We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, wish we could've stayed longer...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, wish we could've stayed longer...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed at the Casa Marina for 3 nights from 18-21 September. Booked through Alpharooms.com & paid £370 (not including Resort Fee of $20+tax per night).

First off, can i just say how hard it was to find decent accomodation in Key West for less than £100 per night. It was really, really hard! So when i came across this hotel for this price i jumped at the chance. Turns out we were in town at one of the busiest times of the year in Key West, the annual Key West Poker Run, where around 10,000 bikers from all over the country descend on Key West for a weekend of fun & raising money for charity. It certainly wasnt the quiet, relaxing time we had envisioned, but we went with the flow & had a great time anyway!

Self-parking or valet parking was available at the hotel, but i had read on previous reviews that parking was available on the street, due to the hotel being in a residential area. So we parked on the street, no problems at all.

The hotel itself was lovely. Big, spacious, clean & elegant. There was always staff cleaning mirrors & buffing the floors & keeping the place spotless. The concierge introduced himself & was friendly. The room itself was really nice. It looked exactly like the pictures on the hotel website & was clean & comfortable. The shower had good water pressure & there was plenty of fluffy towels & nice products in the bathroom. We had a large flatscreen TV with plenty of channels to watch, which was ideal for us, as the weather was so hot, we had to sit indoors with the A/C on watching a film until it cooled down outside!

The outdoor areas is where the hotel truly shines. There is two identical swimming pools with plenty of seating available. I had read on previous reviews that ice-lollies & cold towels were given out at the pool, but i never saw this. Maybe i was watching a film at the time! The pool guy saw that i had brought my own beach towel to the pool & told me not to bother next time as there is plenty of towels available for guests to use. There is also a bar area outside & a dining area. I had the mango chicken sandwich & fries (around $13) & it was delicious. Our server, i think his name was Darran?, was really friendly & polite.

The hotel is in a quiet location in Key West, away from the hustle & bustle of Duval Street. It was a good 15-20 minute walk to the main strip, which suited me just fine.

Overall, this hotel was excellent & i would definately recommend it to anyone considering staying in Key West.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,389
    1,697
    985
    512
    357
See reviews for
1,845
3,230
94
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed here for our anniversary in late September. It is not a cheap hotel, but it is worth it. The rooms were very nice, the pool was great, Jimmy was helpful with towels, etc. The beach is very nice, not something you get many of in Key West. The restraunt menu is limited, but the food is excellent.

The only downside for us was that the hotel is (relativly) far from the action of Duval Street, but the shuttle, taxi or bikes make it a short hop.

It is definately on our list to stay at when we go back to Key West.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

This hotel is located right on one of the few beaches in Key West. While the rooms are clean and modern, the highlight is certainly the beach, hammocks, outdoor bar/restaurant area and pools. It's actually a great value when you compare to other nice hotels in key West, and it's great that you are somewhat close to Duval, but not too close. We loved hanging out in one of the beach hammocks with a mojito in the evening and watching sunset. Our room was clean, the bed was super comfy and it had a nice ocean view out the window. I wish the bathroom was a tiny bit bigger and that the window actually opened, but otherwise, we really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

This was a great place right on the water to relax and play in the ocean. There were plenty of hammocks, lounges, convenient waterside bar, and a place to rent water toys such as wave runners as well as bikes and scooters. BUT, if you want to be in the night life and shopping of Key West - this is probably not your best choise - need to drive to get into the main part of town which necessitates PARKING which is all but impossible (and we were there still off season). I specifically booked a room in the historic part of the building. Well, it could have been a room in any nice hotel- no "historic" to be seen. The lobby is obviously historic w/ original wood floors etc, but the wood floors in the historic rooms were laminate. The room description specified bath robes and full toiletries - including lotion and conditioner. There were no robes, no conditioner ( which for long hair after a lot of swimming is a serious PAIN..), and no lotion. The room was very comfortable and very clean. All of the staff with the exception of the gift shop cashier were very nice- and don't expect much in the gift shop - minimal at best. There was supposed to be a breakfast buffet -but the first 2 days it was a very limited menu - then the breakfast buffet opened according to a waiter because so many people complained of the slow service and cold food. The place gave the impression of being run on a minimal staff. Bob the blue and gold macaw was available for photo ops daily for a donation - he was a really neat bird.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whippetdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

Walking in to the hotel had the feel of taking a step back in time but with all of today's luxuries we are used to. They have kept the integrity of the hotel despite the various challenges over the many years this hotel has been in existence. It felt regal and one could imagine Harry Truman and distinguised dignitaries wandering the grounds and feeling breathless at the view of the ocean and the lush surroundings. The dark wood floors look like they are polished daily. The bartender, Carlos, was generous with the alcohol in our tropical drinks which opened up our opportunity to meet several people at the bar outside and enjoy the amazing breeze flowing through as we conversed with new friends.

We did take a quick trip to Duval street which was plenty interesting and offered every imaginable type of entertainment. We wanted to walk forever and peer into every bar just for curiosity. But we ended up at a western bar, I believe, named Salsa Loco(?) and danced the night away and had some surprisingly delicious Mexican food (we even found great Mole enchiladas! The band was from Georgia and were really very good (and I'm from Texas and have seen a few crummy bands).

It was all such a nice surprise and was so fun and memorable. Worth the visit and the drive from Key Largo where we started.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy040402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

Beautiful property. Horrible staff. Our room was filthy, no amenities (shampoo, SOAP, tissues) and the bathroom smelled like urine. Staff unresponsive and inattentive to our needs. The A/C was out for an entire day and not one staff member cared. When we complained to the front desk the response was an unacceptable, "Oh, Well". Our group had over 40 rooms and all 40 had rooms had the same problems. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHSReunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

I went there on my honeymoon and just about everything was perfect. The scenery, the staff, and the overall ambiance. The pictures online don't lie, this place does look this nice. The staff went out of their way to help us out being that this was our first time in Key West. We ran into the valet parking person when we were out our first night, he recognized us and accommodated us while he was off the clock. He let us know some of the hot spots and even bought us a couple round of shots and played a few games of pool with us. The only knock on the place is the price of buying things at the resort. Once again though, the extremely friendly staff let us know where the grocery stores were so that we could go buy some snacks for our stay. They drew out a detailed map and later checked to make sure that we found it alright. It was a very memorable experience and we look forward to going back for an anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ostatenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing