We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Artist House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist House
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The service was awsome from check in to check out, the room was very relaxing and had all the accomodations one would need. The location could not have been better, Duvall street was less than 300 ft. We were able to rent bicycles from the B&B this made our sightseeeing much easier.

The best thing about the Artist House was Location Location Location

The least thing I liked was having to leave

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 971 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the Artist House while visiting Key West and I couldn't have been happier with my stay! We stayed in the Eugene Studio Suite this time. The room was beautiful, clean, and had everything we needed. The atmosphere is welcoming and relaxing and really adds to the experience of Key West. It is right in the heart of it all, which makes it easy to walk everywhere. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is delicious. I won't stay anywhere else (although I do want to try the new b&b owned by the same couple). I highly recommend the Artist House.

Room Tip: The turret suite has two bathrooms, which is nice for a bigger party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Artist House was a charming B&B. It was our first stay. Helen greeted us upon arrival. She was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. During our stay she assisted us with finding the best deals for anything we wanted to book. She was familiar with many of the restaurants and activities in town. We stayed in the Sun Room which was perfect for us, but may not be perfect for everyone. It is located on the second floor in the back of the house. To access the room, one has to go outside and climb the narrow stairway on the side of the house. The entrance to the room is not very large and the bathroom is small. The sink sits directly in front of the stand up shower. Large individuals would probably feel extremely cramped in this area. The room was clean with a functioning air conditioner, frig, microwave and new TV. Although probably the most dated of the rooms we saw, we liked it because it seemed very private.
The breakfast served was delicious! There was an assortment of pastries, breads, bagels, cereal, fresh fruit and juice every morning. One could add a little champagne if desired. Another helpful staff member, Aggie, offered to set out breakfast a little early one morning when she found out that we had a morning excursion.
Happy hour in the afternoons were relaxing. Several different wines and beers were served. There is a shaded garden area in the back with several tables which provided a pleasant area to visit with family and other guests.
One day, we rented bikes which were located on site for only $12 each for the entire day. They were in good condition and had a nice basket in the front to carry any belongs. It provided a fun way to get around town.
The staff really helped make this B&B a great one. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkkmclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Me and my friend stayed mid July in the Garden room. Very spacious, larger bathroom than other B&B, & great service. We stayed 3 days and met 3 female innkeepers plus the maid. Helen, Jessica, and one other lady (first name starts with K) were our innkeepers, all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was delicious, mimosas were a plus, and the happy hour was fun!

I liked the Garden room as it was large enough for the two of us and conviniently located on the bottom floor. We had a small balcony connected to our bathroom but its on the side of the house with no view at all so this is mostly for smokers.

Overall, we loved our stay. Everything was clean and we loved the more personal interactions with innkeepers.

My only complaint is the low water pressure, but its an old house and this is expected, plus it did not effect my trip in any way.

I can't wait to come back and stay in the Turret Sweet!

Room Tip: Gerden room is spacious for 2 people, private balcony for smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was my first time to Key West and Artist House proved to be a lovely base camp from which to explore the town.

It's a lovely old house, converted nicely into rooms. We had a private bath and a huge space (on the first floor). I was bunking with my mom and we both really comfortable. Furniture was nice, bed was comfy and bathroom was clean and new.

Morning breakfast and evening cocktails were well done and hosted out in the tropical back yard. We didn't see much of the staff or the other guests (which can be a good thing). But, there was staff around, so if we needed something, we could find it.

My only small complaint is that due to it being an old house, it can be a bit loud. Specifically, the guests staying in the room above us spent a lot of time in their room, wearing shoes. It sounded like horses clopping around overhead. However, it wouldn't prevent me from returning for another stay! (Maybe I would just book a top level room instead)

Room Tip: First floor rooms stay nice and cool, though loud walking can be a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed 6 nights in the Turret Suite at the Artist House. We loved staying there. Close to Duval St, within walking distence of everything. The room was GREAT, clean, loved the decor. The owner and staff were wonderful. Very helpful on what to do where to go. The morning breakfast was very well done out back or in your room. Loved the wine every afteernoon 4:30 to 5:30. Nicely done. All around a class act and we have traveled all over the world. We definetly will be back. Thanks for a great vacation. Jeff & Nina

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBrownVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in the Artist house for one night, and it was a great experience. First of all, it is in the best location you can get in Key West. The house is very well maintained, and the rooms are gorgeous. We can only recommend this hotel to anybody who stays in Key West.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#13 of 77 in Key West
933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.3 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Address: 534 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $188 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artist House is a Queen Anne styled Victorian Mansion (circa 1890) lovely restored to botique seven room B&B. This historic guesthouse is located in the heart of Old Town Key West, less than one block from world famous Duval Street and adjacent to the historic Key West seaport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing