We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent one night in the keys after coming down to Miami for a music festival. The property is in a nice location and we loved the cookies at check in. The only thing was the room was very underwhelming. Our view looked out onto a building and there was some form of equipment running that sounded like a freight train in our room. We were not there long enough to really care about complaining and getting moved but it was certainly a subpar room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austic403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

As we try our best to make our guest rooms comfortable and inviting for our guests, your feedback will help us improve. Our maintenance team will address the unpleasant noise you encountered in your room and ensure there isn't an issue. Please let us know when you'll be in town again so we can try and ensure you have a better view. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,096 - 2,102 of 3,790 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Being here for the second time in 4 years this is a really nice hotel/ resort in Key West. The atmosphere is typically Key West, laid back and informal. Although way out of the centre of Key West, the Grand Key resort offers a good swimming pool with Bar service, excellent beds, very good free Wifi and a free shuttle to the centre. However, driving your rental car in 10 minutes to Mallory Square is not an issue and parking fees are not too high ( max 4 USD an hour). The staff is friendly and good for young kids. Eating in the resort is fairly priced, the quality is OK, although choice is somewhat limited.
The hotel is located close to Smathers Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches on the island.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank EwaldIking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were greeted by Shannon when we checked in. She is very friendly and professional. Our junior suite was well equipped with two double queen beds, desk, couch and wonderful balcony overlooking the crystal clear pool. Breakfast buffet was very good with lots and lots of options for everyone. Definitely will be back! The shuttle to and from town was well received and used every day with no problems.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

After spending the previous two nights at the Hampton Inn in Key Largo - this hotel was extremely disappointing. The overall maintenance and quality was poor for a 'resort' and the Hampton Inn blew them out of the water. As a HHonors member - who has stayed at a variety of properties - this one was on the disappointing end of the scale - which is something I rarely find myself thinking about a Hilton location.

There was some damage to the furniture in the room next to the mini frig - where they took the cheap way out and just painted over the area with white paint rather than replacing it - which is what it clearly needed because there was also some water damage to the bottom shelf they was unappealing. Bathtub had a odd plastic mat glued to the floor with peoples hair stuck in it - from time to time you do see a stray hair in the shower - but this was a little much.

The pool was nice - but the waterfall was either broken or not on - which was disappointing because the sounds could have been soothing. The whirlpools bubbles also did not work. I guess I thought this hotel would be of higher quality - since it is a resort.

I ordered room service for dinner and breakfast - both meals were enjoyable - the are defiantly large enough where you can share. Customer service was good - everyone was very nice. The bartender at the Tiki bar was very friendly and a hard worker!

Room Tip: Unless you are pool side - you are looking at rooftops or parking lots - even on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC_454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We take our guests’ comments to heart, and plans are already in process to update our guest room furnishings, as well as our tubs. Our waterfall is working; a new pump arrived yesterday. And, the truth is that someone had stolen the jet direction covers to the whirlpool, which was also fixed yesterday.

I apologize that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations and hope you will consider visiting us again in the future once our renovations have been made. Should you want to return, please contact our Assistant GM directly and he will ensure that your stay is issue free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Doubletree provides a great product and the Key West resort is a magnificent proprty BUT stay at your own RISK because the staff is MISERABLE and a Twilight Zone of STAFF HORROR .

From April 24-29th our group soaked up the sun the fun and the feel of Key West ,if not for the staff at Doubletree which we dubbed DOUBLEFLEE our vacation was wonderful ... Stay anywhere but DOUBLEFLEE in Key West because although the grounds, pool and amenities are in place the staff destroys any and all good will the DOUBLE TREE BRAND STRIVES TO UPHOLD .......... OUR group is easy going and ranged in age from 56 -90 and although we would visit Key West again we vowed never to subject ourselves to the DOUBLE TREE GRAND FLEE RESORT ....... Service was slow and scary .. The wait staff is m i s e r a b l e the manager needs to find another line of work pronto before the resort is empty of guests .... STAY FAR ,FAR ,FAR AWAY FROM THE FRONT DESK STAFF as MANAGER IS APATHETIC AND ILL MANNERD LIKE THE STAFF ...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franklinet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Unfortunately, not all of our guests respect hotel rules that are enforced for public safety and security. We cannot give an unregistered guest a key to a guest room no matter how nice or how nasty they become when they ask – not even if they threaten to post a vengeful review about us on Trip Advisor. And, when they smoke in non-smoking public restroom, they must not realize that it is disrespectful not only to the hotel, but to all of our guests. It is not apathetic or ill mannered to enforce rules that are designed to protect all of our other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had two nights here and it was a wonderful stay. I asked for a smoking room, which to be honest is usually a mistake, but my cigs always win !! The view was only of the car park, but no smell of stale smoke lovely white furniture immaculate !! We spent the night before at Doubletree Miami Convention Centre and that was good too. I honestly can not fault this hotel, staff or our stay here.The staff are really friendly , chatty and very helpful, and the hotel and grounds are beautiful. Free parking just get your permit when you check in. The pool bar is really well stocked and not over expensive. All manner of frozen cocktails. We paid around $12 for a cocktail and draught beer. Buffet breakfast is good too ( although not quite as good as Miami, for the continental choice )

Although the hotel is about 3-4 mile out of the town, this is no problem as they provide a FREE shuttle bus, which is very, very good the drivers are great too. Nothings seems to much trouble worth a couple of bucks of tipping for two of us, although we could not help notice the amount of people using it who did not tip. A taxi is around $20. The shuttles pick up at hotel entrance on the hour and in town at 20 past the hour.

The only problem we had was having to leave !!!

Dont miss this one. SUPERB.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is our 4th time we have returned to Key West and the Double Tree. There is SO much we love about this hotel----the cookies, friendly staff, clean room, fast internet service, awesome pool, and shuttle to downtown which runs on the hour. The property is in a mostly quiet area and is only 1 mile from the airport. The breakfast is good and we will return to the Double Tree!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
2.8 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.5 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $262 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing