We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beyond compare”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beyond compare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I had misgivings about booking a stay without it being a national chain. Were we ever wrong- this was an exceptional place that had a breakfast available, bike rentals ,fitness room , pool and close proximity to Duval Street .The staff went above and beyond to make sure all the aspects of our stay were taken care of . The energy efficient rooms were an added
benefit . We will definitely return to Key West and WILL be staying at Silver Palms Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Cathryn P:

From the entire staff at the Silver Palms Inn, we'd like to express our thanks for such a nice review! We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Even though we don't carry a national chain name, it makes us feel awesome that you had confidence in us and chose to stay. Come back and visit us soon. We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    562
    126
    22
    23
See reviews for
373
833
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We checked in at the Silver Palms Inn and were greeted by friendly staff at the reception counter. Anyone we ran into that worked there was polite and pleasant with the exception of the individual on the counter when we checked out who seemed a bit more interested in checking his iPhone than he did checking people out.

The room was nicely appointed and the continental breakfast included with the room was a nice touch, but I wasn't really pleased about having to slog our four suitcases up and down the stairs because the elevator wasn't working on the day we were there.

For the price we paid, I guess I expected more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear JDBradshaw:

We appreciate the honest feedback about your recent stay with us. Please know that our prices are competitive with other lodging establishments in the Old Town Area. We apologize for the elevator not working during your brief stay. We can understand your frustration with bringing your four suitcases up and down the stairs. We only wish you would have called the front desk as we would have been more than happy to assist you or would have directed you to the other elevator we have on the property. We also wanted you to know that we did get the elevator company out as quickly as possible and the issue has since been repaired. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies. We hope that you enjoyed Key West overall and that you'll come back to visit the island again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

It was an excellent hotel with very professional and attentive staff. The first night I just didn't sleep because the sheets were
Very uuncomfortable and felt like worn out flannel sheets. I asked for different sheets and did get them... new right out of the package, stiff and exactly the opposite. And they must have run out of king sheets because housekeeping put queen sheets sideways on the king bed.
The room .. the staff great! Disappointing stay when I paid so much for what should have been a perfect stay. I paid more to stay at what is slated as one of the top hotels in KW.
If I stay again.. big if .. I would check the sheets before crawling in and.. ASK for a room off Truman street. Its a bit noisy.. haha enough that they give you ear plugs .. brilliant!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnSAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear MnSAlex:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We deeply apologize for the for the issue you had with the sheets in your room on the first night of your stay. We are happy that we were able to correct the issue for you. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope that when you plan on returning to Key West, maybe you'll give us another try. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The standard of the room was exceptional. Well furnished and equipped. As was the pool area. Only problems were the size of the fitness suite/room and the quality of breakfast and space given to eat it in compared with the volume of guests. But none of these really bothered us as we hired bikes from the hotel and went out early most days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JReynolds1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear JReynolds1992:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast and the fitness room. Guest perspectives always give us insight as to what we are doing right and where we can improve. Please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I went to Key West for our anniversary and had no idea that it was such a popular time of year to visit. Needless to say, I searched Trip Advisor for a hotel that work for us and found the Silver Palms Inn. The hotel was lovely, set in a neighborhood 3 blocks off Duval we loved it. I am a clean freak and this hotel lived up to my high expectations, the room was very clean. The beds comfortable and balcony fantastic. Though we never used the pool, it looked beautiful and the people at the front desk were very helpful. We would absolutely stay at the Silver Palms again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear KFoll:

Happy Anniversary to you two! Key West is such a wonderful place to celebrate such a special occasion. We're happy that you chose us for your accommodations. Maybe next year you can celebrate your anniversary with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Silver Palms Inn as part of our honeymoon in June! We loved our time at the hotel. We were upgraded to a gorgeous room overlooking the pool and given a complimentary bottle of bubbly as we were celebrating our honeymoon. The accommodation was very clean and the breakfast that was included was lovely. We loved the location of the hotel as we were close enough to all the bars and restaurants of Key West, but far enough away from Mallory Square - fun to visit, wouldn't stay there unless you're on a stag or hen trip. The staff were all friendly and helpful if you needed anything. The pool area is small, but very well looked after and comfortable. All in all this was a great addition to our dream holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gck1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear gck1982:

On behalf of the entire staff at the Silver Palms Inn, we'd like to say congratulations on getting married! We wish you all the best and good luck for the future. We are ecstatic that you chose us for celebrating your new journey in life together. We hope that if you ever decide to come to Key West again, you'll choose to stay with us to make even more memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is modern and quiet. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help in anything you asked for. It is within walking distance of everything and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHS20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear JHS20132013:

We are glad that you enjoyed your tropical getaway with us. Thank you for the very nice review. Our staff members always enjoy going that extra mile for our guests. They love their jobs-and it shows! While you will be recommending our hotel to others (which we appreciate VERY much), we hope that you will come back and see us again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing