We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a Hilton Honors member I chose this hotel due to the price of rooms, free parking, and their shuttle to Duval Street. We needed to extend our stay and the hotel was able to accommodate us but we had to change rooms during our stay since we had been upgraded for our initial room. The rooms are perfect for us as a couple, but I wouldn't take a room close to the ends since the location with other rooms affords you little privacy when you open your curtains or you can only open them a small way. The pool is gorgeous and the good locations go fast. I can only imagine how busy it will be during the summer. The breakfast buffet was terrific and there is something for everyone. Also, enjoyed chatting with our servers each day. The shuttle was the best! Don't worry if it sees to fill up quickly, since these guys are terrific at managing to get everyone into town and back. If they see the people waiting is more than one bus can take they will get on the phone and call another. Terrific customer service!! Also, the front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Thank you to the manager!! This is a must stay location. We hope to return to Key West to take advantage of the diving and will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room in the center, but away from the inside corners since there is little privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    1,175
    439
    164
    129
See reviews for
1,064
1,394
71
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Double Tree due to being Hilton Honors members, and this was the lowest cost hotel of the options in Key West of the Hilton chains. One of the best parts was the free shuttle service to and from the airport but also to and from the downtown area. The shuttle runs until midnight, so if you're planning on being back by then, this is a great service. The rooms were very typical for a Double Tree, and it was nice to have breakfast covered every morning. No complaints here for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

When I was deciding which hotel to stay at during my vacation in Key West, I was looking for (as I am sure most of you are) the highest quality (rating) for the lowest price. Well guys, I found it.

This hotel met all my expectations during our stay through December 26th-29th, 2012. Everyone was extremely friendly and efficient, from the the greeters to the bartender at the Tiki Bar. The room was in great condition and was very clean and spacious. I didn't realize how quiet it was until I stayed at a hotel in Orlando a few days after and compared. The service was amazing. We needed shaving cream one night and we poked our heads out the door to ask one of the busy staff and a kind employee returned in a minute with the cream and a smile.

The hotel has a very convenient shuttle service to and from the downtown area - it takes roughly 10 minutes to the first stop. If you don't make a shuttle, you can be sure that there is one following up right behind. It can get busier shuttling back to the hotel at night, but they will accommodate the amount of people with enough buses. The hotel is also located very close to Smathers Beach which offers para-sailing and a wide variety of other water activities.

Purchase your room with "breakfast included" as it will save you at least 15 dollars per morning if not way more. Take advantage of the free cookies offered at the front desk - they're delicious!

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay if you're traveling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getmeouttaheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had such a great experience at the Doubletree over New Years. I was a little worried about being so far away from the main areas, but it was no trouble at all. The shuttle runs constantly, and when it was full, they'd just start running a second one. The staff was truly phenomenal. Probably the best customer service we've had at a hotel in a long time. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the movie nights they offered over the Holiday week. The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful and the food was quite good. We had such a terrific trip. I know we'll stay at the Doubletree the next time we're in Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
304 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just returned from a great stay at this Doubletree property. Upon arrival to the hotel each day we were offered warm cookies, always a positive! The decor is beach-themed with big ceiling fans, wainscoting, plantation shutters, etc.- perfect for an island hotel. Across the street from the hotel is the beach. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the main part of Key West, leaving the hotel every hour on the hour. This is super convenient since parking on the island is very limited and very expensive. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is reasonably priced and includes many items. It was great to sit outside for breakfast, overlooking the pool. We did not use the pool area but it was beautiful with a lot of available chairs and a huge outdoor bar. The best part of the hotel was the staff. Everyone at the front desk, no matter what shift, couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. We had much better service here than many other more expensive, upscale places. If I were to return to Key West I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shampeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been here 2 years in a row for New Year's. The staff is excellent in every way. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. We park our car and never have to drive to Duval St. The shuttle service is awesome....leaves every hour on the hour and and has a couple of pick ups in good central locations. This place is a gem... we love it here and will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkLadyDi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Hilton DoubleTree is a great hotel .The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and very accommodating. (Shannon at the front desk was especially helpful). The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The hotel offers a shuttle bus service, so we did not drive at all on Key West. The food at the hotel is good.

Best of all, we went to Key West over the Xmas holidays, so this was definitely an economical option. Great hotel for families.

One thing to note, however, this hotel is on the outskirts of the island (i.e. not walking distance from any of the attractions. So, if you are in Key West to party, you may want to think twice).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UTravel3680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#30 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing