We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was a good place to land.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Was a good place to land.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

As an experienced traveller I knew what we would need in traveling from Miami. A comfortable room, early breakfast, a view if possible. What I did not know was that my wife would get sick from the dinner we had that night(not at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, Key West, Florida) and have to spend the next morning in bed with late check out, then the rest of the day around the pool. We had planned to go to the Dry Tortugas together but I traveled with my daughter only. Everything worked out fine. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was ample and of good quality, and we had a view of the pool. Not too much swimming as it was cool.

Room Tip: Away from elevators and on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralCoastDiverSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    1,173
    438
    164
    129
See reviews for
1,062
1,393
70
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fortunately we had a car. I wouldn't want to depend on the shuttle. Fortunately we also have handicap hangtags which let you park ANYWHERE in Key West for free, including metered parking,,,,,,FREE. Room was oaky, at the front of the hotel. Clean? Balcony was filthy with old cigarette butts on the floor and in the ashtrays. This was a non-smoking room. Bathroom needed updating, paper scrap left on floor at beginning of stay was still there 6 days later. Public areas were fine, but concierge service was lacking at critical points. Want to use the business center be prepared to PAY.

Room Tip: Stay closer to Duval Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueWampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the information about your stay. There is absolutely no excuse for the cleanliness issues you mentioned. That is in no way acceptable. Our Executive Housekeeper is personally inspecting every balcony. Our business center is complimentary for guests, including HSIA, printing, etc.. if you believe you were charged for any reason, please notify our General Manager at your earliest convenience so we can clarify.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everything was wonderful, with the staff right at the top of the list! Starting with great staff at check in, the concierge, restaurant and pool staff to housekeeping....we were very pleased. Also the shuttle drivers were excellent. The shuttles were always on time and they provided several shuttles at each stop due to the number of guests, during a very busy spring break. Food was good and the hotel was very clean! The only complaint was about the lounge chairs at the pool which were very uncomfortable. But typical of a Hilton.....management already knew this and they are being replaced this month. We will return!

Room Tip: There are not many rooms with a pool view, so if that is important, book early. This wasn't imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabby92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Double Tree during Spring Break 2013. There were a lot of families there at the time. I am going to list the pros and cons, with a description following each item.

PROS:
**Shuttle service- (However, it only runs hourly, and fills up fast. They do bring in another shuttle, so everyone is able to ride, but people get pushy trying to get on. Also, 11pm is not very late for the shuttle to run)

**Breakfast- was tasty, and we only had to wait once. However, service was *very* slow. I had to wait about 5 minutes to get my drink (I guess because it wasn't coffee? It shouldn't take that long for water and diet coke to be brought out), and they didn't clear our plates consistantly.

**Staff-They were very nice and helpful. We used the concierge to book a snorkel trip, and the drivers were mostly friendly.

CONS:
**Cleanliness- I felt like the housekeeping staff totally cut corners in this area. The shelves near the fridge were disgusting-I wouldn't even touch them, the wallpaper in the bathroom looked like it had human products of some sort of another wiped on it, the shower was discolored with dirt and soap scum (obvious from the 2-tones were the floor matt was taken out), the outer edges of the floors looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. Also, they replaced our perfectly fine hand soap daily (what a waste!), BUT didn't clear out and replace used glasses!? I am pretty sure they didn't vacuum our room during our stay either. We pretty much had our bed made and were given new soap and towels. We switched rooms our last night, and the 2nd room (on a different floor) seemed to be a little cleaner.

**Loud pool area at night-this happened a couple of times. Families stayed down at the pool until after 10 pm. I wouldn't care, except that they were allowing their kids to scream and yell. Most places have a quiet time after 10pm. I don't care that people were enjoying the pool, I was annoyed that I had to listen to them scream for over an hour. It was quieter by the pool the next day when we were eating lunch than it was the night before. Someone from the front desk should have asked them to be quiet or leave the area.

**No safe in the room-at least not that we could find.

**Elevator was super slow-like ridiculously slow, and they only have 2. We used the stairs a lot of the time.

Overall, our stay was nice; but the cons are enough for us to look at staying somewhere other than the Double Tree next time we go to Key West.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresamichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We certainly appreciate your positive compliments and constructive feedback. It helps to let us know what we're doing right and what we need to work on. We're reviewing your comments with our staff so we can address all of the areas of opportunity. We hope you'll come back and let us know what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay, would happily stay again. Outstanding, regular, reliable shuttle service to/from Duval Street and to/from the airport. Yummy, abundant warm cookies. Excellent full breakfast. Decent but not spotty Internet service. Very pretty pool area. Excellent, modern workout area. Dated bar. A bit noisy if you stay pool-side as we did, but no fault of DoubleTree. Most staff was very attentive and they all work very hard to ensure customer satisfaction. The property itself is not going to blow you away, but definitely won't disappoint either. We were very happy w/ our 5-day, 4-night getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank NewHavenGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

WE stayed here on some cool days in March Broke the records for chilly weather. Stay was OK they told us they were going to "Set us up" with a pool view room and we were given the room next to the laundry/elevators from which if you leaned way down and crooked your neck you could catch a glimpse of the pool under the awning which covered the window. The only room which had such an awning!! Room was Ok but smallish for $300+ bucks a night we thought wed be getting a bit more. Alarmclock went off at 5 am and couldn't figgure out how to shut it off so I unplugged it at which time it began emitting a shriek so I threw it out the door. Very annoying but who knows. We could hear the laundry room through the wall and the cover for the ac unit kept falling out so noise was prevalent in the room. I thought of complaining to hotel staff but really didn't want to have to move rooms. We went down for breakfast
and I ordered the Buffet and wife ordered the continental. I went and served myself and went back to table and wife still hadn't received hers so I began to eat and waited for hers to come after about another 5 minutes I offered her some of my eggs and was scolded by the staff as to sharing policy. I understand the need to keep people from ordering 1 buffet and feeding the whole family but how long does it take to bring a muffin and juice, (all for 10 Bucks) the buffet was like 15 and was ok long lines for the waffle maker. Just annoyed me after a rude 5am wake up by demon alarm clock. All in All the place was good, clean and friendly great pool and experience.

Room Tip: don't stay next to laundry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate you choosing our hotel and apologize you did not have a pleasant experience during your stay. It is always our goal to provide guests with the most comfortable stay possible and we regret that we fell short during your stay and especially when the alarm clock inconveniently went off. We will be sure to share all of your feedback with our staff and hope you will give us another chance. Thank you for your review.


Sincerely,
Michael KNOWLES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
580 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Like many reviews, if I were to just rate the hotel by room and grounds it would be great. We stay at a lot of Hilton properties and this was as usual very good, a little dated but big rooms and great staff. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and if we strained, we could see the Florida Straits in the distant. Again everything including the wonderful warm chocolate chip cookies was great and no fee for parking. The problem is as many have said you are on the wrong side of the island. The hotel does have a free shuttle but it really causes you to plan you visits both going and coming and much of your time is lost in transit. With that said we were very happy with the hotel. If we came again we still might want to be closer to the action.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room. It is very nice to sit outside and enjoy the Keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grover R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#31 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing