We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice modern hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Very nice modern hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is modern and quiet. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help in anything you asked for. It is within walking distance of everything and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHS20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear JHS20132013:

We are glad that you enjoyed your tropical getaway with us. Thank you for the very nice review. Our staff members always enjoy going that extra mile for our guests. They love their jobs-and it shows! While you will be recommending our hotel to others (which we appreciate VERY much), we hope that you will come back and see us again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    555
    124
    22
    23
See reviews for
361
819
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were at the Sheraton trying to treat ourselves. Did not like it and hated the location. Went online and found this gem. Cheaper even factoring in our penalty from the Sheraton. Not fancy but very clean, nicely decorated and in a much better location for us. Breakfast included and a salt water pool. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kornopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Kornopp:

We're delighted you loved our hotel and we loved your review! It's sad to hear that you were disappointed with your previous accommodations but in actuality, it worked out better for all of us! Make sure you come back and visit us again soon. We will be waiting to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were recently stayed at the Silver Palms Inn , The room was up to date ,not a bad size and the complimentary breakfast was nice . Now the other problems were..... We paid for our room in advance but we had to pay an extra service fee $ 15.00 a night when we got there. We thinking it for bug spray . The had ants in our room and reported the next morning to the front desk . Of course we were asked if we left food out (the ants were on the ceiling) that was a No. They said they would send some up to spray. when we got back that afternoon at 3:15pm no one add sprayed or cleaned our room. The maid showed to clean at 3:30 . At 11:00 that night the ants were so many and growing in number we called the desk and ask to be moved. They said No(again we were ask if we had food ) because they were full and sent someone to out room at 11:00 pm to spray . So they did and we got to smell the insecticide all night look . The next morning the ants were back so again we reported it . They said they would send maintenance
up to take our room apart and fumigate . we got back 7 hours later to find yes they did fumigate and they left all the windows and the door to our balcony open the whole time we were gone so that anything that could fly or craw could come in . We were left to stay in that room the smell from all the chemical were overwhelming till the next morning when we check out and yes the ants were back and we now had a lizard that morning. we travel a lot and have stayed in many 5 star hotel even in other countries never have we been treated like we didn't matter till the Silver Palm Inn . Who leave you in a room they just fumigated ???? Oh we do have pictures of these problems.

Room Tip: don't go for the room with a balcony over looking the pool because you will have to look for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dorichd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear dorichd:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review about your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please understand that when booking through a third party website (i.e. Expedia, Travelocity, etc.) a $15.00 service fee is due to the hotel upon check-in. This is stated on the confirmation letter that you receive from the third party website. As for the issue you had with the ants, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience. Please know that an issue like this does not normally occur at our hotel. We pride ourselves on the level of service and comfort we provide to our guests and it saddens us to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. Despite what you encountered, we hope you enjoyed Key West overall and hope you come back to visit the island again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The only complaint I have is I had booked through bookit.com, and upon checkin I was informed there would be an additional $15 per night "hotel service fee". Plus tax. I was aggravated about this. I felt if you already paid over $200 per night, everything should have been included up front.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swad999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Swad999:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. While it sounds like you enjoyed your overall stay at the Silver Palms Inn, we are disappointed to hear of your aggravation with the service fee. Please understand that whenever a guest books a reservation through a third-party website (i.e Bookit.com, Expedia, etc.) we, the hotel, collect a service fee upon check-in. We apologize that Bookit.com was not more clear about this. If you ever plan on returning to Key West, please contact the hotel directly. Being that you would be a return guest, we will be able to offer you the best rate possible as well as not charging a service fee. It's our way of saying 'thank you" for coming back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Room was very nice, clean, modern. Staff was accommodating , polite.. Rented bikes on site. Convenient location to Duval st. We really enjoyed our stay, and would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Parking was good. Although we were on 3rd floor, there is an elevator and were able to park close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Tina H:

We truly appreciate the very nice review you wrote about your stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed pedaling around Key West on our rental bikes. It's so much fun to explore the island that way! We are thankful for your future recommendations. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Beautiful, clean rooms. Very friendly staff. If staying here and you're a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back of the hotel. We stayed right above the lobby and noise from the street was a little loud in the morning, but not terrible. Only a couple of short blocks from Duvall Street which was great! Have a continental breakfast in the morning, but it is just that. Bagels, toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal. No hot food. The first day it seemed like the food was mostly gone by 9:30 and not replenished. Much better the second day. Free parking. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Kathy S:

We're happy you were able to share and enjoy our little piece of paradise here in Key West! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's excellent to hear that you would absolutely return to stay with us again. Make sure you mention the returning guest promotion when making your reservations to ensure the best rate possible. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a wonderful stay with Silver Palms Inn in Key West. The rooms are nice and spacious. Laid out well and nice balconies. No complaints with the rooms. Continental breakfast was a nice extra and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful in recommending things if you asked. The hotel is within great walking distance of Duvall Street but far enough away that the noise doesn't bother you when you are ready to rest and relax. Very nice poo...one plus they don't charge you to park there which I hate hotels that do that when you are staying with them. They also have bike rentals which make it very convenient. We enjoyed our stay so much we extended it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathylew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Cathylew04:

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you were comfortable in our nice, spacious rooms. What is even better to hear is that you extended your stay with us because you enjoyed it so much! We hope that you make a return trip back to Key West and that you'll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing