We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist House
Ranked #8 of 86 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I are starting to knock things off our bucket list and going to Key West was a must do. We have never stayed at a B&B so we decided to give it a try and knock 2 items off our list. Well, we were not disappointed with either choice as we had just an awesome time in Key West. What was even better though was our experience staying at The Artist House. Absolutely everything we had read about it on Trip Advisor was true. First of all the location is by far the best, just a block and a half off Duval and maybe 5 or 6 to Mallory Square. Second, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfy. We stayed in the Morning Room which had its on private balcony which was great for morning coffee or a late, late night drink. Finally, the staff is excellent and very accommodating. You have a question or need a suggestion? Just ask. They were all very helpful. So, look out Key West because I think you may become a regular stop for us and The Artist House will be the only place we would ever stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Congratulations on knocking some items off your bucket list! We're thrilled to have been a part of that! Thank you for staying with us and sharing such great compliments! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    124
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
92
577
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Artist House was recommended to us by our son and my husband and I have since stayed there on three visits to Key West. The Owners and all of the employees are so warm and friendly they make it a pleasure. Breakfast is delicious, the rooms are beautiful and it is so convenient to walk to everything in town. We love it here and pass is on to all of our friends.
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
There's no greater compliment than repeat guests! We enjoy having you as our guests and can't wait to see you again next time! Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Artist House for 3 nights at the end of November and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My title of this review sums it up really and I would completely recommend this guest house to anyone staying in Key West.

A few other points to mention are; Laura, she was so helpful, she welcommed us when we arrived and helped us get settled and then recommended restaurants, bars and entertainment to try giving us vouchers that got us free drinks at some restaurants if we dined there. The breakfast is lovely, plenty of choice. The happy hour (free limited bar) was great and I don't think people took advantage of it enough. Finally, the plunge pool/jacuzzi was lovely to sit in and sip a frozen cocktail.

If it wasn't so far away from home I would go back every year!! Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience! We're glad to hear that we helped make your vacation that much more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Artist House on Eaton St and it was a lovely stay. Great location - we could walk to everything - and very accomodating staff. Breakfast was a great selection and it was nice to stay in a place with ambiance rather than some big resort.

Room Tip: If you wear a lot of makeup or tint your hair - take a perosnal towel with you (or pick one up at on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you'll visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Artist House on Eaton Street is a wonderful Inn in a great location one block from Duval. Although it is a historic home, the rooms are very modern and comfortable. The Turret Room is great for families with a separate upstairs sleeping area for kids.

The Garden area with hot tub is great for breakfast and to unwind in the afternoons before heading to dinner.

Laura, Jessica, and Jo are outstanding hosts with great recommendations for restaurants and any other activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We're so glad you had such a great time with us while you were in Key West! Thank you for taking the time to share and we hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here two days in November. This is a large house with a limited amount of rooms (5 if I remember correctly), so it instantly gives a homely feeling. The receptionist (forgot the name - apologies!) was very helpful in giving us tips for dining and places to go to with our bikes - which is highly recommended. She even provided us with a screwdriver to release our bikes, which were double locked by someone else!

Room and bathroom were spacious, bed was great, breakfast was good, including fresh fruit. Property is very close to Duvall Street, but you cannot hear any of the noise. Parking costs $20/night. Overall a great experience and I would definitely return here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Eugene Studio, which is very spacious, but on the ground floor, next to reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here two days and loved it. The room was enormous and the king size bed was really comfortable! It is located near Duval street, but far enough not be bothered by it's noise. Parking is available for USD 20,00 a night. We rented some bikes from them to explore Key West, which is, in my opinion, the best way to explore key West.

Surprisingly the breakfast buffet includes champagne! We did not start our day with a champagne breakfast, but the fact that we could... tempting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We're so glad to read your wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Bikes are really a fantastic and easy way to get around the island. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast as well! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#3 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 927 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Property: Artist House
Address: 534 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing