We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but could try harder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Jason.Charity
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice but could try harder”
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We chose the Casa Marina because of it's beach location and price, which looked reasonable for a solid 4* hotel.

Good points first:

The hotel (particularly the old building) is lovely, although the newer building looks from the back like a block of flats. Not particularly great. The beach was great (by Key West standards) and is cleaned every morning; and we had no problems getting sun beds. They also serve complimentary drinks mid-morning, and cold towels in the afternoon, which is a nice touch. Staff generally very professional and friendly, although non memorable. Room (Ocean Vista Room) was of generous size with perfect ocean views. The room had windows/patio doors to two aspects and although the room was decorated in muted colours, it worked well for the hotel and location.

Things they need to work on:

We arrvied at the hotel after 14 hours travelling. Tired and slightly disorientated, the least I expected was to be shown to my room. The receptionist was more interested in "processing" us than ensuring we were welcomed. We took directions from her... got lost and then eventually found the room. A poor start, I thought.

The room was not serviced daily to an acceptable standard. From what I could see, the bed was made and towels changed, but no real dusting, floor cleaning, etc. Such that by the last day, the room was dirty. And one day they just "forgot" to even make the beds.

The power to Key West went off on our last day. The hotel had back-up generators which powered key lights. To their credit, they kept the kitchen open and served food from the outside restaurant. The chef needs a medel for working in the dark! No, to start with, they had some lights on at the restaurant, but then decided to turn them off, with about 40 people eating. Luckily for the two people on reception, the ENTIRE reception was illuminated. Now, I get that power sometimes goes off, but I don't accept that management cannot be organised enough to ensure a supply of candels and keeping lights on in areas where most guest reside. Thankfully, immediately after dinner the lights came back on so we went into town!

They seem to have surcharges for EVERYTHING, which turns what, on the surface, look like a reasonable hotel, into something more expensive. To contrast, after KW we headed for Miami and stayed at the 5* The Raliegh. The cost was the same. Be careful, as they add on charges for use of the beach, parking, etc, etc...

Overall, we did enjoin the Casa Marina but it lacked the polish that I expected. I realise that this is not a 5* hotel but it scored poorly on too many fronts, even for a good 4* hotel.

  • Liked — View from room
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason.Charity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,387
    1,694
    980
    510
    353
See reviews for
1,840
3,222
94
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
RI
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Stayed here for our honeymoon. We were upgraded for free to an ocean view. The lobby to the pool, beach, and service was excellent. The rooms were kept very clean and staff was helpful. We lost an item, left a message, and the item was bought to our room moments later.
The only complaint we have is that they additional taxes and fees are not disclosed upfront, so in the end our total bill was more than what was quoted on the phone. Despite this, we plan to return!! It was beautiful and would not have to leave resort if you did not want to.

  • Liked — Right on the beach
  • Disliked — Hidden taxes
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunnyRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

We had an unbelievable experience. Everyone was incredibly professional and accommodating. The hotel was above and beyond. The food was great, the service was awesome, and the location was excellent. I recommend the rosemary chicken and please order their margaritas by the beach or pool side. Jeff at the water sports area was so helpful. He can help you with reserving anything from our scuba diving to a sunset ride on a catamaran. This was definitely, one of our best vacations. Thank You Casa Marina!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — internet access
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gurucastano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Liked the sound of crisp white sheets from our travel guide so turned up with no reservation, and fell in love with this hotel straight away. Everything can be described as perfectly balanced - luxurious without being overindulgent and attention to detail in every aspect. The food here is so good that we felt strangely empty when we ventured out into Key West to sample the local cuisine.(Mahi mahi lunch menu wrap particularly recommended)

The best aspect of this hotel is undoubtably the staff, such as Darrell. They are genuinely friendly and down to earth and nothing seems forced. They all seem very happy to be working at the hotel, and that seems to permeate through to the guests.

Thoroughly recommended, (although secretly hoping it doesn't become overrrun). Thanks a lot Casa Marina - will be back as soon as we can.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank mattceci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

My partner and I had our Commitment Ceremony on the beach at Casa Marina with 35 friends and family. Everyone stayed at the resort. We arrived early and spent 4 nights and 5 days. The hotel and catering staff, especially Kaitlin Wright, was absolutely fantastic. They even kept the rain at bay until 10:45 PM!! Everyone loved their stay at the resort and could tell what a fantastic job the catering staff did for our event. We stayed at Casa Marina twice before our event (June and Sep 2008) and will definitely be back. The resort is away from all of the noise and activity on Duval St (but walkable). It is closest to the beaches for a long walk and is just doors down from Louie's Backyard. Be sure to get an Ocean Vista Room on the beach...well worth it. It's great for peace and relaxation but close enough to all that Old Town has to offer.

  • Liked — Beach location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Caymus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2008

My wife and I went to Key West for just the weekend. We had some idea from the pictures online of the hotel, but were blown away by the wonderful lobby decoration (we both love modern furniture with a very inviting feel). Our bags were taken to our room for us as we immediately wanted to see the pool deck area and the private beach. We didn't want to go anywhere the first night but stay at hotel, relax in the pool, watch the sunset, and swing in a hammock. The room was large and open for a standard room. Nicely decorated. The only complaint in the room was that the bathroom sink faucet was on the side of sink instead of in front (just wasn't used to that positioning).
After a long day of snorkling, boating, and walking up Duval St...we admit, we couldn't wait to just get back to the hotel and relax by the poolside and have a Mai Tai. I would highly recommend this hotel and I plan to make this my permanent hotel of choice when I revisit Key West.

  • Liked — pool area and beach area with outdoor bar and restaurant
  • Disliked — the bathroom faucet in room was placed on side of sink instead of front. It was an odd position and not comfortable when using
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Poseidon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2008

With the moment we arrived our dream started. Entering the reception hall which is very elegant in a colonial style interiored, nice and competent people will warmly welcome you at the front desk. The rooms are also very comfortable and - what it extremely important for visitors like us who looked desperatedly for a q u i et location - the hotel is really quiet. In comparison to other high standart hotels, casa marina is right at the oceanfront without a noisy streat inbetween the hotel and the beach. We as a loving couple felt very "at home" and could relax completely after traveling through the USA (NYC, DC, Miami, etc)
Finally, we would like to mention one outstanding employee which did not only served us perfectly but also is a perfect embassador for the American country and its people. Patric, working at the front desk, always had an open ear for our wishes and needs. At the same time he explained us a lot about the USA, its culture and people. We really appreciate meeting such a kind person at a front desk of a hotel. In sum, we have been tremendously happy with our stay and would recommend this location to everybody! Thank you PATRIC, Thank you CASA MARINA. We will never forget!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Miri1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing