We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Parking in Central location”
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Parking in Central location”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a small complex very close to Main Street, Duval st. The staff are friendly and efficient. There is ample parking space which is at a premium elsewhere. Much of the attractions can be managed comfortably on foot from this location. During our stay, 3 nights, the area was quiet and very pleasant. The breakfast was ok but there was only limited choice particularly of cereals which is something I like. There is no hot breakfast but apart from the cereal choice I would say it fills the bill. Only slight downside is it pretty expensive in our view, although probably par for the course in Key West. We had a king size double with fridge, micro, safe etc and it was smart and in good condition. A pool view on the top floor would probably be the ideal room choice

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabagirlAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear BabagirlAyrshire,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our modern, spacious and well equipped rooms.Many of our guests such as yourself are delighted about our central location and the ample availability of parking on our property. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Key West and will come back and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    583
    128
    23
    23
See reviews for
400
877
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel itself was comfortable with a refreshing pool situated so that guests could get sun all afternoon and comfy loungers and tables in the shade for those wanting to enjoy the pool but not direct sun.
Our room was spacious and clean.... however lacking just a bit in closet and storage space.
We slept comfortably and enjoyed a continental breakfast each morning.
The hotel claimed it was a three block walk to downtown and famous Duval Street where many of the shops, bars and restaurants are.... although it was a pleasant walk, it was a little more than three blocks. There are a few "Bed & Breakfast" style houses and a few luxury hotels with high price tags that are closer to downtown .... so Silver Palms is a great deal if you don't mind the walk. *We discovered there are taxis available if you don't want to walk.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room that doesn't face the street. Truman Street is a main thorough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip2ship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear trip2ship,

Thank you for choosing the Silver Palms Inn on your visit to our little tropical island!. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, relaxing pool area and continental breakfast. We hope that you plan to stay with us again the next time you head this way. We offer great rates to our returning guests. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Ok - hotels in Key West is not cheap, and if you want a hotel with a somewhat central location, the Silver Palms Inn is a good choice.

Pro:
- two queen size beds - enough for a familiy of 4
- microwave and coffe-maker in the room
- pool and sun chairs/beds

Con:
- breakfast in the reception area is not a great place
- eating breakfast on paper dishes and paper cups when paying almost $250/night - is it a joke?
- NO view out from the balcony. You are staring at the parking lot
- rather tiny rooms
- A/C is starting up like a jet-engine, noisy!
- Reception - service? Do we need to pay for that as well?

Room Tip: Dont reserve rooms i first floor or room facing the Truman ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napoleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Napoleon72

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your stay.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, well equipped rooms and relaxing pool area.
The feedback we receive from our guests is very important to us .Please be assured that customer service is our top priority and we want the service at our hotel to reflect that principle. We have taken your feedback into consideration and are doing our best to address the issues you raised to the extent that is possible.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Key West overall and hope you come back to the island again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The room is very spacious, the staff are professional and there is a car park. We enjoyed having rest next to the pool. The hotel is very well located as it is few minutes walk from Duval street where there are many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco_Labi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Coco_Labi,

We truly appreciate your positive review about your recent stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your wonderful experience with our hotel and the staff. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We hope you will be back in Key West and at the Silver Palms Inn very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Silver Palms is an ideal place to stay when visiting Key West. You are blocks away from Duval Street and other activities. The rooms are very clean and well appointed. We had a superior queen room overlooking the pool on the second floor. It was very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is not large like chain hotels but is certainly good, varied and sufficient. The staff are friendly and accommodating. My only gripe would be that smokers tend to congregate in the swimming pool area which takes away from a nice swimming/lounging experience. This would not stop me from returning to this wonderful establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Deborah.

Thank your for your glowing review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our convenient location and luxurious rooms. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We wanted to let you know that we are in the process of reassessing our dedicated smoking area. We hope to see you back at the Silver Palms Inn very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was our first visit to Key West and we could not have have picked a better hotel! The location was perfect for walking to Duval street and the Hemmingway house, the room was beautiful, the off-street parking was secure, the pool felt like our own private oasis, and the staff went out of their way to make our perfect. I rarely gush about a hotel but we were really impressed with this property.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the great review about your stay in April! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us at the Silver Palms Inn on your first trip to Key West! Your kind words about our hotel and staff are much appreciated. It is our pleasure to make sure you always have a great stay. Please make sure to give us a call the next time you plan on coming down. We offer great rates for our returning guests. Look forward to seeing you in Key West soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This place is very nicely located, about 10 minutes walking distance from Duval St, the street with the main attractions in Key West. Rooms are nicely furnished and quiet, even ours was, despite the fact that it was on the ground floor and directly next to the pool. Still, a room on a higher floor makes more sense. The pool is nice, but situated directly next to the car park, which somewhat spoils its attraction. Service is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Flabbergast52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Flabbergast52,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Silver Palms Inn on your family vacation to Key West. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our modern and spacious rooms. Our staff at the Silver Palms Inn is always trying to do their best to provide our guests with the best service and we are happy that you enjoyed the service your received during your stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Silver Palms Inn very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,754 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing