We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Key West
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Casa Marina. We had a lovely room with a balcony looking over the beach and the pool area. The room was lovely and was nice decorated with very comfortable beds. The free safe, dressing gowns, fridge and nespresso maker were all nice touches. The beach and pools were lovely although the pools were a little busy as it was still the school holidays. As part of our booking through Virgin the $25 resort fee was paid for in our package but as were out and about exploring most days we didn't get the benefit of this. We did get an enormous ice lolly one day while lying on the beach and a frozen flannel another day which was wonderful to counter act the heat of the day. There was plenty of free parking in the street alongside the hotel so we didn't need to pay for valet or the hotel car park. We hardly touched the car as all the sights were walkable. We didn't eat at the hotel but walked to Duval Street and surrounds for a huge range of restaurants. It was about a 25 min walk to get to the busier parts of Duval Street which was great for working up an appetite.
It was definitely cheaper to eat and drink elsewhere. However there was a little shop on site that sold coffee and muffins and pretzels and crisps for if you just wanted a little snack.
A more expensive place to stay but I think with the rooms with the views, the private beach, private pier and pools, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,253
    1,612
    912
    466
    311
See reviews for
1,708
3,055
88
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our recent trip to Key West and I have to say I'm a little disappointed. We were looking for something a little more luxurious and instead felt nickel and dimed for everything, from parking ($20) to breakfast ($25 for some bagels and drinks) to the "resort fee" ($25 for amenities we didn't even use.)

There was nothing really luxurious about our traditional room, either. It's a step up from your average hotel room, but nothing amazing. No balcony and street/parking lot view. Snowy nonHD TV with few channels (the sound suddenly cut off at 11pm - hotel 'feature' or someone complained? not sure, but we were never advised and didn't have it on too loud.) Small bathroom. Late check in (4pm) though they did let us check in a little early. Rocky, murky beach - it shouldn't even be called a beach. It's a very rocky shoreline with some white sand and beach chairs for tanning only. It's also a little far from the action with nothing very interesting close by.

To be fair, the good:
Friendly staff
Nice lobby, patio, and pool areas
Clean room
We had a coffee pot, water, and small fridge - but I didn't make any coffee for fear of being charged.


Overall not a bad hotel room, it's just really overpriced for what it is especially compared to cheaper hotels elsewhere that are more inclusive. Not the best value - next time I'll stay somewhere else and wouldn't recommend it to friends/family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrawberryFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear StrawberryFL,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. We strive to provide personalized experiences for each of our guests, and are always actively looking for ways keep costs fair while offering the finest in luxury accommodations and service. Your review lets us know we need to reassess guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to share with you our commitment to satisfaction in all areas of the guest experience.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ok, I am a bit of a snob when it comes to travel. I love a deal anytime but I need to be sleep in luxury. The WA delivered it. Although we ate our meals in town it was so nice to come "home" to the WA. It was so nice to have staff everywhere. I loved the beach service. I need to thank Andrew & Brandie for making sure we were comfortable everyday. They both made incredible recommendations, made sure our "spot" on the beach was there for us. Both Andrew & Brandie made our vaca special by making us feel special. Laura

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukejojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband, sister, and brother in law, and I all booked a last minute vacation to escape the winter blues. Casa Marina was the perfect choice to transport us to instant paradise. Felt like we were in the Caribbean. The grounds, pools, and beach were gorgeous. Beautiful interior design. And above all the staff was very friendly, specifically we were lucky to get taken care of by a top notch pool crew of Andrew and Brandie...their energy made it obvious they loved their jobs and made us feel right at home in paradise. We will be back!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alijster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Casa Marina for 3 days, on Sep 2012. This resort is so lovely, staff is so kind, private beach is soo nice, that I am looking forward to come back soon.The location is very good, nearby all restaurants. You can go for a bike ride easily.

Room Tip: Ocean View is amazing. Just in front of the beach. I don' t suggest any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here Jan 5-7th and very pleased I didn't spend money but used Hilton Honey points. When I entered the room the hotel had an envelope for another guest. I called the front desk and asked if I had been placed in an incorrect room. They said, "no, we apologize and throw away the envelope." The room smelled mildewy and probably why someone refused to be in it. The room was nothing special. We opted to have breakfast the next morning at the hotel restaurant and waited 10-15 minutes to be met. Smoking is allowed outside and really a downer for those that don't appreciate. I purchased a "bottomless" bloody mary and didn't discover that until after I paid the bill.

The bathroom floor still contained hair from the previous guest or guests.

The beach and pool were nice. But food and drink are over-priced for what you receive. That service is outsourced and not managed by the hotel. You have to chase the service staff if you're in need of food or drink. But apparently, they offer "free water" and afternoon treats. While on the beach from 1030am - 430pm, didn't see any of that.

Can't imagine spending my hard earned money to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't. Save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Karen d,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for feedback regarding your recent visit to Casa Marina Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great food, great service, and a fun, relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of food quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results.

We have shared your feedback with our operating teams helping them identify specific service breakdowns. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved. We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Do not waste you time or money on this hotel, from entering the door it was a let down. Our expectations were high when considering the reputation of the Waldorf however that term should not be used with this hotel. We were greeted by a disrespectful and non caring staff with an even worse room. We paid premium dollars for a below standard room. We booked a suite and were given a closet. The side building we were put in looked and felt like a motel in which you walk through the pool area to get to your room. The room was dirty, coffee machine did not work and to beat all we had to buy our on toilette paper, never again. We visited the hotel for our 30th Wedding anniversary and were very sad we picked the quote “resort”. We planned on the weekend stayed one day and that was one day to long. This was the worst hotel and staff that we have ever stayed in and we have traveled all over the world. Very sad to see a beautiful icon such as this treated in this manner.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel, the staff do not care we were treated like a number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 071157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear 071157,

We appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Casa Marina Resort. If you would like to discuss your stay please contact me at steven.tresh@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service. We have shared your feedback in regards to your expectations of Waldorf Astoria Resorts with our management team. It is the feedback of guests such as you that assist us in the training of associates.

Kind Regards,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing