We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed May 28, 2014

just finished 4 days / 3 nights at CM. We usually stay at Ocean Key but this time decided to go elsewhere. We were attracted to the promise of a larger beachfront (keys beachfront) resort with multiple pools and plenty of grounds to enjoy. This was definitely the case as we highly enjoyed the hotel. The $25 daily fee was ok as the in room coffee, newspapers and plenty of bottled water made it more palatable. Room was oceanfront in newer west wing - size was a bit small as was balcony but room was clean and updated. No worries about chipped furniture etc. It was a bit of a walk to the pool but was quiet. Next time we'd like to try one of the rooms with the walk up patios. Never tried breakfast buffet but it looked pretty good. Closest outside food is 5-10 minute walk - camille's was a yummy breakfast and bad boy burrito was also very good - both 10 minute walk. Bar at Louie's next door on the ocean is a must do.

Check in went well - room was not ready yet upon noon arrival but they called us at 115pm to alert us that room was now ready. Bags got dropped there without us - all went well.

Now what I did not care for at the hotel - there is essentially no lobby bar other than an add-on to the gift shop. So really the only true bar is outside by pool / beach. Yesterday at 6pm I went to the "lobby bar" and waited for one girl only to be told that she can't mix drinks so she summoned another bartender. Waited a few mins for her but she was underwhelming - she had to consult the menu to figure out what was in the drink - looked like she had 5 mins of bar training. My suggestion would be either to do away with this bar or improve it to actually have a real lobby bar even if it is only open a few hours each day. But to kinda of do it while part of gift shop with store clerks as bartenders leaves a bad guest impression (or at least in my case did).

Other service was generally good and the little bit of the food we had was pretty decent. They did not enforce no kids in adult pool for 2 of the 3 days. Didn't really bother us but why have rules if they are not to be enforced? Gift shop or bathrooms did not carry feminine products either (no idea why - this is hotel 101) so was very inconvenient for wife.

Great breeze at hotel - apparently in summer months breeze blows from the south which makes it "cooler" than rest of the island. This was greatly worth it.

Every stay will have little nits - we understand that so this was no exception. Hotel and grounds are great, service was good as was our room. Not another hotel like this in KW. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,236 - 3,242 of 7,383 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family and I just departed the Casa Marina Resort and we can report we had a fantastic visit. We stayed here 14 months ago and decided to return. The service given by Patrick (front desk), Evelyn (front desk mgr), Gregg (bell stand) Shaun and Tanjo (concierge) was second to none. I thank the five of them for helping to make our trip to Key West so memorable. The hotel is beautiful with are all the charm you would expect from such a classic property. The rooms are nice but could stand a few minor upgrades. The pool service was top notch. There was always someone there to help with lounge chair covers, fresh ice water or whatever you wanted/needed. This also include complimentary popsicles for the children as well as cool cucumber slices for your eyes. We would visit this property again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Location location location...
Laying on the hammocks between palm trees, the Atlantic Ocean just feet away. Awesome constant sea breeze. Hotel service couldn't be better. Such a charming hotel. We just live this place. The pools, outside bar, ping pong... I would think this is Key West's best resort!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it is one of the best I have stayed at. I stay in hotels about 150 nights a year so I get picky when it comes to customer service. The pool service is top notch. The staff at the pool are friendly and help in any way possible. Morgan was so helpful and fun. He took such good care of our group of 11 people. He was the best. The front concierge staff were also friendly and so helpful. I will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven T, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Katie S,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm quite sure it was a pleasure for Morgan to take care of you while you were here and I will be sure to pass on your comments. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went to Key West for 5 days and stayed at the Casa Marina. It's a nice hotel but nothing special. I felt the Double tree that I've stayed in before was just as good or better than the Casa Marina. I will say the hotel is on the beach and a 15-20 min. walk to Duval which makes it convenient. The room itself was bland and they need to put some decorations on the walls and move the full length mirror on the side of the bed to the front of the room where you can actually use it. I did like that there was a Nespresso machine in the room. That was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaL272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great hotel with great service! a short cab ride to duval st. it has a great beach and pool. The employees are very nice. i have stayed at the westin and here and i chose here. The breakfast buffet is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I visited in early May. The front desk staff and the bellmen were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is very well maintained for its age, and dining outside near the Gulf of Mexico is a wonderful experience. It has the perfect ambience for Key West and for making memories.

It will be my choice should I return again to Key West.

J. Randolph Smith
Monroe, LA

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrsmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $315 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing