We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“casa marina” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“casa marina”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Overall this was a nice hotel. 1.My major complaint is we had a old bathtube and showercutain, if your room doesn't have both it should come with a nice shower with glass doors bathtubs and showercurtains are from the eighties. 2. They have no real spa, when my wife and i went to get a couple massage it was in a regular hotel room in all my years of travel i never experince that before

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aepple_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Aepple_01,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid review of our restroom appointment and we will use your comments as we look towards future improvements. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit the area so we may show you the quality accommodations you expect from our brand.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,352
    1,680
    966
    504
    345
See reviews for
1,807
3,187
94
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good service. Well kept grounds. Dangerous outdoor steps on second floor walkway. Beware. Nice property altogether. Nothing like the Waldorf in Manhattan. Just a very nice Hilton. Convenient excursions were a selling point.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The only down side to this fabulous hotel is it's distance from town, although a taxi at about $6.50 did the trip in about six or eight minutes. On the other hand, the noise around Duvall Street is never heard; thank God. The Casa lives up to its AAA four stars in every way. Perhaps its best feature is its location facing due south for maximum sun, something most tourists want in the winter. There are no good beaches on Key West, but the Casa has loaded in plenty for sunning on their lounge chairs at the rocky shore's edge. Furhtermore, they have a short pier running out with stairs at the end from which swimming is wonderful in only four to five feet of water. Staff is always courteous and on-the-ball. A bellman will appear at your door before you hang up the phone. The buffet breakfast is pricy but worth it. Pool is large and inviting. Be sure to make a dinner reservation at least three days in adavance for the superb Louie's Backyard, just steps away, gushing with charm, and directly on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but suites are worth the price. And worth another jump in price to stay in one that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rchard PB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just came back from 3 days at Casa Marina..was a little apprehensive based on some of the reviews but everything was perfect. The outside was just as beautiful as expected and we took full advantage of the pools, beach and of course the hammocks. While it was not huge and the bathroom was a little small, our room was a little larger than I expected and my only complaint was the small TV, otherwise everything was great. I mentioned we were celebrating and Anniversary and they sent up a bottle of Champagne (very nice touch!). Also rented bikes and got to sit outside by the firepit at night..Great location to get away from the hustle and bustle of Duval, but close enough to come and go...You will pay the price, but overall a great place to stay in Key West

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

A lovely resort hotel not too far from the more charming end of Duval Street with a great gym, private beach and two pools. A tad expensive but then you are staying in a wonderful romantic building from the 1920s which is beautifully maintained.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitchenwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel as one would expect being a Waldorf Astoria. We were staying at the sister hotel, The Reach, about a block away. Both hotels advertise a 'spa' based out of the Casa Marina. They charge top dollar for a 50 min massage ($125) and offer the massage either on the beach or in the spa. Given the outdoor temps were chilly in the 60s, my wife and I elected to have a couples massage indoors. The front desk directed us to the spa located in 'suite 1001'. Walking around the property, we quickly discovered the spa was nothing more than a converted basic hotel room on the ground floor...well off the beaten path and poorly marked. Stepping inside the 'spa' was your typical bathroom to the left and a small foyer with a table. The check in area. Passing through some hanging beads, you end up in the small hotel room that has two massage tables instead of full beds. The room was cramped and underwhelming. Having committed to the 24hr no refund cancellation policy, we went ahead with our massages. Unfortunately the massage quality wasn't much better than the proposed spa itself. They squirt you with ice cold oil and then rub it around to warm it up. If your idea of a good massage is being in a tiny converted hotel room getting iced down with cold oil, this is the place for you. During the massage, the next victims, eh...guests, came to check in for their massage about 15 minutes before ours were over. Given that the check-in table was on the other side of some hanging beads, our massages were interrupted with knocking on the door and the intrusion of guests (innocent on their part) in the room while we were mostly nude on the massage tables.

Really a bummer of an experience, particularly when I look back at my credit card statement.

Save you money or go to one of the real spa studios on the island.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank spearfish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Spearfish 25,

We appreciate that you gave our spa treatment a chance and I regret your disappointment. We promise our guests a singular Waldorf luxury experience and will use your comments to ensure we never fall short in satisfying our guests. I sincerely appreciate your feedback, and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am just getting around to writing this review as we stayed at the property for a week last July and have rebooked a stay this year. Everything about the trip was fanatstic! We had a beautiful ocean view room that was very spacious. The grounds are beautiful as are the 2 swimming pools on the ocean. Service around the pool is outstanding with servers rushing around delivering cocktails, lunch and frozen cloths to cool you off. (try the frozen Pina Coldas made the real way) All of the service at the property was world class in every way. We loved being able to bring the pooch and he had a great time as well. The property is housed in a beautiful historic mediterranean style building that I am guessing some of the guests don't get. Great eclectic and sophisticated group of guests including europeans and gay people. Close to the action with tons of fabulous restaurants and shops nearby. This is on my A list!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannahone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing