We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Conch Shack

The Conch Shack
Ranked #58 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When you visit The Conch Shack, you're in for a true Key West experience. Located on the 100-block of the world-famous Duval Street, pull up a stool street side and grab a bite and watch the scenery walk by. You never quite know what you are going to see any given day. Experience our "Best Ever" Conch Fritters, island renown flat-top burgers, hand-cut Island Fries, and a Maine Lobster Roll that would make New Englanders proud.
Coconut Creek, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Definitely a great value for a quick bite! The Conch Fritters were zesty, crispy and full of conch the spicy island sauce a delicious condiment! A fantastic Tapa.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GwennF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    186
    56
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Conch fritters & lobster rolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

A local told us about The Conch Shack which is only a couple blocks north on Duval Street from La Concha Hotel. It is a tiny hole in the wall but they do have stools by the tiny counter. It basically looks like an open air food truck with a small counter around half of it. There is an awning that covers your body but does help much during a rain storm. It is well worth eating there. I had an order of conch fritters where you can order 3, 6, 10 and over. They are the best on the island. Also, they serve New England lobster rolls so I ordered one of those. They even use the New England hot dog rolls which looks like Texas toast folded in half. They toasted both sides of the bun like they do in RI and MA. They stuffed the roll with lobster meat and handed it over. OMG!, it was sooo good!! It wasn't exactly like a New England lobster roll even though they use Maine lobsters. It was just plain lobster meat and they drizzled butter on top. I did not see any mayo. I am not complaining because it was that good. Everyone MUST eat there or else you will be sorry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cles32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better Lobster roll down the road!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went for the lobster roll... Disappointing. The bread was so "toasted" It could have cracked a tooth lol. I almost DID crack a tooth on one of the 4 different lobster shells that were still mixed up in my lobster meat.. (What TINY amount of meat there even was). Cash only place, right on the duval strip. Skip this place and go to Dj's down the road. Their lobster roll is absolute perfection!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Lobster Rolls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went to this "shack" because I wanted to eat lobster rolls and a friend recommended this place. The rolls were excellent, lots of meat for the price and the bread was just soft and buttery. My kids ordered the chicken strips and they were very happy with their selection.
I'll try some conch fritters next time I visit KW.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tati Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite quick food stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I pretty much stop by and tried something different from this place. It's very quick and very good conch everything. It's a must stop place when you go to key west.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtalavera27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Conch Shack also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Conch Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing