We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed at Casa Marina during Christmas week and can't say enough positive things about the resort and the service.

When you step out of the rear of the lobby towards the pool you know you are somewhere special. This resort dates back to the 20's and you would never know it. It has been beautifully maintained and restored and feels brand new but with charm.

The service was always attentive but not obtrusive. The leadership at this resort has clearly trained the staff in the art of casual, friendly hospitality while stil conveying a sense of luxury. I hope to have the opportunity to return.

Thanks to all for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innkeeper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,229 - 6,235 of 7,388 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2009

The most basic facility in any hotel is the bed. We have stayed in $35 motels, and we have stayed in $400 resorts, and this just happens to be the worst sleeping experience we have ever had, apart from the motel 50 yards from the railroad tracks when we were students.

We initially liked the king-size bed in our suite, but during the first night we realized that every time one of us turned over, we were both woken by a loud clanging noise. We concluded that the bed was defective and the next morning, we reported it and were assured that Engineering would take care of it.

We suspected that it had not been repaired, and sure enough we couldn't sleep on the second night either. When we asked at the front desk on the second morning, they admitted that they had done NOTHING the previous day!!!

After we kicked up a bit of a fuss, they again assured us it would be repaired. This time, Engineering did come in, and were supposedly coming back. We don't know if they did because we went out for the rest of the day, but we do know they failed again. When we came back later and tested the bed, we quickly determined that it was still defective.

I decided to take matters into my own hands and removed the mattress and box springs. I discovered that this bed is supported by a metal frame similar to the cheap ones you get for free when you buy a mattress set. The legs in the center were about half an inch off the floor, so they banged on the floor every time someone moved on the bed. Being surrounded by a hollow metal box, this generated the terrible noises we had been suffering.

There were a few wooden shims lying around the legs, so apparently this is not the first time this has happened. (I presume they are dislodged by the housekeepers, although judging by the dust, they don't clean under there very often!)

In five minutes, I had replaced the shims, and we think the bed is fixed. Tonight is night 3, so we will know by tomorrow!

Having used 300,000 Hilton Honors points to reserve 5 nights in this resort, we are quite disappointed to have two nights ruined, and to have to perform our own repairs.

We explained all this to the front desk, and their solution is a $100 room credit and a promise that the Engineering manager will contact us. I guess my wasted 120,000 points and tewo sleepless nights are worth $100!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkMHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I planned a week long stay at the Casa Marina - Key West, FL in order to plan my wedding. I found that the front desk staff was very lacking in regards to customer service. As a result, I was very disappointed and decided not to even consider having my wedding there.

I believe that the staff at the front desk appear to have an attitude as if they are doing you a favor by letting you stay there! I've stayed at the Waldorf's in New York and London, and have never ever experienced attitudes such as this as displayed at the Casa.

If I needed to talk to the front desk, I constantly had to wait at either of the 2 front desks for staff to come overwithout any indication that they even saw me most of the time. When I asked for an upgrade, due to being a Hilton Diamond member (The Casa is part of the Waldorf Hitlon chain) the young woman at the front desk actually chuckled at me in a snide way as if I am an idiot for even asking!

On the bright side, the room (small and overlooking the parking lot) was at least clean and modern with a decent flat screen tv, nice radio, mini fridge. The gym, which is across the street, is above average for a hotel gym. It is clean and spacious with good quality, modern equipment (treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, free weights and nautilus type machines). The only other positive I can give the Casa is that it is a beautiful hotel and has very nice pool area. Which, if you don't care about lousy service, then it may work out just fine for you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IronBird0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed at this hotel, then owned by another company, about 30 years ago. It was the best location and facility in Key West then and it remains so today. When you check in, be sure to ask for Patrick. He will take absolutely excellent care of you. Then should you have any questions about where to eat, what to do or what play to see, ask Don or Ron; both are an excellent concierge.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuJu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

To start with the negative: $20 daily resort fee; $12.99 self-parking; $19 breakfast buffet; taxes, plus your nightly fee. It can really add up. That being said, for weeknights or any deal where you can stay for under $300, it is really worth your penny.

The hotel and rooms are beautiful, clean, elegant, and well-maintained. I've read reviews that the bathrooms are small; they are, but they are clean and new and, aside from the size and strange, high-pressured shower stream, are perfect. The room otherwise is very beautiful and new. The grounds are beautiful as well; many spots for great photos.

The fitness center is well-stocked with modern, high-end cardio equipment, a cable machine (2 cables, 4 different handles), a Smith machine, two benches, about 8 nautilus machines, and free weights up to 50 lbs. It was the nicest fitness center I've been to with the exception of those found in some luxury health spas.

Service was great; very friendly and accommodating staff.

Location is about a 20 minute walk from Duval Street, which is good because you can enjoy the hustle of Duval and escape to the relaxing and quiet location of the hotel.

Just a note about food: the restaurant is pricey and not worth it; especially when there are such great restaurants on Duval. I would hit the Publix or Winn Dixie supermarkets and buy drinks (mini-fridge in most rooms) and snacks. For lunch, you can order delivery from several places on Duval - your first night there, hit Duval and collect some delivery menus. For dinner, go to Duval and eat out. Only eat at the expensive hotel restaurant if time is an issue. You can score a great meal at a much better price on Duval.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlovvanPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Hotel is in a great location for walking to Duval Street and for Key West it has a nice waterfront with beach and piers you can access ocean from. However, rooms are very small and tired. Stayed in a 600 sf 1bedrm island view suite, way overpriced. Balcony is very tiny. Room was filthy with makeup and fingerprints all over bathroom door. A/C is very noisy. Furnishings are contemporary and very low quality. Sheets are not 100% cotton and towels are very low quality. Service in the restaurants is slow and food is mediocre. Overall, a very disappointing experience for a Waldorf property. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchesabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed at the Casa Marina Resort from 12/5/09-12/9/09. We travel quite a bit and are fairly picky about where we stay. We were very happy with the resort, aside from the daily resort fee ($22.50) and self parking fee ($12.00). But, we knew about it ahead of time, so I can't complain too much. It seemed like we could have easily found parking on one of the nearby streets and avoided the self parking lot, but we didn't realize this in time.
We booked an Island View room. The room was very nice and very very clean. (The "view" left much to be desired-dumpy houses, but again, no complaints because we didn't pay extra for an oceanview.) There is a mini-fridge in the room, which was nice to keep stocked for breakfast and snacks. Don't even bother going into the little store in the lobby- it's beyond overpriced. We went to a little convienence store a couple of blocks away.
We spent time on the beach and at the pool, both of which were nice. There's a beach volleyball court, but we didn't see it being used at all while we were there. The hammocks on the beach were fantastic! It wasn't crowded at all while we were there, but early December is a pretty slow travel time. If you're a "beach person", then Key West might not be the best option. The beach at the resort was ok, but it's not a picture perfect, white sandy beach. It's manmade and there are alot of rocks and seagrass. The pool was nice though, and the beach is still very pretty and nice to relax and enjoy the view. There was a little watersports center right at the resort. We rented bikes, which was a fun way to see the island. You could also rent scooters, kayaks, wave runners, etc.
The Casa Marina was about a mile walk from the busy part of Duval Street. We walked down for dinner each night, which took about 20 min or so, depending on how far down we went. I would definitely recommend all the places we had dinner- The Blackfin Bistro, Blue Heaven, and Mangoes. They were all really good, but Blue Heaven was my favorite! Food in Key West is quite expensive though.
The highlight of our trip was going to Dry Tortugas National Park. It was so gorgeous!! We booked our trip through the hotel for $160/person. There is only 1 boat that goes out each day (normally 2, but the other is getting painted)- The Yankee Freedom. It didn't seem to matter where you booked it, the price was always the same. We went snorkeling and walked around the fort. There's a very pretty beach too. Make sure you walk up to the very top of the fort- the view is amazing! The trip was expensive, but worth it. It was our favorite day of our vacation. If you are prone to motion sickness, invest in some less-drowsy Dramamine!! I still didn't feel very good, but there were some people that were in pretty bad shape. It helped to be sitting outside and looking at the horizon. Keep in mind that it's a long boat ride- 2.5 hours.
If you are thinking about going to Key West, you won't be disappointed with the Casa Marina! It was beautiful and the service was great! We probably won't return to Key West because there's other places we want to visit, but we're glad we went and loved the Casa Marina.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteelersFan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $316 - $772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing