We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Key West!!!”
Review of Artist House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artist House
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
“Best Place in Key West!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This Inn far exceeded our expectations. We had the parlor suite and it was beautiful. The bedding was comfortable and the bathroom nice and modern - we loved the dueling shower heads! And breakfast was fabulous, we expected a lite continental - but got way more...with meats, cheeses and celery it was great for our low carb diet. And the pool area was a great spot to enjoy coffee and breakfast. The location is great less than a block to Duval and right near Sloppy Joes area. We will definitely stay here when we come back.

Room Tip: The Parlor Suite is the first room by the door - easy to get to, no stairs and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCasey020408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We can't wait to see you again next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    142
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
101
631
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My two sisters and I stayed at The Artist House in the Turret Suite for three nights. We loved it. All the rooms are quite large with beautiful furnishings. The breakfast in the morning is perfect, a nice selection of breads and pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, cheese and meat tray, juices and very good coffee. Jo, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful, with tips on tours and dining. All of her recomendations were excelent. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're glad that you had such a great time with us and that Jo was able to help you make the most of your stay in KW! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Situated on Eaton St. a block or so from Duval and several more to the waterfront makes for an ideal location if you aren't unduly bothered by the traffic noise, which pretty much ends in the early evening. We had reserved a room several miles East and decided we wanted to be able to walk to whatever we wanted so changed to the Artist House, very glad we did.

We were in 2 rooms as I reserved so late that we had to move in the middle of our 3 day stay. The first room on the 2nd floor, The Morning Room, was fine, en suite bath, queen bed and a little balcony overlooking the next door roof. Our next room, The Eugene Studio on the first floor was larger with a King bed and larger en suite bath. I was concerned about noise as it is directly next to the open office,phone, check in etc. But that was a non-factor, very guiet and not a problem. While the Eugene is more $$, I think it is worth the extra $$.

Continental breakfast was great, a very good selection, the bagels were the best I've had outside NYC and BJs (which come from NYC), and warming pastries in the microwave is my suggestion. And being a coffee snob I can add that theirs is great. The woman who also cleans the rooms is the breakfast server and does a fantastic job at keeping counters clean, uncluttered and platters continually filled.

The late afternoon "happy hour" with beer and wine and munchies in the back garden -there's also a dipping pool there but the weather was too cool during our stay to use it - is a very nice added emenity. BTW, that back garden area is a great place to read, catch up on the internet (free wifi) etc.

I doubt that we'll return to Key West, just not our type of place, but if you go, you can't do any better than the Artist House. OH yes, the managers (we interacted with 2) are both excellent, friendly, helpful; kudos to you both.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMH993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Wow, it's so great to read such a wonderful review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay...from the property to the breakfast and Happy Hour to the staff. Our fabulous guests are why we are in this industry! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed only two nights, but we would have loved to stay a week. The Artist House is incredibly beautiful, comfortable, and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and amazing. The breakfasts are divine. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarasotafloridagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Let us know when you're ready for your week long stay! :) See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I just took a trip with 7 other girl friends, so we booked several rooms at this historic house. Laura was there most days to help us with anything we needed, and she is phenomenal! She couldn't have made us feel more at home, gave us wonderful recommendations, and was more than happy to set up happy hour for us. I also had a chance to chat with the owner, and it is clear how hard they have worked and continue to work to make your stay here first rate. Whether you need ice water, a call for a cab, or pool towels, it is right there for you.

A spread of fruit, pastries, and breads is served every morning along with mimosas, OJ, and coffee. Happy hour in the back patio area consists of several types of wine, soda, and beer along with chips and pretzels. Since it was my 40th, I even got a special champagne toast one day. There is also a small dipping pool available.

The location is perfect if you plan to visit Duval, the wharf, Ft. Taylor, Hemingway House, etc.

We stayed in the Anne suite which has a king bed, pull out couch, two bathrooms, access to the balcony, and a special treat--the turret room, where I slept. This is the famous room of Robert the Doll and while I won't give anything away, I'll say I received a special treat one evening! All of the other rooms my friends rented were also large and accommodating.

We will definitely be back and now feel like part of the Artist House family rather than visitors. Thank you!

Room Tip: Their website does an amazing job of describing each room available. The Turret Suite is upstairs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We're so happy to hear you had such a great time! We love accommodating our guests in every way possible! Our location can't be beat....walking distance to everything you'll want to see in KW...but not in a noisy area. Thank you for the great review and we hope you'll be back again sooner than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Artist House. This was our first time in Key West & first time in a B&B. We are sold on the B&B experience! After talking with other people, I think the Artist House has set the bar high too. The staff was so accommodating! Laura helped us get settled as soon as we arrived. Jo helped us plan our 1st day out & Jessica was just the hostess with the mostess! The bed was very comfortable. Everything was so clean & inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed having breakfast just steps away after we woke of a morning & never missed a happy hour. The house was just as charming as the staff. The location was simply perfect. 1/2 block from Duval, we walked EVERYWHERE we went. It was convenient yet quiet. We cannot wait to come back for another visit!

Room Tip: We had the Eugene Studio which was closest to the kitchen & the office area. It didn't bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennimac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We're so glad that you took a chance on staying at a B&B! We've had quite a few guests that say they were a bit apprehensive about staying at one for their first time, and never once heard anyone say they regret it! It's a much more personal experience as compared to cookie-cutter hotels (no matter how fancy they are) with much more charm! We're so happy that you shared your experience. Thank you for being our guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at the Artist House in January, and the entire experience was fantastic. The staff is very friendly and very helpful, if you need a suggestion on where to go or what to do they always had a good recommendation for us. Our room was large, the location is awesome, and the happy hour can't be beat. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review and the recommendation! We're happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,117 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Property: Artist House
Address: 534 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing