We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of DJ's Clam Shack

DJ's Clam Shack
Ranked #22 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Laurens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Lobster Roll”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The overstuffed lobster roll was incredible! It was huge, enough for 2 of us to split and be full. We sat in the front and watched the crowd go by while we ate. It was a perfect stop for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raynedrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    289
    73
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Two stops at DJs during short vacation”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

DJs Clam Shack is a must visit for me while visiting Key West. During a four night trip, we actually visited DJs twice - almost unheard of when there are so many great restaurants in Old Town. On the first visit of this trip, I had oysters which is my usual. Good and fresh, but pricey. The sangria was a good accompaniment On the second visit, I had a lobster roll. One of the best lobster rolls I've ever had and a far better dining value.

One lady in my group ordered clams but after a few minutes we were told that what they had was no longer fresh enough to serve, which we appreciate. He substituted for Ipswich at the same price and offered that if she didn't like them, they would be on the house. Well, they were delicious and a large portion for our group of five to all have a taste and then some.

The small seating area in back is perfect for the short wait and quick eats.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EcoStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“you'll know you're not in IpswichQ”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

the lobster roll was decent but these were the worst fried clams I ever eaten. I was longing for taste of home and this place just didn't get it

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jthubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap Quick Meal”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stopped for a quick bite....quick seafood, but I got the pulled pork sandwich. They accidentally gave us a corona.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudenville
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Get the "Overstuffed Maine Lobster Roll"”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We shared an overstuffed lobster roll for lunch and it tasted wonderful! Lots of lobster claw meat - and we really enjoyed it. Remember that this is more a place to walk up place order and then sit either overlooking Duval or in the back patio. You will not be sorry - the clams in butter sauce looked wonderful too. You can also get fish tacos, clam strips and sandwiches. I think it is a great place for lunch. Cold beer available too. You will not be sorry that you ate here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juneann116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DJ's Clam Shack also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to DJ's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing