We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent eith a twist”

U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum
Ranked #11 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 327 Foot museum ship from WWII and Viet Nam. It is a National Historic Landmark. INGHAM served our country from 1936 to 1988 and in 1985 was the most decorated ship in United States Service as noted in a letter from President Ronald Reagan in the exhibit room. Open: Tuesday thru Saturday 10am to 4pm.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent eith a twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

It's perfect except when there was stairs there very steep so be carful! Otherwise its a good place to go there is lots of history my children loved it.

Helpful?
1 Thank krusebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    186
    30
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We could see this Coast Guard Cutter from our hotel room, but had no idea it was open to the public to tour. We found this out from our driver on the Old Town Trolley as we were driving past it. With my husband being a historian, we made sure to stop by and were so glad we did. It is a self guided tour and there is plenty of information and descriptions for what you are seeing. This vessel saw action all over the globe and in many wars. The stories you can read about inside are remarkable. There are four volunteers that maintain the ship and its artifacts - not an easy job for four people. But they are passionate and dedicated. We spoke at length with a couple of them after we toured.

This is well worth the price of admission. If you have any interest in history, military, boats, Coast Guard, Navy, etc., I think you will find this fascinating. It is great for school aged children to give them a glimpse of the past.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A step into history and much longer than I anticipated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The best part about this tour is the FREE parking! Ha! I really did think we'd have to pay before we boarded but the $10 per person really was worth it. you could just come park and see the ship from the land but you need to get down there and see what it's all about. There are plenty of steep stairs to keep that in mind but we are glad we made the trip. Make sure to talk to the folks running the operation. they have plenty to tell!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mtsublueraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

During our visit to Key West, we were looking for experiences other than the crowds and party scene. My husband loves ships and history, and wanted to tour this ship. I went only because he wanted to go, and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it! The tour was self guided and took you through nearly the entire ship, with signage and pictures along the way to explain what you were seeing and how the ship functioned. Be aware some of the ladders are steep and it is necessary to watch your step. We spent nearly 2 hours exploring, and could have spent even more time in the museum on board. The staff was friendly, very knowledgeable and caring, and truly seemed to love the ship and were very proud of it's history. We came away from the visit with greater appreciation for the crews that were assigned to this ship over the years, and all the sacrifices they made. A great piece of history!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfanmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
145 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Proud & dignified old cutter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This very well restored ship is a good testament to our past history. Commissioned in September 1936, it gave 52 years of continuous, loyal service. The last radio transmission was done on the 27th of May 1988 and it said: the sentinel bell has been struck eight times...I have earned my rest! It looks like almost everything was left as is, except for the removal of sensitive documents and equipment; calendars on the page of May 1988, dishes left to dry, packs of cigarettes left on desk, etc. Well worth the visit on this cutter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank llh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing