We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Key West
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed January 8, 2013

After checking in, we went to our room and were greeted by a horrible smell and a large cockroach. After calling the front desk, housekeeping did spray a little room freshener but it still smelled like a gym lockerroom. There was a puddle of water under the air conditioner that made the carpet wet. Not too nice to step on in the morning, but better than another cockroach.
The pool was very nice. We did not eat at the restaurant after checking it out, the cook was on his cellphone and the waitress/hostess was nowhere to be found. Went next door to IHOP.
The hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking.

The room did not have an ironing board (did have an iron though), Lightbulbs were missing. The door didn't close all the way, even after latching. Probably how the cockroach got in.

As we packed up to go, noticed more bugs on the dresser. Not sure what kind, but the beds were bugless.

Not a great place to stay if you want more than a nice pool. Not going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in responding and providing us your valuable feedback. Please contact me at the hotel so I can have my team correct these issues.

Jon Hosey
General Manager
305-294-5541

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 2,381 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the staff was very friendly and attentive. The pool is breathtaking, probably one of the best on the island. There is a small restaurant with a variety of menu choices. My dish was very tasty, excellent portions, and service was great. This is a great choice for a hotel if you want to stay off the main drag and opt for a more quiet stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissy425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We appreciate your business!

Jon Hosey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

its one friendly hotel rooms are luxury looking out the windows you have main road in to the keys but a cross the road is a breath taking view of the ocean the pool area as a lovely tropical feeling to it like your in a different place

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newsteadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in responding and providing us with your feedback. We appreciate your business!

Jon Hosey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed over the 30th and the 31st of December, payed a ridiculous high price for a room that had mold growing on the shower curtain, a room so dark that you had to have every light available on- except,one of the lamps did not work and after many light bulb changes we got a new lamp a few hours before we had to leave, and a overhead fluorescent light that made you feel you were the operating room of a hospital....-- no complimentary coffee in rooms or elsewhere (so I payed $1.50 for a cup, but then found out on the bill next morning they had charged me $3.50 for a bad cup of coffee ......)Very bad location away from everything Key West has to offer....how can they justify charging an average of $400 per room per night?? WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN,

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Viajes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in responding and providing us with your feedback. Please feel free to reach me at the hotel if you would like to discuss.

Jon Hosey
General Manager
305-294-5541

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel location is not quite central, but 10 minutes by car to local attractions. It's right next to an IHOP and near a grocery store. There's construction on the main road, making it one way. However, we had no problems finding it. We didn't use the pool or the jacuzzi. However, we did use the gym. It's a basic gym with about 3 treadmills and 2 elliptical machines. It also has an area to lift weights and do some floor exercises. The bathroom is on the "high end" side. We were on the first floor and didn't have any issues with noise. Our room had a small "patio"" area, but we didn't use it. The concierge is very helpful. We would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelleKreyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and responding and sharing your feedback. We appreciate your business!

Jon Hosey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one evening upon checking in the front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had asked for a second floor room to face the water and we got what we requested. The room was nicely furnished and had the "Key West" feel. The pool area was very nice with a hot tub area. The pool area also had a bar and a restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay and did not mind the drive to Duval Street. There are areas that there is no charge to park. You just need to look for them. We were also there during the construction but since we were aware of this we did not find a problem getting back to the hotel. (It's a big circle). If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time in responding and providing us with your feedback. We appreciate your business!

Thanks,

Jon Hosey
General Manager
305-294-5541

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The rooms at the Inn are quite nice, with warm wood funishings and generally islandy accents. Our room had a small balcony just big enough for two chairs, which was pleasant. The pool area is beautiful, with an adjacent bar which we enjoyed several times. The only problem with the Inn is its location relative to all attractions. Any dining or night life will require of you a $20 cab ride each way (or a decent bike ride, as we opted for a few times). The construction on Roosevelt makes traffic around the area especially congested, which cabbies were complaining would be lasting for a long time.

So all in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Inn, but if you want to be stumbling distance to Duval st or your dinner, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theruhlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and responding with your feedback. We appreciate your business!

Jon Hosey
General Manager
305-294-5541

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
974 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#44 of 51 in Key West
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Key West

Address: 3420 N. Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4224
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $246 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your next vacation or group to the Florida Keys, The Inn at Key West is a boutique hotel offering the largest freshwater resort pool in the Keys. Only 3 miles from Duval Street, our quiet inn offers everything you need for an ideal getaway, yet near all the action of Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Key West Hotel Key West
Hotel Key West
Inn Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing