We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Develop a love of fishing!”

Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a fun filled day in the Florida Keys. Spend a few hours sportfishing or family fun fishing. Plan a beach excursion, swimming, snorkeling, sight seeing,or a sunset cruise. See the annual powerboat races from the water. Design your day on the water with Captain Ron on the Blue Eyed Trader.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
1 review
“Develop a love of fishing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We just finished our fourth year of fishing with Capt Ron. It was once again a highlight of our trip and the reason my 9 year old wants to return to Key West year after year. Ron & Nina are amazing hosts beyond their ability to REALLY FISH. They know how to keep everyone engaged in a great day out on the water. My son and 5 year old daughter both adore Capt Ron and they can't wait to get their lines in the water and see what they will pull up next. Besides traveling home with a cooler full of great fillets, we have more fantastic memories to share as the kids develop their love of fishing. See you next year!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pattrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainron_11, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you. That was a nice review. As you know i love fishing with the kids, especially when they return year after year. Its a wonderful thing to see them fish and use what I taught them. Always nice to have your family aboard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have fished with Captain Ron several times and we return every year to Key West just to fishing with Ron and Nina. Captain Ron will make absolutely sure you catch fish and have fun doing it. Young or old you will LOVE fishing with captain Ron.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank karla t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Eyed Trade... C, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you! One of the benefit's of fishing for a living is making friends, thanks for returning for more fun. I am sorry we lost that big Mahi!!! but that's fishing. Looking forward to another trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Vacation and great day with Captain Ron”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked a charter with Captain Ron on the Blue Eyed Trader and it was GREAT.

We took our 7 yr old grandson with us to Keys and wanted to take him out fishing. We booked with Cap Ron and let me tell you , We had a blast, with the time they took up with Connor and the pleasant conversations, and a pure joy to get to know.
We put fish in the freezer and took home a great memory. When you mention the fishing trip to Connor, you can see the smile sweep across his face . That is what it is about , and a big THANK YOU for the very good memory you made for us

P.S. Don't bring Bananas on the boat...... ole Captain folk lore

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Eyed Trade... C, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for the review. I can't tell you how much fun it was to meet and fish with Conner! He is a wonderful young/old man. I love the relationship between you and him! Great job Paw Paw! Please bring that guy back so we can watch him grow up, he's the bomb!! Nothing better than family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day on the water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Capt Ron and Nina are simply the best! We went out June 30th and had 2 adults and 4 kids (11 to 13) and everyone had a great time. Capt Ron and Nina took extra time to show the kids what to do and how to work the the reels properly. At one point, Nina picked up some ses weed and shook it on the deck. She showed the kids all the little creatures that lived in it and how the fish would slap it to knock out the food. The yellowtail snapper bite was a little slow but Capt. Ron kept us moving to new spots. Once the kids got a little tired, Capt. Ron said it was adult time and we moved to the wrecks for some big fish. Within the first minute of dropping the bait down, we hooked up with a large Mutton Snapper. We cought a few more big snapper and had a double going on amberjack. We caught a bunch of different species of fish including yellowtail snapper, mutton snapper, amberjack, mahi mahi, rainbow runners, and mackerel. Another highlight was a pod of dolphin swimming in our wakes. Capt Ron slowed down and they swam all around the boat and the kids just loved it. The reviews don't lie. If you want the best in Key West, go with Capt Ron and Nina. Can't wait to come back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pohanlon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Eyed Trade... C, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
What a nice review! Thank you. We do try hard to make your day the best it can be. Having kids on board makes for a good day. The Dolphin thing, what can i say? Thanks for the great day aboard the trader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, TX
1 review
“Great day fishing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a great day on the water yesterday with Captain Ron and Nina. We caught several small dolphin before landing an awesome 25 pounder!! Our luck continued as my son brought in an impressive black grouper and our friend landed a beautiful amberjack. Thanks so much for such a memorable day!!

Helpful?
Thank Bpointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Eyed Trade... C, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
What a great fishing trip it was! I love that you guys were able to land all those great fish. Good job boys! When that big fish showed up it as game on! Glad we were able to put her in the box. Thanks for fishing with us, please come back for more fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing