We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but be aware of some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed four nights at the Casa Marina in August. I was a little disappointed upon check in because the room (n. 221) was very small, and the balcony was also tiny (i booked an ocean vista room, no idea what the room they actually gave us was).
The hotel has a pleasant and relaxing architecture, with a clean and modern feel. The beach is not that good for swimming with all the seaweed and rocks, but lying under the palm trees was nevertheless a great way to chill out. Nice touches are the popsicles and watermelon that the staff bring around. An honorable mention should also go to the complimentary non-alcoholic mojito offered in the lobby from 4-6p. So good that I would rush down each day as soon as I remembered it was that time to grab some, so good that I was never able to get a full cup, cos the urn would get drained so fast.
Disappointments include: being billed every step of the way with extra charges for internet connection ($12/day), breakfast buffet ($20/pp), self parking ($12/day - by the way there was plenty of available free parking on the street around the hotel when we were there). The hotel also charges a ridiculous $20/day resort fee. As many people seem to be unpleasantly surprised by this extra "tax" on their room bill, I think the hotel should include it in the advertised room rate, even if they have to raise it. I think the customers they could lose with the slightly higher room rate, would be fewer than those they anger by this misleading marketing practice. I mean, how many popsicles do I have to eat to make the fee worth it? The other problem was the pool area. There are actually 2 pools, but both are teeming with rowdy children. It would be better if they reserved one pool for adults, as the guests seemed to be about half childless couples half families. In fact, I noticed the couples tended to relax on the beach and left the families with the pool areas. (you also get more attention from the attendants on the beach, fyi). But, as the ocean was a bit weird to swim in, I would have liked the option of cooling off in the pool without being kicked and splashed.
Maid service was also a little spotty. They never cleaned our balcony, leaving empty beer bottles, and a coffee cup half filled with liquid and cigarette butts for 4 days..eeew. We left them just to see if they would ever take care of it, but no. They also didnt replace our sugar packets, we were left with nasty Splenda. One positive mention is the plumbing service we received for our stopped up sink drain, which was taken care of immediately by a very kind technician. As far as the amenities go, we missed the slippers we normally get offered in higher end hotels, but I really liked the shampoo and conditioner. They left my hair feeling super silky.The robes, however, are ridiculous when worn by an average-sized man - made of a unattractively clingy material and with sleeves way too short.
Overall, we did have a relaxing stay, but had problems with the extra charges, pool area and some aspects of the service. Based on the other offerings of Key West, though, I think we would stay there again, but might choose a larger room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank goodcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,637 - 6,643 of 7,453 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Casa Marina Resort for two nights and we had such a wonderful time! The hotel is absolutely beautiful, we could have stayed there forever. Our room was great (and we got an upgrade to one of the ocean vista rooms), the Pools are wonderful, we loved the hammocks at the beach and the complimentary fruits and popsickles they had every day. The service was outstanding, everybody was helpful, friendly and almost like a best friend - from front desk to concierge and servers to the chef at the pool. We had the breakfast buffet on both mornings and liked it a lot while sitting outside and enjoying the resorts great atmosphere. We also had the best burgers ever, ordered and made by the chef in the restaurant right next to the Pool.

If you want to do something truly romantic - ask for the tables they have at night right at the pier, with some candles and right next to the ocean.


The only thing I have to complain about is the job housekeeping does which is definitely not the best one. When we checked into the first room the bathroom was not done at all which was not a big deal since we got another room one right away and something like that happens, but in the other room were so many little things which should not happen: there were fingerprints all over the desk and the windows, there was some stuff on the bathroom door I do not want to describe in detail, there was mold in the shower although everything is so new, and the wooden floor they have in the room had footsteps all over and we also found three long black hairs in the bed. It was not too bad, but it was simply not perfect for a resort like that.


But otherwise I would highly recommend the Casa Marina Resort to everybody who is looking for a quiet, beautiful hotel in Key West with a special atmosphere and great service. We had a great time and will be back one day. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travel_jane08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We spent four nights at the Casa and once again had a wonderful time. had stayed there before when it was owned by Wyndam and love the remodeling that has taken place since then. Staff were all great and friendly. Breakfast buffet had variety but was a little pricey. Preferred walking to cuban carryout/restaurant down the way. didn't care much for the strange half shower door, but we had no water on the floor, just kind of wierd. Loved the pools, beach and piers. Our beach staff were very friendly and accomodating. brought out popsicles and watermelon daily. The hotel needs to have a restaurant though instead of only the outside SunSun for food. Half hour walk to Mallory Square was fine-hot and sweaty-just like Key West is supposed to be! will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swoop56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Totally renovated ultra modern from classical beauty. $20.00 to Valet and $12.00 to self park. No drawers in the rooms. People very good

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stanleyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We spent five nights at the Casa Marina in late July/ early August 2008. Had some difficulty with the 800 reservation service when we wanted to add an extra night to the beginning of our stay the weekend before we flew down (they redid our entire reservation at current/higher rates than we had booked several weeks prior), but all was resolved/reinstated to our satisfaction when we worked directly with the hotel's Rooms Control office on Monday morning. The hotel was very accommodating to our request for an oceanview room with two double beds (as opposed to one king) and later than expected arrival due to flight delays. Had a minor issue with the room not having been properly vacuumed upon our arrival, but the front desk handled promptly and satisfactorily, including compensation of the resort fee for that night (and then an additional night when the resort fee removal was not reflected on our bill at checkout). Housekeeping throughout the rest of the stay was without problems. In the end, these few minor bumps were far surpassed by the beautiful surroundings, private beach, two pools, beach/pool concierge extras (ice water, sample drinks, popsicles, watermelon slices, and cold towels), and in-house dining at the Sun Sun Bar & Grill. We enjoyed several meals at the Sun Sun--lunch every day of our stay and dinner three nights of our stay (one at a private table set up on the beach). Everything that we ate was excellent and far exceeded other meals that we ate outside the resort. But, what stood out the most was the service provided by all of the Sun Sun staff and, in particular, by Joshua. Whether serving us at the grill itself (conveniently located between both pools and sides of the beach) or beachside/poolside in our lounge chairs, Joshua ensured that we wanted for nothing and that absolutely nothing was a problem. In addition, he made us feel welcome, learned a bit about us and what we wanted out of our visit, answered questions without ever making us feel like we were a bother, and offered suggestions/ideas for our consideration. You can view photos of a resort on its web site and have a very good idea about what the place is going to look like. However, web site photos cannot attest to the service that you'll receive and the manner in which you'll be treated once at the resort. In the case of the Casa Marina, I can't say enough about the staff's friendliness and outstanding service. Without a doubt, it was the service provided by the staff in addition to the beautiful surroundings and accommodations that made for a truly relaxing and refreshing vacation. Looking forward to returning and highly recommend it to all looking to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicki00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Casa for four nights at the start of June, which cost $1,100 / £570 for an 'Island Vista Room' direct through the website. If you are looking at booking a room here, consider getting this type, as it is spacious, light and with a good view of the beach - worth the extra money.

We loved the Casa and Key West so much that we wanted to cancel our stay in Islamorada and have 2 more nights at the Casa - but because of Pride, all the rooms were booked! Something to bear in mind if you plan to go in June.

Pros:
In our opinion, the Casa looks even more stunning in reality than it does on the website. The beach, while narrow, is deceptively long - we didn't realise until the last day that there is a private exit at one end that saves you walking around the streets to get to the central areas. It may have been the time of year, but it wasn't too busy either. There were pool attendants who bought complimentary refreshments to us while we lay on the beach; which we were not expecting.

The staff were very polite and helpful, but not false. The valets seemed genuinely friendly and had a long discussion with us about us being English and telling us various stories about themselves. They provided a warm welcome to Key West!

The hotel and the rooms were modern and clean. The iPod dock was a god-send.

Our last night was a Friday, and we did find that there were a lot more families with children on Saturday morning, which is to be expected! During the week, it was reasonably quiet - but not too much so. We even went swimming at midnight when the pool was empty and although staff were around, nobody told us not to; unlike other hotels I have experienced!

Cons:
It was a little difficult to find our room and the concierge gave us the wrong directions twice.

When we got to our room, the maids were taking a little break on the sofa watching the TV, having a good old chat!! While we thought it was funny and had a laugh with them about it; other people might not have the same sense of humour!

There wasn't really much of a bar or restaurant inside the hotel - it was all outside. But then, I guess that's where you want to be, anyway!

The main drawback of the Casa is the location. If you plan a quiet couples' holiday, and want to rent a bike or scooter, and just take it very easy, then the Casa would be perfect for you. If you plan to spend a lot of time in town, or around Duval, you'll probably find that it is a little far out. The closest end of Duval Street is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel; but it's the far end that has the good venues - i.e. Captain Tony's. So we often caught a cab, because walking for half an hour in the midday sun was pretty unbearable! (Ermm.... yes, we did start drinking at lunch time....)

Nevertheless, we would definitely, definitely stay in the Casa again. It is a brilliant hotel, with a very welcoming, relaxed atmosphere and modern, comfortable rooms. You will be hard pressed to find another hotel of this standard on the island; since many are quite traditional and... dare I say it.... dated (!) in style!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank emmie2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

The Casa Marina Resort is a lovely hotel with wonderful Spanish architecture that was recently refurbished, so you'll find many modern touches throughout the resort and in your room. Casa Marina has 2 medium sized pools and it has its own private beach, which is mostly covered by sea grass and rocks, but that is the case in most Florida keys beaches. You can sign up for a variety of water activities and tours right at the hotel. Breakfast was good but not outstanding and selection limited, especially when it costs about $20 per person. We had a couple Mai Tais at the pool bar and they were just fruity, somewhat watery, with no significant amount of alcohol present and overpriced at about $9 each. The hotel is about 2 miles from Duval St. There is valet parking and self parking across the street for a fee.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Abel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $348 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing