We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and pretty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over Christmas in 2012. I have stayed at a lot of 5 star resorts. Although this place had its assets there was a lack of attention to detail that I felt was sad given the reputation of the chain. The room we had was booked very last minute so it was a small corner room. It was nicely furnished and clean even though it was triangle shaped. The room and hallways were so quiet you could hear a pin drop - a big plus as far as I'm concerned. The hallways themselves were a bit worn and in need of an update - the carpet was pretty faded and dirty in many places - something I have seen at a number of "beach" type resorts. Not a big detractor.
As far as lack of detail I am specifically referring to the fact that the tables around the pool were never cleared or wiped off - each time I went out I had to clean up other's cups, papers and cigarette butts. Tables were often sticky. Also - this is a seaside location but the presence of bird excrement on walkways and walls/dividers was a bit unseemly. It's a 5 star resort - someone should be cleaning that stuff off daily if not twice a day.
Overall I do think this was a nice place and would stay there again. It was a convenient walk or bike ride to the local attractions, the rooms were clean, and the place was quiet (and I am told was booked to capacity when we were there).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,056 - 4,062 of 7,387 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice lobby, stunning views from the pools out to the beach. Service was flawless. They upgraded us, room was ready early. They also worked with us on late check out as we had an event planned. We had the breakfast buffet which was fantastic. Very good location, very nice pools.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zigfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The resort is great, the location is great, the pools are awesome, the service was awesome. I read some of the bad reviews before my trip, just got back and what did I learn? Some people just live to complain.

If you're thinking about going here, GO!

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean front for best views, but that's pretty obvious. Eat at Louis Backyard, deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this property. The service was phenomenal - from the moment we arrived. The bell stand staff and front desk staff were great. The lobby is gorgeous! When we walked out to go to our room, the view stopped us in our tracks! It is amazing! The room is average, but when in Key West, you should not be spending much time in the room.

We arrived around 4:00 on a Friday and as soon as we got to our room, we changed and headed down to the beach. We were immediately greeted by an attendant who set up chairs and an umbrella for us. He also shared the ameneties available and had drinks brought over. We took a dip in the ocean and when we came back to our chairs, there were cool towels with eucalyptus oil on them to help cool off. What a treat! The following day, they also brought a small complimentary drink around as well as popsicles in the afternoon.

We we treated amazingly all the way around and didn't want to leave. The hammocks are inviting and definitely make you not want to ever leave!

Check out was simple as well. The location is great and we walked to Southernmost Point fairly easily.

I definitely recommend this hotel and will most definitely stay here again when visiting Key West.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SDRivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night although should have visited for longer as the hotel and Key West itself are too lovely to only pay a fleeting visit! On check-in we'd been alloctated a twin room by expedia, although the gentleman on the desk changed that to a king room with no problem. The room was lovely, not huge but we didn't need it to be, we had a view of the carpark but they would probably have been able to change it if it had been an issue. The wooden floors could have done with a bit more attention as after showering, my clean feet quickly had dust and hairs on them! Other than that, the room was perfect for a short stay. The pool and beach area were idyllic and the staff were on hand to sort out beach loungers, chairs and hammocks! The poolside cafe offers excellent lunches. The hotel is a ten minute walk from Duvall St; the liveliest part of town which features plenty of bars, restaurants and boutique shops - leave time to explore these! Would recommend the Sunset Culinaire sunset boat cruise and dinner which you can book in advance through Key West's tourism website. We're only sorry we were only there for one night but hope to return in future!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetheelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back and we enjoyed this hotel very much. The staff was very helpful, atttentive, and friendly. As in any top notch hotel, drinks and food are pricey. The food at the hotel was good (not great) we enjoyed the lunch menu more than the dinner menu, breakfast was average. I highly recommend the sunset cruise (well worth the money) The boat staff was friendly and attentive. The Jet Ski tour of the island was fun, although it takes a little while to get the hang of driving the ski (the ski staff was very safety conscious and helpful). The couples massage on the beach is the way to go. Like all other resorts we found a little tipping goes a long way. I look forward to visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnny_PipH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We only stayed here for one night because we thought driving to Key West and back from Miami in a day would be too much, and it was a good decision. If we had more time we definitely would have stayed longer. This is definitely a resort-like hotel which will appeal to couples and families alike.

A little about the hotel:

If your driving a rental from the mainland, parking will cost you $20 to self park, but the extra $5 for valet with in-out privileges is well worth it.

The long lobby is very elegant and has a country club feel to it. Our 6 year old daughter loved the water dispenser in the lobby which had lemon "infused" water. All of the service people we encountered were exceptionally friendly.

The main courtyard is beautiful and has two pools on either side of a central walkway. A lot of attention is given to landscaping around this area. We noticed that families with kids would gravitate towards one of the pools although there was no rule as to which pool families should use. The courtyard has plenty of staff working the bar, restaurant and pool deck to ensure that everyone was well looked after and the staff were all friendly and casual.

Right next to the pool is the hotel's exclusive beach, however like most beaches in Key West, it is mostly exposed rock, so water shoes are almost a must, and at high tide one should use the stairs to enter the ocean.

Our room was typical "Hilton". Very new, modern and stylish. It was a little on the small side, but no complaints. The in-room coffee was great. The hallways were a little tired looking and seemed a bit musty from the recent rainy weather.

Buffet breakfast, was "reasonably priced" for a Hilton hotel, very good food choices and quality, and you could eat in the court yard area, basically next to the pool and ocean. A breakfast package is available with rooms and highly recommended unless you want to venture into town early in the morning. Although we didn't eat supper at the hotel, the restaurant looked very nice and there may even be an option to sit out in the court yard for supper?

Overall, for travelers familiar with the Hilton/Waldorf brand, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a city view room for one night. It's not a bad view (palm trees, one story residenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank behgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $315 - $772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing