We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Decided to take my daughter on a quick mom/daughter vacation prior to her starting school at U. Tampa. We loved your hotel. Beautiful property. The rooms are fantastic. Grounds and pool very nice and my daughter loved your turtle pond. The hotel is near everything you need to get to In Key West. Duvall Street and Mallory Square within a short walk. It's a corp. hotel but it has a true independant feel to it. Love the N.E. Sea home type design of the property. Special thanks to our bellman Rick and Gabby in FO who were awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,444 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked using priceline and got what we thought was a good price for the room. When we got to the hotel we had to pay an additional $20 per night for a "resort fee to cover the cost of towels and water in the room"! We were assigned a very small room by the elevator down a dark hallway. We were at the hotel in the off season, so they could have easily given us a nicer room. It seemed that because we used priceline to book our room, we were considered to be insignificant guest.
The frig in the room is very small compared to the frig in other hotels in which we stayed on this roadtrip. The coffee maker makes one cup at a time. The bath had a nice shower but no tub.
It was easy to walk to anywhere in Old Town from the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sgibeachcomber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarrieFLKeys, Manager at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for taking your personal time in giving us feedback. Guest comments are extremely vital for our business. We are glad you choose us for your vacation and enjoyed the location.

I want to sincerely apologize on behalf of the entire Hyatt Key West management and staff for any inconvenience for the concerns brought up. I assure you we do not assign guest rooms based on the source of the reservation. The rooms are assigned according to availability when you check in, and the room type booked. Regarding the question about the resort fee, I was concerned that this wouldn't have been advertised during the purchase process, so I checked with our third-party reservation vendors to ensure they are advertising this correctly at the time of purchase, and they confirmed they did. I apologize that it was not something you were expecting. I'm sorry that the other amenities mentioned did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer quality amenities, and will be reviewing the standards for these.

In future please do not hesitate to contact us while on property and we will try our best to accommodate or assist you with any concerns. Your business is important to us. We hope to assist you in the near future in our little paradise of Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have visited Key West several times in the last ten years but never stayed at this hotel but wanted to try the spa. We made an appointment for my husband to visit the spa and he had a great therapist (Cheryl). He was so impressed that he suggested I go and have a treatment and Cheryl asked that we ask for her.

Unfortunately, the experience at the concierge desk, where the appointments were made, was one of the worst we have ever experienced in what is supposed to be a top spa. Unlike the previous occasion, the receptionist was surly, not even bothering to greet us when we arrived. She explained that the therapist we wanted was on call and she would need to check her availability for the date we wanted; no problem and we just asked that she contact us to confirm. We did not have a local cell phone, or local phone number, so the receptionist said she couldn't call us back to confirm if Cheryl would be available on the day or time we requested. Strange given that for the previous booking we made we provided an overseas cell phone number and there was no issue. She then suggested that we wait around the hotel until the therapist returned the call which didn't
seem practical given that we didn't know what time she might call back. We then suggested that perhaps she could email us. That proved problematic as she couldn't get the email address correctly so we asked if we could speak to the spa manager to see if we could sort this out.

The manager did arrive and was charming. At the same time, the therapist called and the receptionist managed to get the wrong day when requesting our booking. Not only was she charmless, she was unable to even get any of the information correct from a simple email address to the day we wanted to book. Some basic customer training and comprehension of key information is probably needed as such a simple request really didn't need to be difficult and so unpleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank RMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarrieFLKeys, Manager at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking your personal time in giving us your feedback. Guest comments are extremely important for the success of our business. I understand that you had previously had a great experience with us, and were returning in hopes of an equally relaxing afternoon for yourself as well. I want to sincerely apologize that it did not turn out as you expected.

I understand from your review that you were able to communicate directly with the Spa Manager, and I hope were able to get your needs met following that interaction.

We were disappointed to hear that one of our team members came across as not being helpful, or that you were made to feel as if your needs were not important. I assure you the concern has further been discussed with the spa manager and the individual so we may continue to make every guest experience a memorable one. We pride ourselves on having the most professional and courteous staff, and while we are hopeful that this was not intentional, the fact that it was perceived as such is unfortunate, and we appreciate having the opportunity to learn from the experience. We appreciate your business and hope you take this as an isolated incident. Once again our sincere apologies as we hope to assist you in the very near future in our little paradise of Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We decided to have a small destination wedding in Key West. I planned the wedding site unseen one and a half months prior to our wedding date. I worked with Jillian and Michael from the catering department to plan my wedding. We took care of everything via email and a few phone calls. When I showed up for my Labor Day wedding, everything went flawlessly. The entire staff made us all feel very welcome. The customer service at this Hyatt is top notch. The facility and rooms were very clean and updated and the turtle ponds were very unique. I cannot wait to visit the Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa again. My only complaint was that I had to leave. :)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank JessGarberRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarrieFLKeys, Communications Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking your personal time in giving us your feedback. We are so happy for you and your new fiance! Thank you so much for the kind words about Jillian, Michael, and the rest of the staff. It means a great deal to us to see our guests happy and relaxed. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This property is centrally located with quick access to most anywhere you want to go in Key West. Check in was quick and efficient, and the staff were extremely friendly. The rooms were bright and the bathrooms were quite large. They provide upgrades even before you arrive, which is real customer service. The balconies are spacious, with comfortable chairs. A nice property to visit!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank flalove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarrieFLKeys, Communications Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking your personal time to provide your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and the convenience that our proximity to everything afforded you. If there is anything we can do differently that would warrant a full five stars during future stays, please let us know, as customer feedback is very valuable to us! Best wishes in your continued travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Key West and we are so happy with the choice we made for our stay! From check-in to departure the staff was so very nice and helpful, everyone had a smile! - The location was perfect for us, walking distance to everything you should see, Duval Street, Mallory Square and all the terrific restaurants along the waterfront. Our room was amazing!! Clean, spacious & very comfortable. The free upgrade was fantastic along with the view!! We have decided we will go back soon - and would stay no where else but The Hyatt Resort and Spa!

Room Tip: Building 3 Ocean Front rooms are amazing, might be a little more $$ but definately worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbi-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

When we arrived at Key West and the Hyatt we were greeted by Gabriella, a very professional, warm and funny young woman. The room was very nice, pool area with attentive service, ponds with turtles, great restaurant with excellent food. The chef made a great lunch with fish we caught on a deep sea fishing trip we took (that the Hotel had booked for us).

The best part of our stay was the staff! All of them were warm and friendly and very helpful. Dan and Cassandra who served us breakfast made our day, every day and made our stay unforgetable.

We got married during our stay and the staff sent us champagne in a very personal way! They made everything even more memorable.

Sara and Pete

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
268 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,422 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-6620 (Formerly Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $317 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a private retreat at our enticing Hyatt Centric Key West Resort. This luxurious haven is the standard against which all others will be viewed. The art of blending modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting has been perfected at our incredible Key West Florida resort hotel set along the waterfront. Old world architectural touches invoke Hemingway's mystique throughout this intimate island setting. Encounter casually elegant Florida touches, perfectly combined with a world-class spa, a 24-hour fitness center, remarkable cuisine, and modern amenities such as Drybar Buttercup blow dryers and eco-friendly bath products! Explore the best of Key West, including nearby fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, renowned sunsets, and historic Old Town. Allow our comfortably millennial-modern Key West Florida resort hotel to treat you to a new level of sophistication, in a breathtaking locale.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing