We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ginny is the best!”

Key Lime Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Upon arriving at the bike shop, you'll be fitted with your bicycle and begin your approximately three-hour pedal through town. You will see the highlights of Key West, of which there are many. Pass Simonton Street Beach, the Green Parrot Bar, Key West Cemetery, Higgs Beach and the Southernmost Point of the United States, just 90 miles north of Cuba. Of particular note is the Customs House, which presides over historic Mallory Square. Dating to 1891, the faithfully restored, four-story architectural gem was originally home to the island's customs office, postal service and district courts. "Old 91" is today a national landmark and headquarters of the Key West Art & Historical Society. Another slice of local history unfolds as you approach the Presidential Gates of the Harry S. Truman Little White House. Built in 1890 as the first officer's quarters on the submarine base naval station, the abode served as Harry S. Truman's base of presidential operations during his 11 visits to Key West. Of course, Key West also is known as the home of Ernest Hemingway. During your bike ride, you will see the residence located at 907 Whitehead Street, across from the Key West lighthouse, where the famed writer lived from 1931 to 1939. One of Hemingway's legendary haunts was Sloppy Joe's Bar. Founded in 1933, the bar was located on Greene Street, just off Duval Street, during Hemingway's day. The bar has since moved to its current location on Duval Street, taking with it its storied connections to Hemingway, who suggested the name for the establishment. Other landmarks on today's roster include Dog Beach, Flagler Train Depot, Jimmy Buffet's first house, and Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville, the Duval Street watering hole that embodies the laid-back lyrics of the beloved singer/songwriter. After returning to the bike shop you will finish with a slice of Key Lime pie, a refreshing must-taste here in Key West.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed September 15, 2014

My partner and I took a tour with Ginny on our second day in Key West, the very beginning of September 2014. First of all, we had to shuffle around our activities because something else we were doing that day had to be rescheduled. My partner had called to see if we could change our bike tour to this particular day. They told him that they had just left and only do it once a day, but said that he would ask the guide if she'd be willing to do a second tour that day. She said she could, so we were set. Very accommodating...

Ginny led us all across the island, teaching us the history of KW and also giving us suggestions of places to go during our week stay.

The grand finale of the whole tour is the awesome key lime pie that we got from the key lime pie factory right next door to their home base.

Thank altermood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Owner at Key Lime Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thanks for the great review! I'm glad that we were able to take care of your schedule change. We do try to be as flexible as we can, and I must thank Ginny for being a good sport and doing 2 tours in one day in the oppressive heat we have at this time of year.

Thanks again for taking the time to write!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"key lime pie"
in 81 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 163 reviews
"great tour"
in 96 reviews
"easy ride"
in 33 reviews
"captain craig"
in 20 reviews
"frequent stops"
in 14 reviews
"disney cruise"
in 14 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 37 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 18 reviews
"hour tour"
in 33 reviews
"explore key west"
in 13 reviews
"jimmy buffet"
in 12 reviews
"lay of the land"
in 12 reviews
"fun facts"
in 15 reviews
"awesome guide"
in 10 reviews
"three hours"
in 11 reviews
"the conch republic"
in 11 reviews
Filter

772 - 776 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2014

Firstly,the bikes are in excellent condition and very easy to ride.
The braking is by reverse peddling, which is easy to get the hang of.

Our guide Sarah (with an H) was very knowlegable.
No problem cycling around the streets of Key West, very easy pace, and interesting calling points
The slice of Key Lime Pie is a nice touch at the end.

1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Owner at Key Lime Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thanks Mark! "Relaxed, slow, and laidback" is the perfect way to describe our tour, our guides, and Key West in general! We're so happy you took the tour, and even happier that you took the time to write!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2014

My husband and I LOVED touring Key West with Key Lime Bike Tours!
The bikes were in perfect condition and easy to ride. We had no problem keeping up with our tour guide Sarah and really felt like we were able to enjoy a slice of life in old Key West along with our slice of key lime pie!
If you're visiting the island, this is the only way to see it and to get the historical commentary.
We would definitely book this excursion again!

Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Owner at Key Lime Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thanks Megan! We're glad you enjoyed the slice of life in old Key West and the slice of pie too! Thanks for taking the tour, and also for taking the time to write!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

This bicycle tour is definitely the best way to explore and get to know the island, particularly it's countless hidden treasures that present themselves in the form of historic residences, arquitectural gems, and important sites that define the personality of this free-spirited island. Chris (the owner) is incredibly knowledgable in terms of all aspects of the island, and in addition to this knowledge he provides quality bicycles and water (which comes in handy if you have scheduled your your in the late morning or afternoon). A very informative and overall positive experience that is definitely worth the time and money

1  Thank Awammons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Owner at Key Lime Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thanks! The tip about the water is always a good idea here in Key West, especially in the summer months. And we always finish the tour in the air conditioned comfort of the Key West Key Lime Pie Company's dining room with a slice of pie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were a family of four in a larger group. We had a little difficulty with the bikes as the braking is by reverse peddling, but once that was mastered, no problems. It was a gently ride with frequent stops mainly turning right (for safety) around Key West ending with a slice of Key Lime pie. It ran from 10:00 so was quite hot for us as we had not yet acclimatised. However, really enjoyed it and found out quite a bit about the area. Guide was Ginny and she was full of information. Also very considerate when one of the party succumbed to the heat and had to leave the tour about half way. No fuss, just consideration. A very interesting time and well worth it.

1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Owner at Key Lime Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thanks for the great review Paul! We are so glad you enjoyed the tour, and I'll make sure Ginny sees your review also. Thanks again for taking the time to write!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Lime Bike Tours also viewed

 
 

Been to Key Lime Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing