We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous, perfect location, amazing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Artist House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist House
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, perfect location, amazing trip”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Sun Room at the Artist House and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff are great and made it super easy for us to check in late the night we got in. They had their own bikes available for us to rent and plenty of recommendations on places to go.
The house is charming, breakfast and happy hour were delicious, and the room was clean if a little small and warm (we were here in a heat wave!).
We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargoLuvsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Artist House! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Bikes are definitely the best way to get around the island and we are thrilled when guests utilize them. We are also happy to inform you that we have renovated the Sun Room since you stayed with us and made a few changes that we're sure will help keep the room nice and cool. Please visit our site for updated pictures if you'd like to sneak a peek and do come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    141
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
99
625
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitesboro, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had a wonderful visit to the Artist House in Key West. Jessica, Helen and Jo all made us feel welcome and at home. The location is ideal-- just about a block from the heart of Duval Street, which made it quiet and peaceful, as well as convenient to stop in and out of throughout the day. The inn itself is beautiful, with super comfy beds and pretty furnishings. Breakfast as yummy and plentiful-- highlighted by pastries from a local bakery, and delicious coffee. The happy hour from 4:30-5:30 on the patio each day was a welcome break from the hot and humid Key West weather, and allowed us to meet the others staying at the Inn. This was recommended to us by friends and I highly recommend it to others headed to Key West!

Room Tip: some rooms have small outside sitting areas, which is nice for early morning or late night sitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnl716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you so much for the great review! We do take great pride on the selection we provide for breakfast and are so thrilled that you enjoyed it! We also enjoy happy hour as well! We are sincerely happy that you felt at home here with us and do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was our first trip to Key West and I spent a lot of time looking for a guest house that would accomodate my family of five (mom/dad/three teenaged daughters). The Turret Suite at the Artist House was perfect! A large bed, hide-a-bed couch and two bathrooms on one level for my husband and I and one kid, and a full size bed up the curved staircase in the turret for my other two daughters. Everyone had plenty of space, the furnishings and decor were beautiful and there was a large wrap-around porch facing the front street. My husband stepped outside on it when we first arrived and had his photo taken by other on-lookers taking in the quaint and colorful house (and maybe looking for Robert the Doll!). The breakfast, happy hour and location close to Duval Street was awesome! The staff and owers were friendly and Helen found us a great jet ski tour for our last morning in KW. I would highly recommend the Artist House and hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: The Turret Suite comfortably sleeps five!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
It makes us so happy to read such great reviews! Your family was a pleasure to host and we hope everyone enjoyed Key West! The Turret Suite is a great room for families and we're so glad you found us! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you guys again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Artist House for 4 nights this week and could not have been happier with our choice. We opted for the Sun Room, which is the smallest but very bright, clean and cheerful. The staff at the house were AMAZING! They were extremely helpful and sweet. Helen actually married us at the beach and did a wonderful job. We were so happy to have met her! The breakfast in the morning and happy hour in the evening are wonderful
bonuses. The location was perfect also. This is a must if you are looking to stay in KW. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonpaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for the kind words and congratulations again! Helen is a great member of our team, and we love it when she able to perform wedding ceremonies for our guests! What a memorable trip, eh?! We're very happy that everything worked out for you and you enjoyed our newly remodeled Sun Room. Come back for your anniversary (or sooner!)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Exiting Key West Express, this welcoming B&B is a short walk on the island, during which we passed numerous venues. We arrived mid-Lobster Fest & this B&B was in the perfect location - close to the action (Duval St) but not close enough to be bothered by the happenings there. Provided with our own keys, we were able to come & go as we pleased without bothering others. It was convenient enough to walk to & from different events & venues & still enjoy the hospitality of Helen & the owners during breakfast, happy hour & other guests. We had the opportunity throughout our stay to view all rooms, and I have to say that I was very impressed - no matter what your reason for a stay, they have a room for you - singles, couples, families. Their secluded dipping pool / spa was perfect for an early morning or evening dip after a long day, or night. I could go on & on, but I will leave what little is left for you to discover on your own. And don't forget to ask about any discounts or specials they might have. My only regret was not staying longer.

Room Tip: Each room has its own unique point, so search for yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookerOfFaith40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! We know how much this trip meant to the both of you! We'd like to thank you for choosing us and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Artist House on Fleming Street. This is a new B&B owned and managed by the same people at Artist House on Eaton Street. We visited the Eaton Street B&B; both establishments are beautiful. The Fleming house has contemporary styling; the Eaton house is a lovingly restored Victorian.
Jo, Ray, Jessica, and Trevor were all very nice -- they treated us like family coming for a visit. They knew just what restaurants to suggest, what sights to see that were slightly off the beaten path. The room was clean and comfortable, and the Fleming house was designed right out of an Ikea catalog (we LOVE Ikea. Ingvar Kamprad would be proud.)
The continental breakfast was delicious and varied every day.
It's good having relatives in nice vacation spots like Key West. The folks at (either) Artist House in Key West want their guests to be comfortable and have a great time--just like the best relatives you could wish for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iRon_Mrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, General Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
We’re so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We truly do want every guest to feel like they are at home and have as much fun as possible! It’s great to hear that we achieved this!
It’s also fantastic to hear you enjoy the décor of the houses. We’ve invested a lot into our richly appointed rooms and glad that you even like the Ikea kitchen wares!
We hope to see you-as a member of the Artist House family-back again soon! Thank you for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOLVERHAMPTON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days during our trip around The States and the only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. Although being close to Duvall Street and everything that goes with it, we were far enough away to enjoy a very tranquil and relaxing time. Warm and friendly people who just couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLEDDYWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,613 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Property: Artist House
Address: 534 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing