We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise, look no further !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Key West
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Great Hotel.
Rooms modern , clean and roomy.
The balcony was a bonus , sitting out in the evening overlooking the Gulf of Mexico with an ice cold Mojito.
The pool area was fantastic, very well thought out and beautifully landscaped.
The breakfast buffet was great , we tucked into a good range of fresh fruits and tasty pastries.
Staff were brilliant , very helpfull and nothing was too much trouble, their smiles were infectious.
We found the location good, close to shops and a good choice of local restaurants, just far enough away from the party area of Duval st etc.
The Historic seaport area was our favourite spot in Key West ,always something going on. Fort Zachory Beach, the best local beach and Bahia Honda and John Pennekamp a must see along with Big Pine Key.
I would recommend the Inn at Key West to everyone. Our week there will be remembered with warmth and can't wait to go back .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackdanieluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2010

Excellent standard of rooms. Really welcoming. Good breakfast facilities available. Great (small) gym. Pool area great fun and clean and staff attentive.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodlewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Quick check in when we arrived. Hotel lobby, pool and room was very clean. The only downside is that the hotel is a little far from Duval Street and Mallory Square.
We drove to the old town and paid $10 to park our car at the Two Friends Patio Restaurant (512 Front Street). You have to go inside to pay the bartender, get the receipt and put on the dashboard of your. We decided to drive because a cab ride from hotel to duval street is $15 each way. Next time we return to Key West we will stay at a hotel closer to town or one that provides shuttles to/ from town. We recommend this hotel if you don't mind driving and looking for parking.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

My husband and I traveled to The Keys for our 3rd anniversary. We decided to save a few bucks by flying into Miami and driving down to Key West. After arriving in Miami, we drove to Key Largo(about an hour ride) and spent the night at the Holiday Inn to break up the travel time. (We later realized that the drive to Key West wasn't as bad as we expected and would recommend to knock out the drive in one day.) While in Key Largo we stopped at the local liquor store to stock up on liquor.. and to Kmart to get a cheap cooler, beach chairs and plastic cups (we knew drinks in Key West would be pricey and chair rental at Smather's beach was $10/day). While in Key Largo we ate at The Fish House for our first round of Mahi-Mahi (very tasty but overloaded with salsa). Early the next day we checked out and headed to Key West. The 2 hour drive seemed much shorter than it was- before we knew it we were in Key West! The Inn at Key West looks exactly how pictures on TripAdvisor show it-except the poolside view room didn't have much a view. Here is my breakdown of the hotel and Key West in general...

Rooms- I'm not sure what the options are for this hotel but we paid for a King Suite Poolside. Our first room was 222. The room itself was a decent size, modern looking with a king bed w/ a down comforter and feather pillows. The bathroom's counter had minimal space but that's nothing to really complain about. The room had a nice flat screen tv on the wall. The balcony, however, was very disappointing. It was a very small balcony that barely fit 2 chairs on it-one of which was in front of the air conditioner so it blasted 100degree heat on you (however, we did see rooms that had larger balconies, so I'm not sure what kind of rooms they were). While our "poolside" room was on the same side as the pool, it overlooked foliage-no pool. The next day we requested a new room, and with no problem, we switched to room 213. This room had the view we were looking for! (although we had the same problem w/ the balcony). From what we saw- many of the "oceanview" rooms had the same type of foliage blocking the balcony so I'm not sure which balconies actually had a view of the water (keep in mind-the oceanview rooms are also facing the parking lot and a busy street). While the water is across the street, it is not a beach, so don't get too excited...

Pool- The pool wasn't as big as we expected, but it was still gorgeous. The maintainence crew was out every day either testing the water, cleaning the rocks, or doing other things to keep this area up to par. There were always lounge chairs available, however, there were chair hogs that placed towels on beach chairs for large parties who never seemed to be there. Regardless-whether you wanted sun or shade, you had a place to sit! The hotel offered "poolside service" but we really didn't notice much of this going on (then again, we didn't splurge on the $8 poolside drinks). We did eat at the pool cafe and it was great! I had a bacon burger and my husband had a chicken sandwich that he raved about! mmmm! The downside to the poolside cafe was that it was only open until 3pm.

Restaurant- One day we were up early and had breakfast at The Inn. Continental breakfast was $9.99 and Continental with eggs was around $13.99. Overall the meal was fresh and tasty (but expensive). IHOP is located next door-however we didn't really like it there.

Staff- We found the staff to be helpful and friendly, even when we requested a room change.

Beaches- We have traveled to the Bahamas, Barbados, Antigua and Jamaica and were expecting the beaches in Key West to compare.. they don't. If you are looking to book a "beachy" trip, Key West is not for you. Smather's beach made it on Florida's top 10 beaches as #3, but we were not impressed. It's only about 1/2 mile long and has lots of seaweed and cloudy water. We also visited Higg's Beach and found it to be the same- not the crystal clear blue water you'd expect. We spent most of our days at the pool. Smather's did have chair rentals for $10/day and various water sports available.

Duval Street- If you like to party, book the hotel closer to Duval Street! Duval Street is filled with action, bars, shops and restaurants. We went down to Duval for lunch- dress casual- it's hot! .. and there are lots of beach goers nearby so everyone is pretty much in beach attire. Nightlife duval is very packed! Lots of drunk people (which was a little annoying for us). We didn't make it to any bars, but we walked down there on a couple nights and it was definitely an experience. There's a couple "couple friendly" strip clubs and a couple drag shows along the way. Garden of Eden is also on Duval- a clothing optional bar.

Dry Tortugas/Fort Jefferson Sunny Days boat tour- we made reservations online and paid the day of the trip ($300 for 2). It was a great tour. It was a 2 hour ride to Fort Jefferson, lunch onboard (sandwiches, potato salad, etc) a tour of the fort and snorkeling (snorkel on the backside of the fort, there weren't many fish in other places- but be careful! We saw 3 baracudas swimming while we were out of the water!) Bring lots of sunblock- we wore SPF 30 (after getting a base tan of 3 days) and still got sun burn!

Restaurants- We checked out a couple places while in Key West. We spent about $1300 in food for the week (and that's not eating 3 meals a day, or overdoing it on alcohol)

915 on Duval street was a decent restaurant if you like seafood. It's not good for red meat. I had the special- halibut over clams with roasted potatoes and veggies which was very tasty, but my husband ordered filet mignon. It was served with french fries. After 1 bottle of the cheapest wine we spent over $140. My husband was not happy about eating fries w/ his $100-something dinner.

Hog's breath Saloon- we checked out Hog's Breath for lunch. We both had chicken sandwiches w/ fries and 1 drink each- it came to about $50. They had a band playing and the bar was pretty packed. I guess it's good for the experience, but the food wasn't anything to brag about.

The Commadore Restaurant- Now this is a restaurant! It's located near Mallory Square right on the harbor. We both had filet mignon (with baked potatoes and veggies), side salad, and a side of asparagus and mushrooms. The bill was high (nearly $200 after a bottle of wine) but it was well worth it! We visited the restaurant at 830p, so the crowds were gone and we had excellent service.

We had a great time in Key West, but probably wouldn't go back.. For the same price we could have went to an all-inclusive resort on an island with the white sand and crystal clear water we're used to.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mskoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We came down to Key West to get married on the beach and stayed at the Inn. What a wonderful place for a honeymoon. We were treated so well by the staff. We stayed for 5 days and spent most of our time at the beautiful pool. It was so nice and relaxing. If you just want to relax and avoid all the hoopla from down town, it is a wonderful place to do so. Like your own little world out at the pool and tiki bar. The staff at the pool and tiki bar were just great to us. We felt like we were friends by the time we left and will come back to visit again. Also all the people staying there were there to just relax and were all very friendly no matter where they came from. We met a lot of nice folks. Thank you for the friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhicks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

If your looking to get a great deal and a very nice staff then you want to stay here. The hotel is very clean and we have been arriving to this hotel 2-3 years now. Seems like every time we go the service gets better. The pool is huge and very well kept. I also love the landscape. We did a graden view room 1st foor and it was amazing. $165-$200 was the price we paid for a room a night and it was well worth it. After going out around town I asked the front desk if it would be cool if my wife and I took a quick dip in the pool and were extremely quite about it. He didnt mind and we were very respectful and didn't seem to be a problem! I can't wait to go again.. oh ya and the bar tender there is a cool dude!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Keywest24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My sister and I recently stayed during our visit to Key West. The hotel was beautiful, and the pool was fantastic. Our room was clean and comfortable. The only complaint was that we went for breakfast and had to serve ourselves (even though we had a waiter and didn't order the buffet.) He didn't even offer coffee refills, we had to get them ourself. The location is a bit far from the old town area, and we took a taxi which cost us $15. each way plus tip. We found out later that a scooter would have been the way to go if you stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sisters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,794 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Key West

Address: 3420 N. Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4224
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $272 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your next vacation or group to the Florida Keys, The Inn at Key West is a boutique hotel offering the largest freshwater resort pool in the Keys. Only 3 miles from Duval Street, our quiet inn offers everything you need for an ideal getaway, yet near all the action of Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Key West Hotel Key West
Hotel Key West
Inn Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing