just ok, compared to european 5-star-hotels it can not compare neither in size/amout of the buffet nor in the quality of the food. As I said - it was ok, fruits were really nice, but there been no tasty hams, cheeses or other stuff, which I would like to have for breakfast as I am paying a bunch of money for it.

Slightly minus - check out was not really nice and even I am used to get it always and the hotel was for sure not booked out (checked it on the internet) they did not give us a late check-out. I got really angry because of this, the receptionist should not lie to a customer, cause Internet proof is really easy to get! Therefore - decrease in Service!!

Pool area is really nice, the small sand-beach is really nice and the small pier is just THE extra, which make my four to five star feedback getting Five stars. The pictures I´ve made in the morning show, how lovely and romantic this resort is. With its great location and due to the upgrade a really good price-value-ratio - Five stars and a recommendation as a great place to stay in Key West.

Room Tip: HHonors Status helps to get upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGregstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,786 - 2,792 of 3,773 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at The Reach for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary & attend a destination wedding.

The good: The room was clean & nice but small since we were put in a handicapped accessible room & the bathroom took up a lot of space. The location was good at the southernmost neigborhood with its own beach & a nice balcony.

The bad: The restaurant was extremely overpriced ($35 mediocre breakfast buffet & $17 frozen drinks) and the service sucked. I was almost finished with my breakfast before anybody came over to take a drink order. It was impossible to take an afternoon nap. In the course of an hour, we were bothered three times; twice by housekeeping & once by maintenance.

Overall, our stay was ok but not great. I might have been happier spending less & being bothered less.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wnygjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Overall the Reach was outstanding . We will be back . Darin and guys at Beach were always helpful and front desk was also. Very accomodating group .

Room Tip: anything beach /oceanfront works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Unbelievably bad service. Bartender rude and complained. Noisy by the pool. One waitress to cover beach and pool. The guy to get the chairs or umbrella's seemed overwhelmed and took forever to bring us an umbrella in spite of a generous tip. For the Hotel be be a "Waldorf Astoria" property is a joke . Property could be nice but needs a new management staff at least.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jgm07974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jleecarter, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you very much for your review from your recent stay here at The Reach. On behalf of our management team please accept our apologies for the lack in overall service from out staff. Your comments are very helpful to the overall service which we provide to our guests at the beach and restaurant. I can assure you that we will be doing everything we can to correct these issues to avoid any future unpleasant stays. Should you wish to discuss your stay further or would like assistance for any future reservations at the Casa Marina or Reach Resorts, please do not hesitate to contact me.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-296-3535
jcarter@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We were so lucky to have found The Reach. Our accomodations were splendid.
The staff & service was excellent. We ate delicious meals at their oceanfront
dining terrace. The private beach & pool was perfect. We want to especially
mention the pool manager, Ricardo, who took wonderful care of us & provided
excellent, personalized service. Ricardo made the pool experience a dream.
Thanks Ricardo!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jleecarter, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary and thank you for sharing that milestone with us here at The Reach. We hope that lasting impression that Ricardo and our staff were able to give will have you returning for many anniversaries to come. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you or anyone you know wanting a relaxing romantic getaway need assistance with their accommodations.

All the best.

Jason Carter
305-296-3535
jcarter@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We spent our first Anniversary at The Reach hotel in Key West, FL. The hotel was great, services were outstanding, and we were within easy walking distance from all the action on Duval St and all of old town. I would recommend The Reach to other travelers and will stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalednet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

* The Waldorf Astoria name signifies class and elegance - The Reach, Waldorf Astoria Resort has neither.
* This hotel is extremely overpriced and I would highly recommend not staying here if you prefer a classy resort.
* This is a two star hotel.
* My wife and I normally stay at The Ritz in Naples, South Beach and Key Biscayne. The Reach is not even comparible to those fine properties except for the expensive price.
* The pool is very small and the beach was full of seaweed.
* $425 a night is a rip-off for this property.
* You enter your room from the outside (like a motel) and the room was bland and not really updated.
* The carpet had spots on it.
* This entire property needs a fresh coat of paint.
* We checked out a day early because we were so underwhelmed.
* The beach attendant told my wife and I that even though we paid $25 resort fee "he and his buddy worked on tips" as he set up our chairs on the beach.
* A bunch of guys brought two cases of beer onto the beach. Something like that is fine if the hotel is $99 a night. I did not expect that staying at a Waldorf Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trip2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jleecarter, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Good Evening and thank you for your extensive feedback following your stay here with us at The Reach. Having guests depart early from out property is not something that we are accustomed to and I do apologize for that inconvenience. Comments both positive and negative are used in the overall evaluation of our services and help us meet the standards which we set for ourselves. Please contact me directly so that we may discuss your stay in further detail.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-296-3535
jcarter@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $320 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing