We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Respite for Tired Teachers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Artist House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist House
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Respite for Tired Teachers”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

A friend/fellow teacher and I checked into the B and B on Saturday afternoon. We were greeted by a beautiful home and balmy breezes. As we explored the house in search of all of the other guests, we admired the beautiful decor and period architecture. Our quest ended at the backsteps of the home. We found a relaxed and friendly group of travelers sharing stories and bottles of wine in a sunken garden Happy Hour. What else could I have needed after 8 hours on the road? It was perfect. And that is how I can sum up the week. The women of the house were knowledgable of places to go and things to do on the island. The room was gorgeous and clean. The shower head was a little low-- had to duck, but a claw footed tub is one part of the history I needed. I had been walking past this house for years during the Ghost Tours of Key West. I knew all about Robert and Eugene. I feel even closer to them now. Especially after a late night storm and a door that would not stay closed. I like to think Robert was being silly. I will be back-- for the rest and another week of pampering.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiredTeacher2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    141
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
99
625
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Had a fantastic week long stay at the Artist House, the rooms are lovely , very clean and spacious. We stayed in the Anne suite, all the rooms are beautifully decorated and full of character.The staff were very warm, welcoming and helpful. There was a lovely buffet breakfast every morning and every evening wine and nibbles for early evening Happy Hour.
Its a great location very near Duval Street , but with none of the noise or hussle and bussle !! Would certainly stay again, I would like to thank Jo the owner and the rest of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeriEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Lovely home. The staff was so friendly and down to earth. We felt right at home immediately. The rooms are quite large, considering it's an old home. The owners have upgraded some features, yet kept many of the original old fixtures and furniture. Bed was very comfortable! Lots of balcony, patio, and porch space to just sit and relax. Had breakfast on the front porch each morning. Fun to watch the tour trains and trolleys go by, telling the story about the history of the home and presumed "haunting" by the doll Robert. Hung out with fellow guests and staff each evening on the private back patio during complementary wine and beer "happy hour". A block off of Duval, so nice and quiet yet an easy walk to everything.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We loved our stay at the Artist House. Our room, Anne's Suite, was marvelous. This B&B is close to Duval St. but away from any noise. The breakfasts were wonderful. Mimosas if you so desired, great pastries, mini quiches, fruit cereals, juice. We especially enjoyed the happy hour in the courtyard. It was fun to meet the other guests while enjoying wine, beer and snacks. Our host, Helen, was most gracious and willing to help with anything we needed. This was a most wonderful stay and we would highly recommed the Artist House.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funinthsun56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We really liked this B&B, they make you feel very comfortable and were helpful in what to do in Key West. The rooms were beautiful and spacious, the only complaint I have is the damp musty smell, which you can get with an older house like this. The garden was perfect as well as the hot tub.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Biscuit1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Owner at Artist House, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our goal is to ensure every guest has such an enjoyable time! We just wanted to follow-up about the damp smell. We had just had the rugs shampooed which left the rug in the office with a damp smell from not being able to dry quickly. We had the carpet cleaners correct this issue and are happy to report that there is no longer any musty odor to be found!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Very personable staff, comfortable room & yummy breakfast! We have not taken advantage of the Happy Hour or spa but may the next time!! The location is perfect we have stayed in KW at least 7 times each time staying in a different place until we finally found the "ONE" & that is The Artist House. And they have convenient parking just around the corner. As to some of the comments about water pressure etc...do they not know about KW? If you are looking for run of the mill go somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamMeltingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auburn, ga
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Jo, Melissa, Tracy I could not have asked for a better place to stay. Y'all truly made me feel special. I could not I've ever had a better birthday celebration. The surprises from my husband that y'all carried out were wonderful. This is the best place to stay in the keys. I have been to key west 5 times. The last three times have been at the artist house, but this was the best. thank you much I am so looking forward to come back as quickly as I can.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lababyAuburn_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,612 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Property: Artist House
Address: 534 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing