We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You can do better”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

In short, you are wasting the money booking a reservation here. There are a number of other options around Key West that you would find outstanding for less on TripAdvison. The grounds are very nice, well appointed and well maintained. This hotel used to be a grand dame but now is an austere lobby. They got rid of their wonderful dining room and replaced it with beachside service. It is not even close to reaching that past level of quality. Overall the room are small, the walls where paper-thin and the shower was difficult to adjust. Outside access to rooms are tiled which are very slippery when wet several times a day.

Unlike hotels I normally visit during my travels they charged my credit card two months before arrival to hold the room. I guess they need the money. You are clearly paying for the beach and the view. Keeping in mind, there are public beaches readily accessible in the Key West and you can walk down the street on this island and find a view, there is no need to pay for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear RHBob,

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at Casa Marina. We are very glad you enjoyed the beauty of our well maintained grounds. Your review will be shared with our management team to further improve our resort. If your travels bring you back to Key West, please contact me directly at steven.tresh@waldorfastoria.com so I can personally attend to your accomodations. Possibly to set up alternate dining experience such as our "Toes in the Sand" to enjoy your meal in a more intimate setting on the beach. We really appreciate your stay and would love to see you again.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,505
    1,742
    1,043
    551
    387
See reviews for
1,942
3,371
97
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

They greet you as soon as you pull up. Very helpful staff. Everything was first rate. Very clean. They're also thoughtful, when we sat down for breakfast outside the Strip House with it's gorgeous view, the manager asked a worker to stop trimming the bushes so the noise wouldn't bother us. The breakfast was exceptional! Wish I stayed longer.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view. Rent bikes to go see the sunset, it's a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here for a 4 day weekend and absolutely loved it. Very clean, staff was very attentive, and it was quiet! I would not recommend for children, because I think they would get bored. The views are stunning. They have umbrellas down at the beach for you with lemon water and fresh fruit. Or you can lounge at either of two pools. There's a beautiful ocean view bar where you can have lunch or an afternoon cocktail. The spa offers massage on the beach, and I also took a Saturday morning yoga class on the pier that was delightful. It's a short walk to all the hype of Key West, but a welcome retreat for a relaxing weekend. The only downside I would give this place is the food. The buffet is over priced and there are far better restaurants in town. For a resort hotel, you would expect fresh made breads, and I felt the ingredients were not premium. However, the knive and fork burger is outstanding. Strongly recommend this hotel overall.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms offer a beautiful view with a balcony to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Checked in on a Friday afternoon for two night stay. Booked fine hotels rate and I'm Hilton Gold. I think the hotel was very busy that night with holiday parties and weddings because we got upgraded (happens since have status and booked rack rate), but the room (room 346) was located right next to elevator and across the way from what must have been a housekeeping closet or something.

Friday night the wedding went until about midnight, which was not ideal but we didn't care too much. Went to bed pretty late but first thing in the am we get to wake up to the maids chatting outside our room and truly felt like there was no door on our room, just kept hearing "bring the ice, bring the ice." in between the maids chatting, we hear screaming kids and crying babies waiting for the elevator. wasn't exactly the type of relaxing vacation I had envisioned and there we were up bright and early!

Went down to speak with the manager and he really cared about our situation and helped us find a nicer room that was more quiet and he threw in a balcony. Again, rocky start, nice recovery - really shows how good service can turn a negative into a positive.

There are many other features of this hotel that are exceptional and I don't want one room to overshadow the resorts hundreds of fine qualities. Here those are in summary:

Pros- immaculate architecture, pool service (Popsicle hour!), lots of freebies here and there, fresh cut fruit (free) by the pool in the AM, beach side massage (did it, loved it!), mini fridges NOT stocked with stuff so you can out your own stuff in them saving u money, buffet good not great but good, HAMMOCKs!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (like single handedly turning this review into a 5 star from a 4), fire pits at nights, trolley service to Duval St, much more I'm sure I'm forgetting

Cons- need to be careful with room position relative to weddings, elevators, and house keeping closets! ;), we are a younger couple so hotel located a little far from Duval street for us since that's where the action was at... But maybe not a bad thing honestly.

Room Tip: Avoid room 346! Watch out for elevators and housekeeping closets as sound travels through these roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swift_beaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is an amazingly beautiful hotel that only gets better as you walk out the back towards the Atlantic. The grounds were immaculate. Cannot beat the view. Make sure you get a room with an ocean view. We had a one bedroom suite on the beach. The beach bar cannot be beat, day or night. Great breakfast bar & Sun Sun for lunch was amazing. Only downfall is the bed is not comfortable at all (buy new ones once in a while!!!). We moved the bed to the living room for last two nights so we could hear the water at night & get a cool breeze at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaglerun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was so disappointed that they took that beautiful lobby and turned it into a Marriot Courtyard. It used to be a grand dame but now is an austere lobby. Staff helpful, but not the service it used to be. They got rid of their wonderful dining room and replaced it with beachside service. When we sat down outside and asked the server if shee could get us drinks she said that we would have to go to the bar and order ourselves. We were planning to stay 3 nights but we are checking out after 1st night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonGlasgowKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear MonGlasgowKY,

We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. We will continue to work to ensure our guests find that unique and significant level of service at our hotel. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes, and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work firsthand. .

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubliner
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel... So relaxing, absolute paradise. Without a doubt our best holiday experience yet.

Only thing I could fault is the food and drink is quite over priced... Breakfast is ludicrous at $26 each. But there's local deli's near by if u want to eat somewhere else.

The staff were so nice, especially the people at reception and the concierge who gave us some great advice for our trip. The jet ski tour was great fun.

If you want to unwind, and need to get away this place is perfect... Very romantic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digifunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear digifunk,

Thank you for relaxing in paradise with us. We are glad you could spend your holiday with us. Come back anytime and enjoy a romantic getaway.

Warm Regards,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing