We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful & Clean Inn”
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Clean Inn”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Silver Palms Inn the week before Christmas 2013. Our room was spotlessly clean and nicely appointed. Our balcony overlooked the pool courtyard and it faced North, so we were on the quiet, shady side for most of the day. We noticed some water on the floor under the mini-refrigerator in our room, the first evening of our stay, and reported the problem to the front desk associate. The following day, after breakfast, we discovered that our refrigerator had been replaced with a new one. Now that's service! The continental breakfast was more than adequate. They provided coffee, juice, cereal, bagles, croissants, muffins, and I noticed some hard boiled eggs one morning. The location was just 3 blocks (approx.) East of Duval Street. We walked everywhere - North to Mallory Square and South to the Butterfly Conservatory and the Southernmost point in the continental United States. The Northern end of Duval Street reminded me of Bourbon Street in New Orleans. Sloppy Joe's (Ernest Hemingway's favorite watering hole) and quite a few other beverage establishments line this famous thoroughfare. I photographed the most beautiful sunsets from Mallory Square while we were there. We will probably stay at the Silver Palms Inn again, when we plan our next trip to Key West.

Room Tip: When renting a room at the Silver Palm Inn, ask for a room on the South wing, overlooking the swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98_cu_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear 98_cu_in:

We are so happy that you found us! We are glad that you chose our boutique hotel for your accommodations for your week-before-Christmas getaway. We pride ourselves on the level of service and comfort we provide to our guests. It sure does put a big smile on our faces to know that we met your service expectations! We hope you come back to visit us again soon. There will be more gorgeous sunsets waiting for their close-ups!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    568
    127
    22
    23
See reviews for
380
845
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I just came back from a 2 night stay at the Silver Palms Inn, Key West Fl.
Hotel very well maintained, friendly staff, good location but at least 3 good blocks from Duval St. Small pool. Free internet. Elevators. Parking & continental breakfast included. Our second floor king room facing Truman Ave. was a good size one with a small balcony (facing the street), tiles instead of carpet which we appreciated. Their was a microwave, fridge, safe & a coffee machine in the room. AC was a bit noisy. My only negative comment is the noise from the street. If you book this hotel, ask for a room facing the pool, it will be more quiet.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room facing Truman St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamieclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Mamieclo:

We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your two night stay at the Silver Palms Inn in one of our spacious King rooms. The fresh feel of the all-tile floor in our guest rooms is something that many people appreciate such as yourselves. We hope that the next time you visit Key West, you'll choose to stay with us again. We'll be sure to have you reserve one of our pool view rooms the next time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

When booking the room, I was not told that we would be "STREET SIDE" What a mistake. The noise all night long was not a pleasant sound. The rooms were such close quarters. If someone was in the bathroom and someone was at the vanity, you would need to walk away to get in and out of the bathroom. We felt as though we were big giants in a tiny area. When it was time for bed, the sheets had pullies all over them and they felt like sand paper. They did not appear to be crisp and clean, so therefore we did not sleep under the covers. The next afternoon I returned to my room at 3:00 pm only to find that it was still not cleaned....Really??? I found this hotel to be way too expensive for what we thought should have been given

Room Tip: What Restaurant???? Do not get a street side room. When Booking Get Two queen Beds... The room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satierf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Satierf007:

Thank you for your feedback. It truly disappoints us to hear that your stay in one of our new rooms was not to your satisfaction. Please understand that our prices are competitive with other lodging establishments in the Old Town area of Key West. We apologize for the issues that you had during your stay. We only wish you had notified us of them during your stay. We would have corrected them immediately had we known. While you were not impressed with our hotel, we hope that you enjoyed the island overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

There is a charge you have to pay on check in which isn't made clear enough when booking and the pool is smaller than the photos suggest. But would this stop me from going back... certainly not! The pool area didn't get that busy so it was never a problem for us, the room was huge and very clean with modern decor. There is a little walk to the better bars and restaurants on Duval Street but nothing major.

Breakfast choice was good too, and although the breakfast are is small it was never too crowded. Really enjoyed the vibe of the place, had good parking facilities would recommend to anyone wanting to go to Key West.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear JMDubya:

We appreciate the great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and giving your future recommendations to the TripAdvisor community. The convenient location of our hotel makes exploring everything Key West has to offer easy for our guests. We know that the UK isn't a hop, skip, and a jump away but we hope that you return to visit us again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I booked a room for a night over the phone the lady charged me 300 USD and the next day at the check in I was over charged 45 dollars and everyone made it look like I was wrong.... And no-one cared I will get my 45 dollars back one way or another

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xXxtonymontanaxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear xXxtonymontanaxXx:

We appreciate your candid response about your recent stay at our wonderful boutique hotel. We engage in proper business practices at our hotel and we are saddened to hear that you feel that way about our establishment. Please understand that upon making a reservation at our hotel, we fully state the rate of the room being reserved. We also inform the future guest that we charge the first night room and tax as a deposit. In this case, because the stay was for one night, the reservation was paid in full. Therefore, we did not make any additional charges upon check-in. We also provide a confirmation after a reservation has been made. On the confirmation it fully discloses all of the necessary information about the reservation including the price. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for any confusion there may have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The rooms are very nice - comfortable beds, refrigerator for our snacks, clean, and loved the shower. It is a short walk to Duval and we rented bikes one day to ride out to the docks for a snorkeling trip. The cemetary is nearby (as a side note) and it was really interesting to bike thru it as it is nothing like ours in Michigan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Julie L:

It's great to hear that you made it back to Michigan safely! We are ecstatic that you appreciated our convenient location in Old Town. We hope you had fun cruising around town on the bikes. We truly believe that bikes are one of the best ways to get around the island. The next time you need to get away, please keep us in mind. We hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I made my reservation on-line and I sometimes worry when I do this. However, this was a great place. Staff was wonderful and friendly. They came to our room and helped sort things out and answered all questions. It was well worth the price. It is quiet, clean, and near everything we wanted to do. The rooms were wonderful - especially like the shower! The nice thing was when we were able to park the car four hours before check-in and walk down one block to catch the tour trolley! The pool was comfortable (chilly the day we tried) and just right.

Room Tip: Go for facing the street and not the back yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear paul h:

It's such a pleasure to hear that you felt your choice with your online reservation was a great one! We are all so happy that you had such a wonderful time staying with us. We, as a staff, enjoy being of any assistance that we can be. Customer service is always our first priority. We hope that the next time you visit Key West, you will plan on staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing