We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Stay/Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Knob Noster, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay/Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt on Front Street for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute! We reserved the cheapest room, which was designated as having a "city view." When we checked-in, we were given a room on the 2nd floor, and I figured we wouldn't see much of anything from the 2nd floor. However, we had a very pleasant surprise as our balcony overlooked one of the turtle pools and we enjoyed watching them--(cheap entertainment). Our room was a huge, tiled corner room with two flat screened TVs and an updated bathroom. It was clean, except for the floor mat the bed was on--I am guessing it is difficult to clean?? We had room service twice and ate at the pool cafe once, which were both decent. The customer service was top-notch: The first day we arrived we noticed we had no coffee for the next morning. The bellman put in our request and a short time later a manager called and apologized for not having any coffee and said that embarrassingly, they had run out and were not expecting a shipment until the next day. Then she offered to have a pot of coffee sent to our room at whatever time we would like. We thought this was exceptional customer service. We also asked to have a higher table for our balcony so we could eat breakfast on the balcony, and a table magically appeared while we were sight-seeing. You can't ask for a better location--a few blocks from Duval St, the boardwalk and Mallory Square. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 2108 overlooks one of the turtle ponds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    520
    183
    72
    41
See reviews for
343
1,062
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Hyatt Key West is magnificent! The staff was pleasant and very professional. The accommodations are lovely and meticulously maintained. Location is superb with private beach yet close to Duval St.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mecasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wonderful hotel. The room was spotless and large with a little balcony overlooking the pool area. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. It is a short wak to Mallory Square and Duval Street. Right on the water and all the amenities are available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnoniaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed there for one night. The room was pretty upscale and was very clean. It was large and the bathroom was gorgeous. It sits right next to the water and it's within a short walking distance to Duval St. and other activities. The service was also very friendly. I highly recommend staying here if cost is not an issue since it's a big on the pricier side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimpleTraveler423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Everything you need in one place, resturant, jet skiis, spa, scooter rental, and everything else is close by. Loved the rooms and the pool. The rates are high though, but the time spent and memories are priceless. Check and call for special rates.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view which comes with direct ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bette2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent service, spacious and comfy rooms, large bathroom, small balcony w/ seaview.
Pool area rather small, esp when holiday will be fully booked. Great location (although no beach at hotel), everything in walking distance. We did not have high expectations but were surprised by the warm hearted spirit and lovely atmosphere of this comfortable resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The restaurant waiter Christopher was unprofessional and argumentative. He served our table a pot of coffee that was cold. I assume it had been filled early and left out for a couple of hours. I asked for another pot of hot coffee. Christopher took our order and my wife asked for apple juice and I requested orange juice with breakfast. Five minutes after we arrived, another couple sat in the table next to us and ordered. To our chagrin, they were served first. I then asked Christopher why they had been served a regular breakfast first and he lied and said we both had arrived at the same time. After serving our breakfast ten minutes later, Christopher did not serve our juices that were part of the breakfast package nor did he provide the requested drinking water for our table. Halfway into our breakfast, he asked us how we were doing. I responded that he had not served us our juices or water and that we no longer desired it. When he brought our check, I noticed that the gratuity had been automatically added to our bill. I was incensed that the Hyatt expected me to pay a tip for bad service. I scratched it out and wrote on the bill the complaints that I have stated here. Christopher's response was that he was going to get the gratuity anyway because it was part of my package deal and then said loudly that I had been rude to him for complaining about his bad service. I am sure that Hyatt will not take any action on this issue, neither by dismissing Christopher nor removing their automatic gratuity from their restaurant bill. I will therefore post this complaint on all the Key West tourist websites regarding bad service at the Hyatt. Dr. Antonio de la Cova

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank delacova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#11 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico with an small intimate beach and within walking distance of prime shops and attractions, Hyatt Key West Resort & Spa is a year-round resort housing 118 spacious rooms. Water activities abound, including parasailing, snorkeling, jet boats and waverunning from the hotel’s marina and sunset cruises and dive trips. An on-site StayFit@Hyatt exercise center, new Jala Spa facility, pool and private sunbathing beach areas and dock provide additional recreation. Bicycle and scooter rentals are also available. The full-service restaurant, SHOR American Seafood Grill, offers indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, while ample meeting space, including an expansive banquet room, make the resort ideal for conferences and destination events. The Blue Mojito Bar & Grill offers light bites, a variety of cocktails and beverages and the best sunset view in town. A $10 million renovationwas completed in Fall 2007 and has brought a fresh and stylish, modern aesthetic to the resort’s classic Key West charm, transforming the property into a “tropical modern” experience through its elegant integration of architecture, interiors and landscapes. Soothing, luminous colors punctuated by bold detailing impart an intimate spa-like quality throughout, supported by organic materials such as porcelain, bamboo, glass tile and stone. Both private and public spaces across the resort have been transformed, including all 118 guestrooms, the lobby, the pool area with three all-new white-canvas spa cabanas and the newly dubbed Blue Mojito Pool Bar & Grill and SHOR American Seafood Grill. The redesign has also introduced the all-new Jala Spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing