We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.. Will stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Ranked #51 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We loved our stay, we found the staff to be very helpful and very nice. A room was ready on our arrival and we were allowed to go ahead and go to our room and start enjoying our day in Key West. The room was very nice and romantic, it over looked the pool and beach area, I found the grounds to be very well kept. The breakfast was good and the staff was wonderful. It is quiet at he banana bay and very enjoyable. We enjoyed our stay at banana bay and we have already made plans to return and we are planning on staying here again. Thank you to the staff for making our stay a great one, cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonniecheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Banana Bay Resort - Key West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 764 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

This resort is very nice. Our room was great, loved the king canopy bed.

We only have two complaints:
1. When we booked our vacation, the main reason for staying here was the "clothing optional feature" We were quickly informed that we needed to put our bathing suit bottoms on in the pool area. That was the whole purpose of staying here. Why advertise this and not stick to it.
2. The locals seem to hang out at the pool area. Not a problem with them being there, they were all very nice, but...... We paid to stay there and had to sit in chairs on the hot deck while they occupied the majority of the loungers by the pool. Not cool. The resort should specify that the loungers are for paying customers only.

Other than that, our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwbay, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2009

Thank you for staying at Banana Bay! Even though we are no longer a clothing optional resort we would love for you to come stay with us again some time. I do apologize as well for the shortage of pool chairs, we experienced a larger crowd this Fantasy Fest than any past one and do plan on adding more seating to the pool area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

When we first pulled up, i thought my husband was going to kill me. I had read the reviews and knew the hotel was not going to look like much pulling up - it was bad, but the hotel is really nice. My first thought at seeing the front is some horror movie where the teenagers stop and get killed. It's NOTHING like that - it's very nice. The staff is super friendly - Very friendly, at first you might not think so as they are getting you checked in but soon as you get to talk to them, they are nice. Check out was super easy and again, friendly staff. Our room was larger than I had expected and clean - which is a big thing to me. The bed was really nice and the windows so clean on the balcony it could have been easy to miss them and walk right into them. The hotel is adult only which I think is WONDERFUL. You must be 16 and over to stay here. The pool is topless only although it used to be fully clothing optional so some guest who have been coming for years still go in their b-day suits. If this bothers you, this is not the place for you. We didn't have a long stay here, but we would no doubt stay again. The bathroom products are bath and body works. The wall paper in our bathroom could use a replacement as it's coming off the walls behind the door, but that's hard to avoid with hot showers being taken constantly Our Room had a view of the pool and some of the "beach" . Keep in mind Key West is not known for it's beaches and besides the man-made ones, there really aren't any to visit. If you are looking to spend time at the beach, you need to look at another location, Key West isn't it. The hotel is a short drive to downtown where parking is a pain in the butt. We chose to drive and park, but many people take a taxi down (was told it's $10 each way). Downtown parking 25 cents per 10 minutes - it can get costly so try to find free parking or a parking lot that charges a flat rate if you are going to be there a while. There is no shuttle offered by the hotel. Overall, I was impressed, the outside of the hotel is very deceiving, but the rooms are very lovely. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leana143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This place is a bit off the beaten path, so a car is a must. The rooms are clean and spacious and overlook the pool. The service was fine, and the complimentary breakfast was very good. However, the room decor is a bit outdated and worn, and the location is away from the action in Key West (but we liked the quiet).

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The reason I decided on this hotel is when I called for info Melanie from the front desk was great! When I called back to book the room I told her she was the reason i chose this resort! The next day when i checked in Elisa was just as helpful!! The hotel was great and you will not find a better team anywhere!!! I will be back

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiComet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwbay, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2009

We at Banana Bay love positive reviews about our staff more than anything! Thank you so much and I will make sure that everyone know how highly you speak of them. Please come and see us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

I have stayed in several bad hotels in a row and this one has been a wonderful surprise. The room is clean, tidy, pretty, and the bed is oh-so-comfortable! I would definitely come back. There is plenty to do right here in the resort area, including a beautiful view from a mini-beach area with wi-fi :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifulmess219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwbay, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2009

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!!! We are thrilled you had a great stay and hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We were told you could walk to the hotel from where the Key West Express drops us off, so we started walking and a local asked us where we were going and we told her and she said you can't walk there and drove us there herself. The Lobby wasn't very nice then we got to the room and we were even more disappointed. The carpet didn't seem to be vacuumed, there were items left by the past guest in the bathroom. The Decor wasn't as it was in the pictures I had seen on the internet. They said there was a beach, didn't know it was one you couldn't swim in. We did stay because we were going to be there for one night, but we will not return to what they call a resort.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwbay, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2009

Thank you for staying at Banana Bay Resort! I do apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced while staying with us. It seems there was a mix up in what room you were checked into and I wish you would have brought it to our attention so we could have better accommodated you. Please do stay with us again on your return trip to Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.6 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Address: 2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-3835
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $120 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing