We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Marina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Casa Marina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Casa Marina over Thanksgiving break, 2012. Casa Marina is a pretty, elegant hotel that is well situated, only two walking blocks to Duval Street. The grounds are atractively laid out and the two pools, one on each side of the walkway, are well situated. There is a beach, but it's really only suitable for sunning yourself, the beach is rocky and the water is very shallow. Staff is professional and courteous. Concierge personnel are helpful and willing tto help you make reservations. It is a very nice place to stay, but it falls short of being an amazing experience. Prices for food, sundries, etc. are very high and that discouraged us from eating on the propety, even though the food is really good. Also, maybe because it was off season, there was very little energy or enthusiasm. It was like vacationing in a resort where no noise or fun was allowed. Our rooms were free because we used my HH points, but if I had to pay for them out of pocket I am not sure it's the best value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcdean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,389
    1,696
    984
    512
    355
See reviews for
1,845
3,226
94
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, nice setting, views are really pretty, but for the price I paid to stay here, I expected better service and accomodations. We had ants in our bathroom, the couch in our suite smelled like mildew, and the refrigerator wasn't stocked. My wife and I ate Sunday breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and our food took nearly an hour to get to our table. The explanation was that they ran out of Bernaise sauce for the eggs benedict and had to make some more...who runs out of Bernaise sauce at Sunday Brunch? The Holiday Inn maybe, but I just expected better in general from a Waldorf Astoria property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uber_daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Let me start off by saying we love Key West and try to get down there at least once a year. Last year we stayed at the Pier House and loved it but wanted to try the "quiet side" of the island. The Casa is a gorgeous hotel and fully lived up to our expectations in this regard. We also found the service to be wonderful, our pool service guy Andrew was exceptional and everyone was very friendly. We had an ocean vista room on the first floor with easy access to the beach and pool and a lovely view. The room was well appointed and layed out well. Here comes our biggest issue though, THE WALLS ARE PAPER THIN. Our upstairs neighbor sounded like a classroom of school children shifting their metal chairs on a tile floor. I swear to god it sounded like they were just pushing furniture around the room. When the clean up crews re arrange the chairs on the balconies you get the same LOUD metal on tile grinding noise. There is also something about the bathroom vents where at some points you think there is someone else in the bathroom with you since you can hear them so clearly. We eventually cranked up some white noise on our iphones to try and kill this daily furniture noise. It is frustrating because we loved the hotel but probably won't go back becuase of this and can't think of a fix that wasn't a total overhall. The other thing to consider when staying here is that it is very far from the Harbor and the action on Duval, something we were well aware of going in. Having stayed at the Pier House and Casa Marina we would go back to the Pier House based on location alone. We are guessing that the Hyatt next to the Pier House might be ideal. While we rented bikes and road to the action everyday it is very nice to walk a block or two from your hotel and grab a dozen oysters for $6 or 2 for one beers during happy hour and you just can't do that from the Casa. All in all the Casa is an incredible hotel with the best beach and serivce in Key West but that wasn't enough to compensate for the room noise, and being a 30+ min walk, 10 min bike ride or 10 dollar cab fare away from the fun.

Room Tip: You need an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, OHIO
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was my first experience staying at a Waldorf Astoria. The room was booked using HHilton Rewards points. I felt that the entire staff was very professional, courteous, and a true pleasure. We enjoyed 2 meals while on property which were both breakfast. You can order the buffet or off of the menu. We ordered off of the menu both times. Unless you are very hungry or want to just over do it, ordering off the menu is the way to go. The portions were very generous and I do not think they had Lobster Fritattas on the buffet. On my birthday, they were kind enough to throw in a key lime pie to go along with the breakfast. Not a bad way to start the day. The room was found to be clean but a tad bit small. Not really a complaint but more of an observation. The turndown service kept us stocked with plenty of bottled water. I would certainly stay here again when I return to Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuke38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I just spent a very relaxing week at the Casa Marina. Our first impression was of the beautiful grounds, pool and beach area. The front desk staff was very helpful and Steve and Marie were great in assisting us with a room upgrade on our second day. The first room we were given was in the main building and was lovely with an ocean view but no balcony or windows that opened to allow us to enjoy the ocean breezes. The second room was in an addition to the main building and had a balcony and it was lovely to be able to hear the waves crashing at night as we drifted off to sleep (although the main building is more beautiful). The room was on the 4th floor and was clean and spacious enough but the water pressure in the shower was a bit weak. Also, there was a strange smell in the hallway which may have been coming from the ice machine. The housekeeping staff was excellent though - our room was cleaned at least twice a day.
The pool and beach areas were gorgeous and the staff was great. Walter was especially awesome setting up beach chairs, umbrellas and a table each day. He even created a pillow on our chairs using a towel and knew where we would like to be set up and would have everything all arranged by the time we got down to the beach each day. Thank you Walter!!
Gergana was also great. She served us our cocktails on the beach and on one really hot day she even brought us some water without our requesting it which was very thoughtful. We never wanted to leave.
The food is hit or miss. Breakfast in the morning was fine. We ordered off the menu (not from the buffet) and while the food was good it wasn't always very hot. We ate dinner twice. The first time we ate outside at Sun Sun and had Eric as our server. He was very friendly and attentive and as it was our first night he gave us some tips as to what to see and do while in Key West. The food this night was delicious. The second time we ate inside (as it was a chilly night) and we ordered almost the exact same meal (conch chowder and grilled NY strip steak) and the food was not very hot.
There is a spa at the hotel but it there are no steam rooms or other facilities usually associated with a resort hotel. You have your choice of massages on the beach or in a suite in the hotel. My husband and I both had great Swedish massages by Judith and Livia. I still feel relaxed almost a week later. They were fantastic.
Overall we loved the hotel (especially the beautiful grounds) and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocobytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Casa Marina, a hotel with a tradition is located at the quiet end of Key West, a short taxi ride away from noisy Duval Street and/or the airport. On-site self parking is available for $20/valet $25.
Check-in was swift and in no time were we in our spacious, ocean fronting fourth floor room #430 in the west wing. The room with a balcony overlooking the grounds and the beach was well furnished with a comfortable king bed. A connecting door to the adjacent room did little to muffle the conversations in the next room. Self-closing doors slam with a bang, with maids being the worst offenders going in and out while making up rooms. Equally, dragging heavy wood furniture and balcony chairs over stone floors made for annoying scraping noises.

Putting Waldorf Astoria on the marquis of this hotel gives rise to expectations which definitely are not being met. Approaching our room we could not help but notice the plywood door delaminating in the lower part with paint peeling off. Opening the door we were faced with the most unsightly rusted metal door frame. Staff imported from eastern Europe while young and pretty appears to receive little training. The lobby bar attendant is an example of that, even if her life depended on it, she could not tell a Scotch/Irish whiskey from a Bourbon. Room servicing was equally spotty, one day our room was not serviced until well past four pm, and just about every day the maid forgot to replenish something such a hand towel, wash cloth, empty tissue box.

Excepting breakfast served on the patio, the indoor hotel restaurant is no longer in service. There is an open sided pool/beach restaurant. Romantics braving the constant breeze can have a candle light dinner on the sand.

What makes this hotel after all is its vast waterfront backyard with man made white sand beach and two pools. Pool deck attendants Austin and Con willingly and with a smile set up beach launches and shade umbrellas at one's favorite spot by the pool or on the beach.. Those two are a bright spot in the staff line-up of this hotel. The area is vast and even at 80% occupancy it is not crowded, leaving one plenty of breathing space.

In summary, while not perfect in many ways and at over $400 per night overpriced for what is offered, it is still a great spot to get some winter sun for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

and each January when we arrive in Key West at the Casa Marina and Patrick greets us by name as we enter the lobby we know we are at our Key West Castle. Patrick confrims our favorite room is ready,(just the best room in the Castle Marina, a secret Patrick knows) and we are wisked away to ready ourselves for the pool where Andrew always knows I want a second Jollyrancher popsice and the Blond Brandie is more than handy with the frozen towels. Morning greets us with friendly server's from all over the world who are really really good because they follow the Waldorf "Standard" of Dione "the Grand Dame" of the Casa. Do not miss the olmetts of the best egg man in town, "Brandon", he can make the best olmett in the world with everything in it but the kitchen sink. Beach time and Bearfoot Billys guys take care of everything and John has our jet ski's ready for our trip around the Island. There is know way to mention every name at the Casa Marina we just really love this place. Then there is our week in Key West, the Duck boat tour and Dinner at the Cafe Marquesa where the Key Lime Napoleon tries to float off the plate (one of two things I'd miss a flight for, the other... Wed's noon at El Siboney the lima bean soup) Salute on the beach(lunch), the Half Raw Oyster Bar, Franco's Deli, El Siboney for the paella, you have to go to Fausto's for a sandwich and while on Flemming street the men's clothing store Assortment is one of the best in all our travels. Assortment has just that special something you will never find anywhere else. BUT this a review of our January Castle in Key West our home away from home Casa Marina. Each year you never fail to give us five star treatment with the BEST STAFF in all of our travels. See you next year Patrick, and all the staff, dessert at the Marquesa is on us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing