We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Artist House
Nearby Hotels
$338
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$248
$201
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$286
$269
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$239
The Marker
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$263
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$348
$297
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
$923
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)
$242
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveler rating
825
144
25
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
825
144
25
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning roomsun roomturret suitehappy hourparlor roomduval streetghost tourmini quichesother guestseaton steach afternoonfront porchbreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastfirst floorbagelsstay in key west
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Artist House. This was our first experience at a B&B, and could not have been more pleased. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to accomadate us. Let us enjoy Happy Hour early so we could be on time for other planned activities, let us hang around after check out time on departure day, just very helpful in all ways. The breakfast was yummy each morning! We stayed in the Turret Suite and got to enjoy the private balcony which was such a treat, We even got to be a part of the nightly Ghost Tour from our balcony.....Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for the Awesome review! We love to go the extra mile to ensure our guests are "happy"! The ghost tours are a lot of fun we love hearing our guests say they enjoyed the stories. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed at the Artist House for a weekend and found it to be an excellent location to enjoy the sites of Key West. We stayed in the "Sunroom". The room itself was nice, but the bathroom was WAY to small for one person, let alone two! The room is located on the outside of the house, so there are a steep set of stairs to climb. We knew this going into the rental and that was ok for us. Just know that if you have heavy luggage to carry up the stairs!! The staff was FANTASTIC!!! I would definitely recommend these accommodations. Just get a room with a larger bathroom if that is important to you.

Room Tip: Sunroom is nice and cozy, but if you like a nice bathroom then pick another room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

We love hearing that we are "Fantastic"! Thank you for your great review! Yes, the Sun Room is our most economic room, but we have many rooms with large bathrooms if space is what your looking for! We do hope that we get to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Artist House in mid-Jan. The house is very nice and close to almost everything in downtown. We parked our car and walked everywhere. The pool is a dipping pool (spa really) but was very nice. Lot sizes are small everywhere in Key West so don't expect a huge pool - the patio had nice furniture and was where the daily "happy hour" was held. The happy hour includes wine, beer, soda (if you ask for it) and snack mix - it was ok, nothing special. We stayed in the small Sun Room and yes, it was small but certainly adequate. The one thing I thought was not up to par was the bathroom. I knew it would be small but there was absolutely no place to put any bath items, you could hardly see in the shower because there was no light in the shower area and the bathroom fan didn't work at all. There was also dried toothpaste on the wall (from previous guests I assume) - a good cleaning should have resolved that. We've stayed in Key West before and the Artist House compares to where we stayed before - ok, but nothing over the top.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJRW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although it's not for everyone, we've found that many guests find the complimentary happy hour to be a nice touch. The Sun room is a very nice room as well as the most private, but it is our most economic option. We value cleanliness (see 'The cleanest B&B I have ever been too" review below) and are terribly sorry if there was something we missed on the walls. We assure you this will be corrected! We do hope you'll stay with us next time you're in paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I really wish I could rate this lovely Bed & Breakfast higher, but I can't. First, the positives: The house is beautiful on the outside and an outstanding example of the lovely historic homes of Key West (in fact it was included in the tram tour I took). My room, at first glance, seemed charming and inviting. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was nice. Best of all was the location. It was only one short block away from Duval St. where all the "action" is. Now for the negatives: no closet in my room, no hot water in shower, hooks falling off wall in bathroom, no table to sit at for breakfast (except outside, but what do you do if the weather is cold and rainy as it was for me). There was no living room or breakfast room. Other than that it was a very nice place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the nice comments and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the house. Although there are not closets in every room (most do contain closets) we do provide hangers and plenty of spaces to accommodate in the rooms that do not have closets. We'd like to mention that all of our rooms do provide plenty of drawer space in addition. We do greatly appreciate being informed about loose hooks and would gladly have rectified this for you had we been aware. The hot water was checked immediately after you had brought it to our attention during your stay and there was indeed hot water. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had a great weekend at The Artist House. We had a beatiful suite. It was spacious & beautifully decorated. The private back patio was a restful, tropical poace for happy hour & breakfast. The hot tub was terrific. We went with 2 other couples & their suites were also large & beautiful. The location couldn't have been better. Walking distance to everything. Staff was friendly & gave good recommendations. I highly recommend the place!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Wow, thank you for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed everything about your stay and love to hear it! Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews