We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum
Ranked #12 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 327 Foot museum ship from WWII and Viet Nam. It is a National Historic Landmark. INGHAM served our country from 1936 to 1988 and in 1985 was the most decorated ship in United States Service as noted in a letter from President Ronald Reagan in the exhibit room. Open: Tuesday thru Saturday 10am to 4pm.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I absolutely love this place. Came here with my Uncle and Aunt while on their visit. Fantastic ! I would definitely recommend this place for a family event. Very interesting and I learned so much.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    167
    24
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coast Guard Cutter Ingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great tour to do and you are supporting a piece of maritime history. The ship is just as it was left when decommissioned. A grand old lady. It is a self guided tour so take your time. Ingham is the most decorated ship.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank femalepetrolhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Do not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a great stop, the ship is exactly as it was left when the sailors departed. It is a self guided tour, but it is a place that you will recall, it can take you a few hours to tour. Be sure to visit the Eco Center next door - it is FREE!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sierra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new smyrna beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love the history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is a beautful thing that not all ships are sunk for a reef. This is a wonderful piece of history, floating here in KW.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MorganOI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A very well preserved piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our visit was solely due to seeing this museum rated very highly on TA and we were not disappointed. As previous reviewers have often noted, it isn't solely for 'boat' type people or for ex-service personnel. The Cutter has so diverse and long a history that everyone, even ex-pat Brits like us, will feel some connection to the ship. Atlantic convoy protection during World War II is only a small part of its history but a huge lifeline to Britain at that time.

We were amazed at how complete and functional the ship is still and enjoyed talking with one of the volunteers working in the radio room on maintenance. It really is not a rusting hulk stripped of its contents! Nothing is missing and you really feel the volunteer's jesting about being ready for action if needed in the future really is a viable option.

It costs a huge amount per year just to sit there with lights and fans working so needs more visitors and donations to ensure its continued service as a museum and reminder of USCG valor.

Just a word of advice - we found it easier and safer to climb down the stairs backwards as they are so steep and cope with longer feet that way around!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing