We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff, great B & B experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Artist House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist House
Ranked #13 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location, great staff, great B & B experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful three day stay - extraordinarily helpful staff, great room (Anne Suite), good breakfast buffet, close to Duval and Mallory Square, but also far enough away to facilitate restful night's sleep on amazing pillow top bedding. Laura made great recommendations for sailing/snorkeling/kayaking activities.

Room Tip: Anne Suite is in back of B & B, away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
It makes us feel good to read such a wonderful review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of the house from the bed to the location and of course…Laura! We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    141
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
100
625
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked 2 nights at the Artist House after a 7 night stay in Miami. What a gem, everyone loved it! Tastefully decorated, spacious, comfortable and conveniently located, you really won’t be disappointed. The staff were great and very attentive, we loved the breakfast buffet and evening happy hour drinks. I can’t say enough about the place! We booked the Turret Suite and particularly enjoyed the little balcony which was ideal for relaxing and for drinks before we went out for the evening. A welcome distraction from the depressing spectacle of the overweight, balding, middle aged men cruising up and down Duval Street on Harley Davidsons that is common in Key West.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgowtraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It's truly amazing how diverse such a small island can be! We're glad you were able to relax on the veranda and enjoyed all that the house has to offer! Thank you for staying with us and please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We are always so happy to return! Jess, Jo & Laura are always very helpful. We love sitting on the front porch and watching the world go by. This B & B is a great location for us we can walk anywhere we need to go...although this year we did take a cab to dinner since it was raining! The room is perfect as is breakfast every morning. See you again next year!

Room Tip: We always stay in the Garden Room it has a small deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamMeltingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Loved our 2 day stay at the Artist House. Truly a beautiful historic home. We stayed in the Parlour Room and it was beautifully appointed -larger than we expected and the King sized 4 poster bed was quite opulent. Within walking distance of EVERYTHING -absolutely perfect location. We kept forgetting that the room was so close from the bars and restaurant and almost missed Eaton St. a few times. The only bad thing I can say about the room was that there was a bit of street noise (it was a weekend and there appeared to be an emergency call or two for the Duval crowd).

The Staff was amazing. We met all 3 ladies and they were all quite helpful. We booked a jet-ski tour and sky diving through them. Both excursions were excellent. We also took their advice on a couple of restaurants and had enjoyable meals. Great happy hour at the B&B and good fresh breakfast. A perfect Key West experience! -Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

A warm and friendly staff, a comfortable room, a relaxing courtyard and a short walk from the major events on Duval Street made our stay a very enjoyable one. Laura took the time to try to make several dinner reservations for us and, when everything was booked, offered a variety of alternatives where we had great meals. Daily Happy Hours enabled us to meet several vacationers who shared stories and experiences of their stay in Key West and discussions ranged over a variety of topics.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun Room which was very comfortable but may not be suited to picky and/or out of sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdG2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were actually booked at Artist House 2 inadvertantly for the wrong month. They called the Artist house and they gave us their last room, which was an upgraded suite for the same rate as the other room (They made the mistake, the gentleman remembered me calling and asking for Feb, but he accidenally made it for March) Everyone was charming and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and charming. The bed was very comfortable. Will definitely go back. Happy hour was excellent with free beer/wine and h'ordeurves. Breakfast was also delicious and had a lot of choices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Artist House this last weekend and had an outstanding time. We stayed in the Turret Room and found the room to be perfect for us. We had access to the wrap around porch which was wonderful to sit out and enjoy the morning. The staff was extremely helpful and allowed us to leave our bags while we explored Key West. This was wonderful. I would love to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seyra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Property: Artist House
Address: 534 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing