We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but not for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tulsa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place but not for the price”
Reviewed January 4, 2008

The resort was nice, the rooms spacious and clean. Pool area beautiful. We took the shuttle into town every time and it was quick and easy. The property has a beach recommendation about a mile away. The service was terrible. For $400 a night, one would expect excellent
service. We would sit and wait on waitresses, the pool bar, ON new years eve was unattended for a while and several people waiting on drinks. Everyone was nice, just not attentive.

I would stay in this hotel again but not for the price.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,608
    1,198
    452
    172
    130
See reviews for
1,094
1,430
75
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

This hotel is located a 10min drive from the centre of key west. A shuttle bus that travels between the hotel and the centre once an hour will get you there. The hotel has nice rooms, however they are a bit small. Our room wasn't very clean (did find some unidentified hair in the bathroom). If you want to stay in the middle of the action: this is not your hotel.

  • Liked — Charm
  • Disliked — Size of the rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

Stayed at the Doubletree for two nights over thanksgiving.

Hotel was clean, functional and straightforward. Rooms were comfortable, nicely decorated with good coffee!

The staff were mixed. The pool guy was excellent, really friendly and helpful. Some of his colleagues who served breakfast were clearly off work when the customer care course took place. You don't really want hostility with your eggs....

Good free shuttle service works well.

Perfectly acceptable but you can probably do better....

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank earlycheckin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rara8698
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Key West and I have to say he did a great job of selecting a hotel. The outside of it is beautiful and it's off the street, so there's no street noise. We drove and there were plenty of parking spaces for our car. We were there for only one night, so we didn't get to enjoy a lot of the ammenities, like the pool and hot tub, but our room overlooked them and they looked nice- and big. Our room was really comfortable and clean. The only thing wrong was that there were little bugs, like fleas or something, all over the room. They really didn't bother us, we didn't get any bites or anything, but it still grossed us out a little. We went out in Key West for dinner, but opted to come back to the room to watch a movie instead! It was nice to be able to buy a movie on our tv to watch in bed. In the morning, we enjoyed our continental breakfast, with coffee, fruit, pastries and cereal. You had to pay extra for the hot breakfast, but the cold breakfast was enough for us. We checked out with no problem and over all had a peaceful and relaxing stay.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank rara8698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

My wife and I just visited the hotel for a family wedding. Hotel had acceptable rooms and we were upgraded due to my diamond status with Hilton. The suite we were given was a little cramped due to the hotel stuffing it with so much furniture. If it was more than my wife and I, we would have had no room to move around at all.

The pool area was clean but the service was terrible. The waitress at the pool was lost any time the order grew past 4 drinks. She was extremely rude and nothing is her fault, either you confuse her or she just delivers the drinks she doesn't make them. So if you don't like it or it takes too long go talk to them.

After 2 days it actually became amusing. The 3rd day, the bar tender the first 2 days was the pool server and it was much better. Friendly, attentive and it actually seemed she cared.

The holel overall looked like it could use some updating but if your looking for a place to stay and go into town at night it will meet your needs.

They run a shuttle every hour to downtown (not every 30 minutes as their website says).

The hotel is not on the water, if your looking for that, look into either the courtyard or the westin.

  • Liked — easy drive to airport
  • Disliked — waitress service at the pool
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MauiMarkCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

It's all about what week you go. My husband and I were there from Sept. 23rd thru Sept. 28th, and had just missed the bike week. Thanks goodness because the place was virtually deserted. At most there were 15 people at the pool. So it's prudent to ask what events are going on; I just got lucky! The hotel is nice, not great but it was fine. We did not want to be downtown so this was fine. Remember that this island is only 2 miles by 4 miles, and the hotel runs hourly shuttles downtown and to the nearby beach. Overall our experience was great, but again, our timing was perfect!

  • Liked — The pool staff and service was great! The food prices are reasonable for a resort.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerwin0959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
383 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We didn’t know that our reservations coincided with the 35th Annual Cycle Poker Run where thousands of motorcycle riders converged on Key West. The hotel was jammed
and noisy. At the reservation desk we asked for a quiet room…it was directly over the pool. The next room was directly across from the elevator. The third room was over the pool but higher up. The only other option was a room over the parking lot where the cycles were roaring in and out. We ended up with that third room. The breakfast buffet scrambled eggs were kind of runny.
There is a great little deli “Seaside Grocery and Deli” within 75 feet of the hotel. They made great sandwiches and had a small bakery.
What we learned…..next time when I will confirm reservations I will ask about any special events and avoid the Poker Run.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank MarJan6861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing