We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Grounds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stopped by because we were staying at the Reach and had access to the facilities here at Casa Marina also. We did not check it out until the day that we were leaving but were so glad that we stopped by before heading back home. The grounds are gorgeous. We stopped at the beach bar for a cold refreshment and were surprised to see John, Ricardo and Patrick working on the beach here too! They have beautiful firepits with comfortable seating around them on the beach. When we come back next year we are going to come in the evening to sit by the fire pit. They serve nice drink samples on the beach too, really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,355
    1,681
    967
    504
    346
See reviews for
1,810
3,189
94
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Get better help at the outdoor bar and restaurant. I am on vacation when I go there and think the staff should do their best to help me and everyone else there have nothing but a great time. The younger wait staff was excellent but the older women who worked in each of these venues were indifferent (restaurant) and rude (bar)-- both outside. Otherwise, all other staff were great and the hotel itself is lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights for a family break. It was very relaxing and the hotel beach and location were better than I expected. The views of sunrise and sunset were sensational and the beach was gorgeous. Plenty of beach chairs and attentive staff. We were far enough from the crush of Duvall Street to avoid it if we wanted but near enough to enjoy the restaurants, shops and attractions. We rented bikes at the hotel and would bike around town during the day.
The hotel was very nice and our ocean vista suite was comfortable with plenty of space for the five of us. Breakfasts and the pool bar had wonderful servers and food. The staff was friendly and always helpful. Everything throughout the hotel was exceptionally clean and new.
I was happy to sit on the beach each day. The staff was always willing to make sure I had everything I ever needed.
It was a perfect break and a wonderful setting.

Room Tip: Oceanvista suite was situated right on the beach with a wonderful view of sunrise. No noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Casa Marina offers a quiet relaxing atmosphere in Key West. The hotel staff was excellent and our room was well appointed and included a large balcony overlooking the resort. We used Hilton points for our stay, which was fortunate, as the rates are a little above average in price. The walk into town is quite pleasant, but approximately 1.5 miles. Bicycling is an excellent choice for getting around in Key West, so bring your own or rent one. The oceanfront location of Casa Marina is beautiful, BUT, I would caution anyone that thinks they are getting typical Florida beachfront. When thinking of Key West, you need to think of coral reefs, not long sandy beaches with great waves. That said, they keep the 'beach' area well-maintained and pleasant. The food we enjoyed at Casa Marina was reasonably priced and plentiful. Casa Marina is a charming resort in the delightful and historic city of Key West.

Room Tip: Get a room in the center of the hotel with a large balcony, if you can afford it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent Christmas at the Casa Marina and it was perfect... beautiful private beach (which was great as there's not many of them around) excellent food and drink- especially on Christmas day- the buffet was incredible!, nice pools, very friendly staff, close to southernmost point and Duval Street which is full of restaurants and bars etc (and is in walking distance despite what the taxi/bike taxi people tell you!). I would suggest looking elsewhere for watersports rather than the company on site as you can hire bikes just around the corner for much cheaper as well as rent jet ski's etc- but they still weren't unreasonable. I really cant recommend this hotel highly enough- sophisticated yet relaxed with nice little touches here and there such as sand sculptures, complimentary ice lollies/drink of the day/fruit, coffee machine in the room, beautiful balconies and daily activities such as volley ball and necklace making for kids (or childish adults such as ourselves!)

Room Tip: It is SO worth paying extra/requesting a beach/pool view- its stunning in the evenings with the worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 89DCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can't recommend the Casa Marina highly enough. Although there are some persistent problems (see more below), it is by far the best place to stay on Key West.

The location can't be beat. On the quiet part of the island, it is close to Duval Street and many restaurants. It is an easy walk to the other side of the island, or the cab will take you wherever you want to go.

The service is excellent. Front desk, pool staff, bar staff - all top notch.

Rooms are a decent size. Last year we stayed in a "Grand Ocean Vista" room which was a bit tight but made up for it with a huge balcony. This year we opted for an "Ocean Vista" room, which was a bit larger and had a nice sized balcony facing the ocean.

Some issues that management really should resolve.....
- It seemed that housekeeping was always late. We would be out of the room from 9-4 every day, and sometimes the room would still not be made up by the time we got back.
- Food and drink at the pool are way over priced, even for a Waldorf. Also, it's not that good to begin with. And, if you want a burger, you have to pay extra for any side items, which doesn't seem to make sense.

We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RICVisitor1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited Casa Marina on our honeymoon a couple of years ago and returned now during the Christmas holidays to spend a relaxing break in Key West. Casa Marina was as wonderful as it was the first time. The rooms were spacious and clean, the views over the ocean spectacular. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: I recommend rooms looking over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicroVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing