We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad airconditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Key West
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Desselgem
1 review
“Bad airconditioning”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I will start with the good things:
There was a very friendly and helpfull staff.
There was a nice pool.

Now the bad things:
The airconditioning was horrible!
It was very hot in our room, too hot to sleep over there. We went to the reception to complaint, they did everything possible. First,they send the concierge, he said that we were right to complain. He send us again to the reception and he told the whole story. Finally, we get a room in the mean building, the last one. There were other people complaining, but they have to sleep in a too hot room. There was no room available for them.

Another thing were the towels at the pool.
We start swimming and there were no towels at the pool.
After a long time searching, the staff get new towels (fresh ones).

Conclusion:
Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff (especially when you sleep in the mean building)
Unfortunate the airconditioning and the towel problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the mean buidling, the rooms there are larger and have a better airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the feedback you have provided. I'm sorry to hear you had to encounter some air conditioning issues. We do take pride in our guest service and doing everything we can to resolve any issues. We appreciate the comments about the pool area and how helpful the staff was.




Ryan Batot
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    772
    300
    135
    121
See reviews for
619
1,104
36
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Inn at Key West is the perfect place to stay when visiting Key West. They have a beautiful pool, fun tikki bar and an awesome staff. Ryan at the front desk was the best. He was very attentive and patient. We have stayed in 3 different hotels in key west. This one is by far the nicest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. I appreciate the kind words about Ryan our Front Office Manager. We appreciate your business.

Jon Hosey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived at 3:00 for check-in. We were told that our room was not ready but they invited us to have a drink by the pool while we waited. Within 20 minutes our room was ready. The room was a first floor patio room that overlooked the pool. It was very clean and nicely updated. The pool is by far the best feature. It is a tropical oasis complete with sandy beach area and amazing trees/plants! The food at the Cafe was great. Breakfast was especially good! As stated by others it is a little ways from Duval Street but the island is only 2 miles by 4 miles so nothing is really far. we had rented a car for the week we were there and never had any issues finding parking right off of Duval Street. Plus parking was free at the hotel. Will definitely be back and stay at the same place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate the kind words you have said about the property and sharing your experiences both at the tiki bar and the restaurant. We are looking forward to your business in the future.





Ryan Batot
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I reserved a large room here with an ocean view for my friends birthday surprise. When I got there they put us on the bottom floor with a parking lot view right out our window. The only view we had was of a hummer parked so close to our "tiny patio" if you can even call it that, that we could touch it. I complained, having paid extra and they said "sorry that's all we have"... The room was less than a 2 star hotel. The room smelled like mildew so much we didn't even want to sleep in it. The internet didn't work and the front desk lady couldn't even say why. The bartender by the pool was rude and judgmental. Horrible experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, there is no ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 32999Beachgirl012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about the disappointment. We do appreciate the feedback. I will take the information you have provided and follow up with hotel staff to address the issues. If you would contact me at the hotel or via email with some more specifics it would be greatly appreciated.



Ryan Batot
Front Office Manager
RyanBatot@remingtonhotels.com
ph # 305-294-5541
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've stayed at the Inn at Key West on three separate occasions. Each time I had a great experience. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are great, especially the balcony rooms. They even have a concierge on site to answer any question you may have. The pool is awesome.

Its a little ways away from Duval Street, not within walking distance unfortunately. However last time I was there I bought a cheap fishing pole and went fishing right across the street and caught a bunch of fish. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and responding and providing us with your feedback. I appreciate your kind words and we appreciate your business!

Jon Hosey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is not a good choice for you. We stayed there a year ago in June of 2012 and my wife and I will never stay again. We were very dissapointed especially after paying about four hundred bucks for two nights. The room they gave us was barely cool enough. They had an old air conditioning unit that was a floor mounted type and must have been made in the late 70's or early 80's. They told us that our room had WiFi and so we went out and purchased the proper cord to hook it up and found out later that it didn't work in our room. A rooster woke us up every morning about 6am because the room that they gave us was at the very back of the place on the second level. There was no view and it made us feel like we were in a Motel 6 and NOT in a nice, plush setting that they show you on their website with the fancy pool and all. When we checked out two days later they kept trying to charge me the full over-the-counter rate for both nights. I was upset over this because when we checked in we were told that we were getting a discount rate for the second night. I kept trying to explain this to the gal behind the counter and only after several phone calls and us waiting for about another forty-five minutes did we get the rate we were promised. I left them a written form describing what had happened to us but never heard back from anyone there. Now.....here it is a year later and I get an email from them telling us they'd like to have us back again this year. No way, folks! We wouldn't stay there again if our lives depended on it! They're only interested in one thing from you and that's your money. Everyting else falls by the wayside. So do yourself a favor and use your money more wisely than throwing it away on this dump.

Room Tip: Maybe it you shell out about five hundred bucks a night they might have a good room in this place bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mtman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, Public Relations Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
My apologies for an unpleasant stay. We had been having some a/c and internet issues back around that time as I arrived to join the hotel group. However, these issues have been taken care of. A/C issues while common in Florida especially during the summer are something that does occur but we work hard to ensure it does not inconvenience our guests. Rooms with a view of the ocean or pool are available for a surcharge and I aplogize that was not offered as an option. I hope you will call me so that I may resolve the rate/credit issue personally on my cell at 757-328-4555.
Regards,
Steve Keup
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at The Inn twice now and I love it.
It is totally beautiful! The food is good and they will serve you by the pool.
The pool is lovely and sometimes an iguana might walk by which makes for some great pictures.
The beds are so comfortable, you'll have a great night sleep.
Staff is eager to help and so friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ-Gizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate your business!

Jon Hosey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
0.5 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Key West

Property: The Inn at Key West
Address: 3420 N. Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your next vacation or group to the Florida Keys, The Inn at Key West is a boutique hotel offering the largest freshwater resort pool in the Keys. Only 3 miles from Duval Street, our quiet inn offers everything you need for an ideal getaway, yet near all the action of Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Key West Hotel Key West
Hotel Key West
Inn Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing