We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, and great location”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a great location for folks interested in being close to Mallory Square and Duval Street without too much night time noise. It is also great for boat enthusiasts since the big marinas are next door and there was always boats going by. I also liked how the hotel catered to adults because there were not many children to be seen at this Hyatt. The facilities are very nice, the rooms are clean, but there were some service hiccups that we weren't too impressed with. Breakfast at the on-site restaurant, Shore, was pretty weak. The whole place was disorganized and we felt like we were being served by people who usually work in other areas of the hotel because there was zero confidence with the servers and they all seemed so frazzled, including the hostesses. we had three breakfasts there and it was always strange -- not very relaxing for us to be in such a frazzled environment. Also we were disappointed on our last day because housekeeping never came to our room. We had been out of the room pretty much from 9am until midnight and housekeeping never came, so when we got back to the room after an evening of partying all we wanted to do was shower but we had to call the front desk and ask for -- and then wait for -- towels. Pretty annoying.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KidFreeToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    602
    217
    88
    54
See reviews for
428
1,242
37
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nesconset, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent three days, three nights here and loved every minute. The location is fabulous - minutes to Duvall, to the square and along the dock. Despite the unseasonably cool weather - even for January - we rented scooters, and took the jet ski tour. We found the staff incredibly helpful, especially the concierge and wait staff. John, our bartender at Blue Mojito, made me an exceptional drink, and was a wonderful conversationist. We are planning to return again this year, and hopefully the weather will be more conducive to water sports and swimming.

Room Tip: rooms with a water view are preferable to looking over rooftops of adjacent buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merri rose r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Merri Rose, thank you for the review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite the chilly January weather. Thank you for your comments on the staff. I will be sure to pass your words along. I look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Arrived to the hotel on a Friday and checked into room 2201. I must say that i was disappointed, i expected better from Hyatt. Check in was curt and not very friendly, i felt like she thought she was doing me a favor?! The room was nothing to brag about and the amenities were sub par (ex., no shower cap). The room was clean upon arrival, but the following days of housekeeping were annoying, having to repeatedly call the front desk to ask for daily replacements of coffee mugs, condiments, bathrobes, hotel toiletries, etc., was exasperating! The room service food was bad, the waffle was cardboard hard (a refund was given), the quesedilla's were basically burnt soft taco's, no minibar, etc. The pool area is quaint and the views of the ocean/gulf were beautiful. The concierge desk was friendly and helpful and the outdoor bar was okay. The turtles and parrot were nice on-site attractions. The location was good with Duval street a few blocks away. Stayed 4 nights. Check out was again also curt and quite stale. I wanted to try something different, but will not be staying here again, not worth the money spent. I will go to the Hilton where i am a diamond member... i should have known better!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WI036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Level Contributor
596 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Hyatt Properties are always top shelf. The level of service at the Hyatt Key West Resort was excellent and made my trip more relaxing and enjoyable. The staff were professional and very friendly. Easy to work with. Highly recommended if you plan a trip to this area. Key West is a great place to relax with family and friends and this property made the experience perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Mark, thank you for the great review! I'm so happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. I will definitely pass on your comments to our staff. Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Champagne when you check in. Friendly staff. Gorgeous modern room and bathroom with comfortable bed. Fantastic location close to everything but in a quieter location. Turtles a nice addition. Only downside would be a smaller pool. We would have stayed more than two nights if we could afforded it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenP382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Kathleen, thank you for the great review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us. I will definitely pass your comments on to our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A short walk to the action on Duval or Mallory Square. Just far enough away for a quiet stay and restfull sleep. The property is wonderful and well maintained. The rooms are spacious and well designed. The only flaw was a heated pool that wasn't heated.

Room Tip: Get on the east side of Building one. There is always shade on your balcony and the view is spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely pass on your comments to our staff, especially regarding the pool. I look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The place looked nice and clean. We had lunch there but did not stay. Food was good, took a little long to arrive. Staff friendly, nice sites, We walked the grounds and they have ponds wehre turtles are placed. Pretty cool. Wanted to stay longerWould be interested in staying there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#19 of 51 in Key West
2,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-6620 (Formerly Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a private retreat at our enticing Hyatt Centric Key West Resort. This luxurious haven is the standard against which all others will be viewed. The art of blending modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting has been perfected at our incredible Key West Florida resort hotel set along the waterfront. Old world architectural touches invoke Hemingway's mystique throughout this intimate island setting. Encounter casually elegant Florida touches, perfectly combined with a world-class spa, a 24-hour fitness center, remarkable cuisine, and modern amenities such as Drybar Buttercup blow dryers and eco-friendly bath products! Explore the best of Key West, including nearby fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, renowned sunsets, and historic Old Town. Allow our comfortably millennial-modern Key West Florida resort hotel to treat you to a new level of sophistication, in a breathtaking locale.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing