We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way to Turn 30!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great Way to Turn 30!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Key West was a fantastic way to say goodbye to my twenties and hello to my thirties. Everyone at the Casa Marina went the extra mile to make it a special trip, specifically Daniel and Bob at the pool. Drinks, Popsicles, frozen eucalyptus towels and cucumbers each day. Perfect!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ashskinner0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah F, Front Office Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your thirtieth birthday at the Casa Marina! We will certainly recognize Daniel and Bob for providing exceptional service. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thank you, Sarah Franks, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,412
    1,709
    997
    519
    361
See reviews for
1,853
3,265
95
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Paying over 500 USD per night, you would expect quite something. True, the grounds are beautiful, with a nice beach and pool area. Yet the rooms and the corridors are awful. First: the room has that vague smell of a mildewy cellar combined with that of an open sewerage system. The climate control is unfit for this place: when opening the balcony doors or after using the bathroom, the walls and ceiling in the room get really wet and literally start dripping (hence the smell?). Second: the decor is really outdated: the rooms are dark and somber and a little run down, and are in need of some serious revamping (this also applies to the bath room). Fine for a 2-star business hotel, but for a 500 USD a night resort a real disappointment. Oh - and avoid the rooms near the (run down) elevators or the noisy ventilation systems (or whatever they are)!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTGIZ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Best option in Key West if you want a beach. Key West does not have big sandy beaches so hotel does its best to give you a beach. We did not have ocean front room, they offer one if I paid more. Didn't like attitude or that option so had view of parking lot. Kinda a bummer. But just there 2 nights. They have two pools one for families another for adults. LOVE this. We had breakfast which was your typical hotel breakfast. Nothing special. Concierges fabulous and responsive to all our needs. Feel badly the have to stand all day in middle of lobby, weird lay out and not easy to have private conversation. Of course another hotel that asks you to save your towel to save water, act like they recycle but when I asked the staff most said no they do not. Ones that said of course we recycle gave me funny look. I do not have plans to go to Key West again but if I did would choose this hotel. You can walk to town with comfy shoes. We would end up walking into town and cabbing it back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlington30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and could not have had a better time! The staff were helpful and courteous, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the view from my room couldn't have been better! I loved all the hammocks available on the beach at the hotel, and how throughout the day, staff would come around the pool and pass out frozen towels, Popsicles, or other things to make it more enjoyable. They even provided sunblock for those of us who forgot it, and trust me, it was needed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Key West at Christmas is wonderful because I love warm sunshine on my face instead of the freezing wind I get at home. We stayed a week at the Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort from December 18-25, 2013. The charming hotel has a rich history (I recommend getting the book from the gift shop) and lovely grounds!

I recommend staying in the newer wing if you can. The hotel was built in the 20's and although renovations have been made the older part just seems that...older. Our room overlooked the adult pool & and we could see the beach from to the left. We had our own lanai which led to a walkway that took us anywhere we liked on the property. The room is not luxurious but it is very nice! It was clean & comfortable.

The pool was wonderful & the beach was clean, peaceful, beautiful & we had full wait service at both. The pool bar was fun & the staff was always super friendly & helpful. This bar has the BEST pina colada's on the planet, as far as I am concerned. I could hardly drink anything else!

The location of the hotel is a bit removed from Duvall Street, but if you are healthy, it can be walked. Probably about 25-30 minute walk from the hotel to the Hog's Breath (which is at the far other end of Duvall) We did walk several times, but when we had reservations or needed to be somewhere at a specific time, we took cabs.

Concierge service was very helpful and got us reservations to several restaurants, mani/pedi appointments in town & booked us some great excursions!

There were only a couple of things that could have been better. 1. Each day we would have to call and ask for clean coffee cups and more creamer for our Nespresso. I am not sure why, but the housekeeping staff would not replenish our stock each day & they would leave the used coffee cups. We would just give the front desk a call and someone would bring us more. Not a big deal at all. 2. The ATM was out of service for several days & the only offer we got from the staff was to walk to the sister property and use theirs. It is a bit of a walk & at a hotel of this caliber I expected more service than that. Possibly an offer to drive us over to use the machine at the sister property. But no.

Overall the hotel was wonderful and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms in the newer wings. Room with a lanai is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Our rooms' AC seemed to only work at night, and the bathroom was needing to be terribly caulked; the mold and deterioration most prevalent around the shower. Also, bugs in there. The view was wonderful and breakfast buffet had more than enough to choose from. The hotel is not centrally located which means there's not much traffic, but you do have to drive to wherever you want to go (or rent bikes).

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWinston85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah F, Front Office Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear MrWinston85,
We appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Casa Marina Resort. If you would like to discuss your stay please contact me at sarah.franks@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service. We have shared your feedback in regards to our facilities and your expectations of Waldorf Astoria Resorts with our management team.
Thank you, Sarah Franks, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Went down as a celebration of the top employees for a business. Enjoyed the entire trip. Could not have asked for more. Drinks were always flowing and people/staff were very friendly. Resort was very nice and the accommodations were outstanding. Inclusive wrist band is a must!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing