We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doing Everything Well in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Doing Everything Well in Key West”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here and found this resort to meet all our needs. Spring break was happening in town but not a bother at the Double Tree. We especially liked the shuttle bus service so no parking hassles or driving after an evening of partying so being in the relative quiet of the East side of the Island was a-ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atrick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,587
    1,186
    445
    169
    129
See reviews for
1,082
1,413
73
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The atmosphere was great. Hotel staff friendly and very professional. The restaurant had excellent food and service. Location of the hotel was quiet which allowed for a relaxed vacation. I went for a 15th year old birthday party that tool place at the Hotel and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ivette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was my first trip to Key West and the hotel made everything so easy for us. We were picked up at the airport by the hotel shuttle and checked in without any problems. The room was great, very clean and was perfect for our stay. The concierge, Penny, scheduled activities for us (parasailing, snorkeling and city tour) and we paid for everything at the hotel. She was very patient and answered all of our questions. She also made suggestions for restaurants. the hotel shuttle picks up in front of the hotel every hour on the hour and makes 3 stops-downtown, butterfly expedition and the beach. It returns every hour to each stop to pick you up and take you back to the hotel, all complimentary. The shuttle drivers were great and very helpful especially Bob, Charles and Luis. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and had everything you could ask for. The shuttle also took us to a restaurant right down the street and picked us up when we were done. They provided towels for us to take snorkeling and parasailing. We would not have had such a great time if the hotel had not made everything so easy for us. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Our room was by the pool and had a balcony--it got a little loud at night because we were there duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton,ma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a seven day stay at this hotel. It was one of our best trips and we travel frequently. On arrival at the airport, we called for the courtesy shuttle van which arrived in about 20 minutes as the shuttle had been on an in-town run. We had a very pleasant wait out side on a bench. The Key West airport is so easy to navigate, anyway-luggage out immediately, etc.
We stayed with Hilton Honors Points. On check-in we were greeted with warm Chocolate Chip Cookies, a trademark, and bottled water and an immediate upgrade to a King sized balcony room with pool view. The balcony was comfortable to fit two Adirondack style chairs and a table. A steel band was playing when we opened the balcony door. How great is that?
We went to sleep nightly with the balcony door open and balmy breezes blowing through the room. Having just arrived from the brutal cold/snow of New England this was most welcome.There were two episodes of noise at night d/t college week revelers, that were attended to immediately when the front desk was called. Actually, I was amazed at how sedate the college kids were given the hyped reports of college week vacations in Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, etc. my husband, a light sleeper, did close the door at that point, but the wonderful effect of that great weather was not lost.
On check-in, we were greeted promptly by very courteous staff and I must say that throughout our entire stay the staff could not have been more attentive and responsive. Any request was immediately paid attention. This was true from check in to check-out-waitstaff to housekeeping. The staff is quite international in make-up which gave the hotel a cosmopolitan feel. There was only a slight misunderstanding when I called for two down -free pillows and a very few moments later a housekeeper arrived with two rolls of toilet paper. My husband who speaks French was able to explain what it was that we wanted and the request was immediately fulfilled.
I was somewhat surprised by the above d/t having read some not so glowing reports regarding this hotel, online prior to this trip.
The room was kept immaculately.Buffet breakfast, dailywas included in our Hilton Honors stay. If one tired of the buffet, one could order a la carte from the breakfast menu without additional charges.
We made use of the hotel shuttle daily to go to Smathers Beach a beautiful, sugar sand beach with minimal toilet facilities, and food trucks, but all sorts of watersports available. The sign indicated "* different watersports daily for $79. I did, in fact, note many younger folks try, enjoy, and switch among the activities which included paddle boards, parasails, etc. this can also be arranged with the concierge. Beach towels can be borrowed at the front desk
At the beach, we were entitled to beach lounge chairs by showing our room keys. We did pay $10 daily for a beach umbrella-a small price to pay for the convenience of sun protection.
We took the shuttle to "Old Town"-Sunset Pier, on our own, but another night we also arranged thru concierge for Fury's(company's name) :"Commotion on the Ocean" sunset cruise which was so much fun my husband wanted to return the following night. That cruise was well run with drinks, and appetizers, etc, and altho the drinks were liberal the crowd was very pleasant and had a grand time dancing while the sunset.
Use of the shuttle made the vacation stress free as one did not have to hassle with an auto rental and attempting to find non-existent parking in town. The drivers were very professional, safe, and sometimes entertaining-tips are appreciated,
"Old Town" is fun, but quite noisy and lively, so we felt it a definite advantage to be situated at a hotel where one could take a shuttle to the action, but return to a quiet spot for sleep.
I prevailed upon my husband, who is prejudiced against hotel dining, to stay at the hotel, one night to eat dinner there rather than shuttle into town. We did enjoy the meals of Conch Chowder, Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail, and Mahi-Mahi. I ordered the Coconut Crusted Mahi-mahi- he had the evening special Mahi-mahi, topped with a tropical salsa. Portions were so large,we were too full to order dessert, but enjoyed Margaritas. Again, the staff was very attentive.
The pool area was kept meticulously clean with adequate lounge chairs some of which could be had in more shady areas or cabanas, which we found daily, as most prefer to broil in the sun on vacation. Clean, warm fresh towels were supplied poolside regularly.
Altho, it was college break week, the pool area was very comfortable and not noisy, at all, much to my surprise.
Check-out went very smoothly. We were shuttled to the airport, much to our regret. Our comment to each other was "Next year-two weeks!" .
I devoted so much time to this review b/c I find it very distressing to see businesses were employees and management are working so very hard to please folks, only to be run down in some online reviews.
I did not give more than 4 stars, as in my mind 5 stars are reserved for a hotel that has a gazillion amenities and a price to go with it!!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerrylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A beautiful facility, comfortable rooms and a very friendly and helpful staff. We found the shuttle service into the main part of town convenient and enjoyed the historical information shared on those drives in particular by Bob who was also very helpful with directions. We also liked the location of the hotel away from the hustle and bustle- nice after a busy day in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Westie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st-jean sur richelieu
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the Doubletree for three nights last week. We were pleased with the nice pool, hot tub, bar :) Rooms are clean and quite spacious since we travelled with our two daughters of 2 and 7. We had breakfast included, which was great `cause didn`t have to find a restaurant in town with hungry kids in tow! There is a free shuttle service to the beaches and to downtown Key West, it will cost you only a few bucks of tip for the nice drivers. Also, what the girls loved, was the free hot chocolate chips cookies at the front desk, just ask for them! :) We would be back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor, which was very quiet...balcony facing the pool is cool. My in-laws w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank shibouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We just checked out a few hours ago staying 2 nights as a part of our anniversary. It's spring break and a few college kids down but not out of control or disruptive, definitely drunk but not annoying. My friends were way worse back in our day. Hotel was good for a doubletree. It's a doubletree so expect what you will get. We ordered room service last night and it was actually really good and we are foodies and were expecting crap but we ordered anyway because we spent our day on a boat and were tired, burnt and hungover so we decided to stay in. Lame I know but we just couldn't. We had a long day. Pool area was nice. Alot of screaming kids who don't listen but again, it's a doubletree so expect that. drinks were not too expensive for key West standards. Plus we were on vacation and after a few drinks does it really matter anyway? We had a crappy parking lot view but the room was a gift so we didn't care that much. The reason for the review in the first place was because of the surprisingly good room service. We got the nachos, burger and a Reuben. Don't judge, we were being fat on vacation. My husband was really impressed with it all and so was I. Anyway, hotel is decent for a doubletree and if you are in a budget and don't care where you stay I would suggest that place. Only downfall is its far away from the action. A 20 minute shuttle but if you really want to party someone has to stay sober enough to pay attention to the time so you get to and from and don't miss the shuttle. The shuttle rocks and makes it worth staying away from Duval Street.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hthr711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing