We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay, would happily stay again. Outstanding, regular, reliable shuttle service to/from Duval Street and to/from the airport. Yummy, abundant warm cookies. Excellent full breakfast. Decent but not spotty Internet service. Very pretty pool area. Excellent, modern workout area. Dated bar. A bit noisy if you stay pool-side as we did, but no fault of DoubleTree. Most staff was very attentive and they all work very hard to ensure customer satisfaction. The property itself is not going to blow you away, but definitely won't disappoint either. We were very happy w/ our 5-day, 4-night getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank NewHavenGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,087 - 2,093 of 3,740 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

WE stayed here on some cool days in March Broke the records for chilly weather. Stay was OK they told us they were going to "Set us up" with a pool view room and we were given the room next to the laundry/elevators from which if you leaned way down and crooked your neck you could catch a glimpse of the pool under the awning which covered the window. The only room which had such an awning!! Room was Ok but smallish for $300+ bucks a night we thought wed be getting a bit more. Alarmclock went off at 5 am and couldn't figgure out how to shut it off so I unplugged it at which time it began emitting a shriek so I threw it out the door. Very annoying but who knows. We could hear the laundry room through the wall and the cover for the ac unit kept falling out so noise was prevalent in the room. I thought of complaining to hotel staff but really didn't want to have to move rooms. We went down for breakfast
and I ordered the Buffet and wife ordered the continental. I went and served myself and went back to table and wife still hadn't received hers so I began to eat and waited for hers to come after about another 5 minutes I offered her some of my eggs and was scolded by the staff as to sharing policy. I understand the need to keep people from ordering 1 buffet and feeding the whole family but how long does it take to bring a muffin and juice, (all for 10 Bucks) the buffet was like 15 and was ok long lines for the waffle maker. Just annoyed me after a rude 5am wake up by demon alarm clock. All in All the place was good, clean and friendly great pool and experience.

Room Tip: don't stay next to laundry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We appreciate you choosing our hotel and apologize you did not have a pleasant experience during your stay. It is always our goal to provide guests with the most comfortable stay possible and we regret that we fell short during your stay and especially when the alarm clock inconveniently went off. We will be sure to share all of your feedback with our staff and hope you will give us another chance. Thank you for your review.


Sincerely,
Michael KNOWLES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Like many reviews, if I were to just rate the hotel by room and grounds it would be great. We stay at a lot of Hilton properties and this was as usual very good, a little dated but big rooms and great staff. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and if we strained, we could see the Florida Straits in the distant. Again everything including the wonderful warm chocolate chip cookies was great and no fee for parking. The problem is as many have said you are on the wrong side of the island. The hotel does have a free shuttle but it really causes you to plan you visits both going and coming and much of your time is lost in transit. With that said we were very happy with the hotel. If we came again we still might want to be closer to the action.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room. It is very nice to sit outside and enjoy the Keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grover R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice hotel but away from the heart of Key West. Shuttle every hour (until 11 which isn't late in this town) and they called extra shuttles when the 6 o'clock-Saturday-night-town-crowd overwhelmed them. Good breakfast and nice pool area. Good walking and running areas nearby if you aren't into the bar scene. Certified divers should book straight through a dive company (Captain's Corner rocks) so you get the right info, otherwise lots of good deals through the concierge...

Room Tip: One, slow elevator so lower floors are more convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfeetSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The look and feel of this hotel is quite rich. The rooms are slightly small but the beds are large and very comfortable. The staff was always great and helpful. My only complaints were about the value for your money. We paid 300 a night and there was no balcony and no complimentary breakfast. For a hotel that is on the "outskirts" of where you want to be in Key West, the value for money at this place is not that great. Otherwise everything was great. Recommended for people who are trying to have a quiet Key West experience as it quite far from Duval St.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Grand Key Resort is about five miles across the Key from the downtown area, much too far to walk, but the hotel provides a free shuttle there once an hour. The view from our room, on the north side of the hotel, could not see the ocean; however, there were nice views from the bar and restaurant, as well as from the very good pool. The majority of visitors seemed to be from Europe, often with young children, and the resort is very good for those purposes. Most everything was efficient and helpful, as well as expensive as most things in Key West are. However, there were only two slow elevators for the second through fourth floors. We had a problem during our first evening and had to call for help with our inadequate air conditioning, keeping the room about 80 degrees. The first maintenance man couldn't fix the A/C and after talking with the front desk suggested we be moved to another room. As it was nine p.m., we weren't enthused. A senior maintenance man, designated as the engineer, was then called, and he fixed the A/C. We were quite ready for bed by then. The engineer gave us a ticket for a free breakfast, which saved us $30; we appreciated their work for our problem. The resort was quite comfortable with our two small Yorkie dogs and we had a fine time with them, even though we had to pay $75 for their company and sign agreements that we would be responsible for any problems. My wife had to get a document printed, and the helpful concierge did it for her, charging us nothing even though it was twenty pages long.

Room Tip: Seek an ocean view on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunsmurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is beautiful. We were only there one night but we used the restaurant, the shuttle, the bar and the pool. Not one bad thing to say, great experience. You need to use the shuttle but it ran at convenient times. Drivers were awesome!
I wish Key West in general were not so expensive, but at least this was awesome or what you paid!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $214 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing