We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent!”
Review of Artist House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist House
Ranked #10 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I are starting to knock things off our bucket list and going to Key West was a must do. We have never stayed at a B&B so we decided to give it a try and knock 2 items off our list. Well, we were not disappointed with either choice as we had just an awesome time in Key West. What was even better though was our experience staying at The Artist House. Absolutely everything we had read about it on Trip Advisor was true. First of all the location is by far the best, just a block and a half off Duval and maybe 5 or 6 to Mallory Square. Second, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfy. We stayed in the Morning Room which had its on private balcony which was great for morning coffee or a late, late night drink. Finally, the staff is excellent and very accommodating. You have a question or need a suggestion? Just ask. They were all very helpful. So, look out Key West because I think you may become a regular stop for us and The Artist House will be the only place we would ever stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Congratulations on knocking some items off your bucket list! We're thrilled to have been a part of that! Thank you for staying with us and sharing such great compliments! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 933 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Artist House was recommended to us by our son and my husband and I have since stayed there on three visits to Key West. The Owners and all of the employees are so warm and friendly they make it a pleasure. Breakfast is delicious, the rooms are beautiful and it is so convenient to walk to everything in town. We love it here and pass is on to all of our friends.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

There's no greater compliment than repeat guests! We enjoy having you as our guests and can't wait to see you again next time! Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Artist House for 3 nights at the end of November and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My title of this review sums it up really and I would completely recommend this guest house to anyone staying in Key West.

A few other points to mention are; Laura, she was so helpful, she welcommed us when we arrived and helped us get settled and then recommended restaurants, bars and entertainment to try giving us vouchers that got us free drinks at some restaurants if we dined there. The breakfast is lovely, plenty of choice. The happy hour (free limited bar) was great and I don't think people took advantage of it enough. Finally, the plunge pool/jacuzzi was lovely to sit in and sip a frozen cocktail.

If it wasn't so far away from home I would go back every year!! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience! We're glad to hear that we helped make your vacation that much more enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Artist House on Eaton St and it was a lovely stay. Great location - we could walk to everything - and very accomodating staff. Breakfast was a great selection and it was nice to stay in a place with ambiance rather than some big resort.

Room Tip: If you wear a lot of makeup or tint your hair - take a perosnal towel with you (or pick one up at on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you'll visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Artist House on Eaton Street is a wonderful Inn in a great location one block from Duval. Although it is a historic home, the rooms are very modern and comfortable. The Turret Room is great for families with a separate upstairs sleeping area for kids.

The Garden area with hot tub is great for breakfast and to unwind in the afternoons before heading to dinner.

Laura, Jessica, and Jo are outstanding hosts with great recommendations for restaurants and any other activities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

We're so glad you had such a great time with us while you were in Key West! Thank you for taking the time to share and we hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here two days in November. This is a large house with a limited amount of rooms (5 if I remember correctly), so it instantly gives a homely feeling. The receptionist (forgot the name - apologies!) was very helpful in giving us tips for dining and places to go to with our bikes - which is highly recommended. She even provided us with a screwdriver to release our bikes, which were double locked by someone else!

Room and bathroom were spacious, bed was great, breakfast was good, including fresh fruit. Property is very close to Duvall Street, but you cannot hear any of the noise. Parking costs $20/night. Overall a great experience and I would definitely return here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Eugene Studio, which is very spacious, but on the ground floor, next to reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here two days and loved it. The room was enormous and the king size bed was really comfortable! It is located near Duval street, but far enough not be bothered by it's noise. Parking is available for USD 20,00 a night. We rented some bikes from them to explore Key West, which is, in my opinion, the best way to explore key West.

Surprisingly the breakfast buffet includes champagne! We did not start our day with a champagne breakfast, but the fact that we could... tempting!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

We're so glad to read your wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Bikes are really a fantastic and easy way to get around the island. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast as well! Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.3 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#15 of 51 in Key West
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Address: 534 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $201 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing