We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plus & Minus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Came for a honeymoon trip - mentioned upon check-in - were given a room less than satisfactory but moved to another a bit better but noisy each morning when some type of exhaust / ventilation system kicked in. Service at beach and pool restaurant was spotty - some very good (Patrick) others not at all attentive. Some employees were great - at beach Mark learned about our honeymoon and was surprised they had not provided us with something nice upon check-in -- then had the hotel send a bottle and some fruit to our room (nice touch). Parts of hotel looking a bit worn. Lovely setting, room clean - very pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,482 - 3,488 of 7,453 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is not at all what we expected. We were most impressed with Daniel who seemed to be heading up the beach area. He was pleasent and professional and just a delight to work with. The front desk staff was helpful and nice as well. The rooms...not so good. I agree with the woman that likened the rooms to jail cells. Dark and small and NO windows to open - ugh, not a good feeling when you are in a place where the outside air is welcomed. The dinner option at the hotel is awful. Sit by the pool area and listen to overly loud music at the bar and screaming kids at the pool - not our idea of relaxing, Impossible to visit and enjoy, so we decided to dine elsewhere. Overall this is very high priced and not a high return. We probably will not be back, but eager to try other hotels in the area. We so enjoy Key West - but were expecting a much better room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah F, Front Office Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Kristine W.,
We are extremely sorry that the resort did not meet your expectations. It is the feedback of guests such as yourself that assists us in the training of associates as well as continued maintenance of our facilities. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the beach and front desk staff, and will recognize them for providing excellent service. If you would like to discuss your stay or if you should be in Key West again please contact me at sarah.franks@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service.
Thank you, Sarah Franks, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The outside is nice The inside needs upgrading. Toilets don't work well. Heating/AC system poor. Stayed in a suite. Living room was pleasant. Bedroom was freezing. Front desk told us twice there was no way to fix it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Went there to celebrate my girlfriends Birthday and the first night they gave us a nice but very small room overlooking the parking lot so the next morning went down to the front desk and asked for an upgrade with all intentions to pay extra and front desk staff immediately upgraded us to a beautiful sweet with a huge balcony overlooking the pool and ocean AT NO EXTRA COST making my girlfriend's Birthday so special....very nice staff and property.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah F, Front Office Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Mr. Bodmer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Casa Marina on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your girlfriend's birthday with us here in paradise! We look forward to seeing you again on a return trip.
Thank you,
Sarah Franks, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

With our two small children, because the room they offered us was uninhabitable. The smell of mold emerging was so strong even the woman showing us the room recoiled in disgust. Unfortunately we arrived very late and it was the last room. After the ridiculous night manager made a showing of airing out the room (it's windows don't open) and they failed to find another room in town we gave up and slept in the car.

By the way someone had thrown up all over the lobby rest room. I notified the staff around midnight. When we returned the next morning at 9 to retrieve our belongings and cancel the remaining two days of the reservation, I used the restroom again. Jo one had lifted a finger to clean it.

There was no food or drink available during the hours we were waiting. I thought even your average hotel had 24 hour room service. Don't kid yourself that this is in any way a fll service resort.

Perhaps the most infuriating thing of all is the Titus's of the staff, and the failure of the customer service manager to even leave her office to speak with us the following day. We were paying 500 dollars a night (without breakfast I must add). Apparently they reserve their efforts for anon 1500 and up.

Good luck.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah F, Front Office Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Casa Marina Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results.

We have shared your feedback with our operating teams, helping them identify specific service breakdowns. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved. We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.
Thank you,
Sarah Franks, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Casa Marina is a beautiful property and they are very proud of it. Yup, really pricy.

Location is pretty far from the popular Key West attractions, but nice ocean front ambience if that's all you want to do. Rooms are simple and tastefully decorated, but small. We were frustrated with the intermitent operation of the door card readers ...made half dozen trips to the front desk to get into our room ...and it wasn't just us!

Don't use the concierge! They recommended, of course, the hotel restaurant. All three of us had discussing meals ...chicken way overcooked, yellow snapper, at least that's they called it, stuffed with something, rolled up and presented vertically. Taste was very strong and fishy ...and looked like a snake on the plate! The next morning the concierge sent us to a garden that had been closed for some time. About 2+ miles walk both ways ...we wasted an entire morning of a two day stay.

You can do a lot better in Key West.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaroldB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went to Key West for 5 nights early March to getaway from the Midwest Winter Cold and it was a success!

I see an overwhelming amount of mixed reviews on this property and I think I know why - You really need to manage your expectations going in. It's expensive but so is everything this time of year in Key West. I know it's a Waldorf and people expect the absolute best with the name but it's a very old property with updates.

Our room was in the old part and it was comfortable with a small bathroom. It was clean, has wifi with daily maid service (we were back by 4pm everyday and the rooms was cleaned by then) and nightly turndown service. The room wasn't the highlight of the resort but it was nice.

The highlights were; The Pool and Beach area - they will find you a place and set you up with chairs and umbrella. The Beach was very nice for Key West with Palm Tress and Hammocks. The pool bar was good but expensive. The fire pit at night was great. We also like the Workout Room - it had everything you need with towels and free bottles of cold water. The location was also a plus for us - it was on the other side of Duval which we walked several times. It's a short walk to Ana's Cuban Coffee, The Salute, Louie's Backyard, El Siboney Cuban Restaurant, and Banana Cafe.

I think if you go and enjoy the surroundings you will have an extremely enjoyable time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Randy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $348 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing